We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astoria

Save Saved
You added Hotel Astoria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Astoria
via Verdi 1, 37016 Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 52 hotels in Garda
wrexham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Basic hotel good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Where to start with this hotel at first thought good hotel for price we paid great location then as the week went on little things started to grate . First thing air conditioning was switched off for some reason rooms very hot at night prob end of season also very noisy not too bad at night but mornings from 6 onwards quite bad .The breakfast was ok usual fare I found it ok had worse food in restaurant looked really nice was quite busy we only had 1 meal it' was fine .Also found receptionists quite surly no attempt at conversation was made at all was same with all staff mostly just a quick hello that was it .I would say good basic hotel just few things would make it better for what we paid was reasionably happy .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    33
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
15
74
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Nice people, food good, but rooms need an update. Stifling hot, air con not working. Stairs a problem for my mother as no lift. Lounge not appealing to sit in, very dated. Very noisy location at night as right above people eating and drinking right outside our window until after 2am at the weekend. Location brilliant which is why we stayed there,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We arrived Paid extra Tax this year, Had to haul 45-50k plus luggage up stairs along a corridor, down stairs, along another corridor to finally reach our room. Room was stiflingly hot, tried to put on Air-Con which did'nt work. Meanwhile my other half fell over something under the bed and fell head first straight in to the wall. The room was overfurnished with odd bits of useless furniture. We checked under the bed after I tripped for the third time in 5 minutes. There was a big bits of wood pretending to be a bed base, as there were two very thin Camp Beds in situ. Meanwhile the perspiration was dripping off of both of us. His nibs went down stairs to see about Non-Functioning Air-Con, all I could do was lie down, try and close window with broken handle, and attempt to get Air-Con working. On being told they would not be putting it on for another couple of hrs and that it would be going off again at 6pm (Just when you shower and dress) and then on later, then off at 4am again. We tries to call THOMSONS-REP-No reply. Then we left and went to another hotel, who saved the day, This should be made clear on THOMSONS web site, but its not, we have reported it to THOMSONS but they could not care less. We ha to pay for two hotels. Garda is lovely, the hotel we ended up at was fabulous,great food, good rooms, AIR-CON to suit you, and most accomodating. Just don't book ASTORIA

Room Tip: Don't choose one here, because AIR-Con is the same in any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

we have just returned from staying at the hotel astoria 05/09/2012 we found the hotel and restaurant to be good it was in a great location and we had no problems with noise .We had visited garda last year at exactly the same time, what a difference a year makes, all the prices had gone up at a rate of approximately 20 percent with un annouced cover or service charges and poor service, the Italians wherever we went were at the best indifferent and at there worst rude.Last year the place was buzzing and vibrant this year it was dead and quiet, the Italians have a big financial crisis and it seemed to show, if they carry on like this it will get worse, come on Italy you are better than this,we will probably go back for one last try please get back to how you were , Italy is fantastic dont spoil it .

Room Tip: we were in room 118 which is right on the veranda overlooking the fabulous lake, room 116 also had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just back from one week's stay at hotel Astoria Garda.The hotel it's self was very clean and tidy,but for the rest it was not so good.The rooms were very small and ours faced the square which on some nights was very noisey and went on until about 11.30pm.The bathroom was a joke, the shower cubicle was very small,when I got in I could not move, ok I'm quite a big fella but that was ridiculous it was about four feet by four feet their was no room for manouvre.The breakfast was not as good as some of the other reports suggest,ok there was plenty to eat, but the milk for the cereal was always hot,the bacon was always floating in grease and it was not very plentiful it took ages to put more out one time I counted forty five minutes.The toaster took three times to even slighty toast it,and if you went to ajust it one of the staff would come and change it back.We had a small balcony which was a bit of novelty according to some guest's but it was never swept or washed the time we were there,and their was human hair lying all over it.Their was no fridge either so water was always hot,the aircon was switched of every night between 6.30pm and 8.30pm as we asked at reception, not so good when your getting ready for an evening out,also they used to switch it of about 4.30in the morning,for about the same time two hours,location is perfect,but hotel needs a bit of updating,the staff as everybody said were excellent, and the frogs a bit over powering but it is also a very good cause.

Room Tip: I think it would be an advantage to see the room first and see how mutch room you had especialy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We went to this hotel again on a half board basis this time. I must just say i was a little apprehensive about it as some reviewers said the food was not from the restaurant that it was diffrent, I have to say this is the nicest food we have had in a hotel. You coud choose what you wanted from the menu and the food was excellent. We have a half a caraf of wine with out meal and a bottle of water and we paid 8 euros really good value. Some of the waiters were really friendly whilst others were reserved but all served us well. We had a different meal every night of our 14 day stay and enjoyed them all. In particular the tiramasu was to die for!!
The room we were given had a small terrace which looked onto the square. Room was clean and spacious. This year we had a kettle and there was no charge for the remote for the t.v which there was the previous year. We had a lovely holiday lake garda as lovely as ever. I would highly recommend this hotel and if we decide to visit this part of italy again we will definately stay here, really good value for money. You now have to pay a tax to the hotel which goes to the government to keep garda clean etc. We paid 24 euros on arrival.

Room Tip: No rooms have balconies except for two rooms. Ours was 132 which had a very small balcony over looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Good points:

- Perfect location right on the lake with restuarants and shops a few mins walk and beach 5 mins away
- Communal areas in hotel lovely, including restaurant and terrace
- Breakfast fantastic with wide variety of food and drink to suit everyone
- Air conditioning in room fantastic (not sure why other reviews state it is only on at certain times of the day, as we were able to keep ours on all day/night). If you go make sure it is set to +3.
- All staff very helpful and friendly
- Hotel's a la carte restaurant (not included in price) is lovely, has a huge choice of food and people staying in the hotel get a 10% discount

Negative points:

- Room and bathroom basic
- Rooms have no view (although hotel terrace made up for it)

The perfect hotel choice for someone who literally wants bed and breakfast, as location is perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Garda
Hotel Astoria Lake Garda
Hotel Astoria Garda, Lake Garda
Address: via Verdi 1, 37016 Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.