We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many problems even for the price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palme & Suite

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palme & Suite to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palme & Suite
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Don Gnocchi 28, 37016 Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 50 hotels in Garda
manchester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Too many problems even for the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here for 11 nights early July. Had previously stayed at the Palme four years ago when I thought it cheap 'n cheerful - basic rooms but you get what you pay for! However, in the four years I'm afraid it has gone downhill a bit.
Our room on third floor at the back was very basic - could cope with that but for most of our holiday the toilet did not work, despite repeated requests to Reception to have it dealt with. Tho' I'm not the fussy type, it was noticeable bathroom floor and shower were not cleaned whilst we were there, neither was the carpet swept (bought cleaning wipes at supermarket!).
Evening meal is at two set times, 6.30 and 8.00 - chose 6.30 cos of the amount of time it took: waiter service for 1st and 2nd courses took forever and we often didn't get out of the restaurant until 8.00.
However... I feel problems with restaurant and the cleaning issues are both down to staff cutting issues - only 6 waiters to cater for a huge room (according to one guest, there used to be 12). The Restaurant Manager, a lovely helpful chap, worked so hard, all the hours there were, and I felt so sorry for him - not his fault he's understaffed! Similarly, felt the cleaners were only given an insufficiently short time for each room.
Third time in Garda- beautiful place and handy for trips to Verona, Venice etc. Will definitely return in a couple of years or so, but most definitely not to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back or side, and on the highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    67
    56
    40
    43
See reviews for
54
93
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

The resort is absolutely beautiful, perfect! I stayed in lake Garda, Garda for 12 days, it was fantastic BUT Hotel Palme really made the holiday feel unsatisfactory, I would never ever recommend this hotel to anyone due to various reasons: firstly the rooms are extremely unclean, as I said we stayed for 12 days and for them 12 nights not once were the bed clothing changed, hoover wasn't done before we arrived or during our stay, lots of cob webs with dead spiders in them, loads of damp in the bath room (it was very enclosed, and stuffy in the bathroom), stains on the carpet throughout the whole upstairs.

Secondly the food is very repetitive, I had to eat out on a number of occasions due to the standard of the foods, at breakfast everyday you get under done fried egg, greasy bacon and various types of breads, cereal with warm milk and hot or cold drinks, the evening meal is very unappetising, you begin with a basic salad, second course, main meal, and then dessert (not much choice for dessert), the meats and fishes severed didnt taste nice at all, many people complained amongst themselves. If you're vegetarian the menu does not cater for you at all! You were not given a free drink at dinner, you have to pay and this was where most of the money went, that's also another reason why I ate out

Thirdly one night I went to close the curtains, I gently pulled the curtain and the whole wooden pole fell off and nearly knocked me out, defiant danger hazard! Then I saw various pieces of furniture broken eg. the head board was broken and stuck back together with thin tape. There was also rumours that on the first floor bed bugs were in the beds, and some people had to get there bed bug bites examined.

Fourthly there wasn't a fridge or kettle, and due to the hot climates you would like to buy bottled water and put it in a fridge to stay cool till needed.

Finally I would 100% recommend the resort but most defiantly not the hotel, no one should have to stay in those standards!
Lake Garda is truly breath taking and very worth seeing.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Just returned from this hotel and cannot fault it. We did not pay 5 star prices so we got what we paid for. Yes, there were many Germans staying there, but in my opinion that makes for a better vacation, as opposed to a hotel full of manly Brits. We had a room facing the front of the hotel, which had views over the garden/pool area and a limited view of the lake. Having certain dietary requirements the dining staff were most accommodating. We certainly would not have any problems in returning to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the pool areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

nice basic hotel ,in good location near bus station and handy for everything,ok its basic and abit tired but nice and pleasant ,free safe in room ,air con if you close windows,clean towels everyday and rooms cleaned every day,took my travel kettle plenty of sockets to plug into ,nice.pool ,nice view off my balcony of beautiful garda,food was good a bit same but ok,staff very pleasant ,and found a lovely shady spot under trees on front of hotel all in all a nice hotel would defenatly stay there again the sooner the better weather was glourious

Room Tip: we had a room facing swiming pool it was nice ,but if you want windows open at night it was a bit no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were a little concerned about staying at Hotel Palme considering the mixed reviews. But we need NOT have worried, yes it does need a lick of paint and some updating in places, but we did not pay for a 5 star hotel so were actually pleasantly surprised that the room had air conditioning, was spacious and the beds were very comfortable. we had a modern shower room which included a fixed hairdryer.
Our room was at the back of the hotel overlooking a local park with mountains in the distance - we decided this was a better option than the front rooms as it was quiet and peaceful.
The staff could not be faulted for their level of service, especially the head waiter and chef, who without any fuss, adapted the menu to allow for my coeliac condition. Every evening the chef prepared a really tasty and well presented gluten free pasta dish and main course - which is more than can be said for most hotels in the UK without weeks of warning.
The public areas were clean, air conditioned and well lit. The bar/cafe by reception was always a pleasant and friendly place to sit and relax with a hot or cold drink.
We were lucky enough to have the most beautiful, hot weather (+28 C) but this did make the 10-15 minute walk down to the lake and town a bit of a drag - although it is worth it!
We would definitely recommend the Hotel Palme as it is really good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Garda is a great place to stay on Lake Garda, it's very beautiful, and is a great base to explore the lake or if you enjoy sitting by the lake with ice cream and relaxing, then it's perfect for that too!
The ice creams are amazing by the way, and I would recommend trying as many flavours as possible, (almost rude not to!).
The bus station is about 5 mins walk from Hotel Palme, and the Ferry point is about 10 mins walk, you can also easily walk to Bardolino,which is a pretty walk around the lake side and takes about 45 mins, we went on the Thursday because the market is there then, and although a very similar market is in Garda Friday it's easier to walk around the Bardolino one. We then caught the Ferry back to Garda.
We stayed at the Hotel Palme last year in June, and I'm afraid to say that the experience we had this year was not like last years. The fact that we went back to the same hotel shows that we enjoyed it enough to return, but the experience was nowhere near as good.
In my opinion you can not fault the staff at all, however, there are not enough of them!
For example, we went down to dinner at the first sitting as we were doing a night excursion, we selected our salad, and within an hour we had only been given our pasta course. Another night I was given my main course, my husband had to wait for his, mine was long finished when his arrived!
Also on the first night we were there, we had to wait for for over half an hour between courses, when I questioned the wait the waiter was really apologetic, but you could see all the staff were so busy.
The standard of food was very good, I have uploaded a couple of examples of the menu choice.You choose the night before what you would like, as it saves restaurant waste, which is a really good idea!
At Breakfast there are choices of Muesli, Fruit, Yoghurt, Fried eggs, Bacon, Cakes, Rolls, Tea, coffee and juice. A good selection.
Our room was a good size, and we had a lovely balcony over the front of the hotel, so we could see the very clean pool, and down to the Lake. This was a beautiful place to sit and have a drink and generally relax!
The beds were 2 singles pushed together, which were comfortable. The carpet was stained and dirty, and the whole room needed painting, also the bathroom door would be happy to be painted as well! The bathroom was fine, and a good size, but because the was not an air vent, there was a bit of damp on the ceiling above the shower.
The hotel basically needs a good update, and more staff.
I would definitely return to Garda, we had a great time, and have come home relaxed and with some lovely memories, but unfortunately, this year I can not write that I would return to Hotel Palme.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room if possible as the views are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at Hotel Palme and to say it was an awful experience is an understatement. The hotel clearly caters for Germans reprsenting 95% of guests. The hotel itself is grubby, very dated and in a time warp.
Staff throughout are very unhelpful with very basic English language. We requested several times for the aircon to be turned on as temps were mid 30 degrees everyday. We we told no aircon until 1st July.
Restaurant food was of very poor quality and that is if you can find cutlery to eat with at the 2nd dinner sitting.
If you do have the misfortune to stay here, make sure you get a room at the rear because the noise from the two evneings of German music will drive you mad.

Room Tip: Rear of property
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palme & Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palme & Suite

Address: Via Don Gnocchi 28, 37016 Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 50 hotels in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palme & Suite 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Palme & Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palme & Suite Garda, Lake Garda
Palme Suite Garda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palme & Suite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.