We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palme & Suite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palme & Suite to your Saves list
Hotel Palme & Suite
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Don Gnocchi 28, 37016 Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Garda
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awful Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at Hotel Palme and to say it was an awful experience is an understatement. The hotel clearly caters for Germans reprsenting 95% of guests. The hotel itself is grubby, very dated and in a time warp.
Staff throughout are very unhelpful with very basic English language. We requested several times for the aircon to be turned on as temps were mid 30 degrees everyday. We we told no aircon until 1st July.
Restaurant food was of very poor quality and that is if you can find cutlery to eat with at the 2nd dinner sitting.
If you do have the misfortune to stay here, make sure you get a room at the rear because the noise from the two evneings of German music will drive you mad.

Room Tip: Rear of property
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    64
    49
    41
    43
See reviews for
58
100
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Three ladies had a large room with queen size and 2 single beds. Bathroom very small with no ventilation. Breakfast buffet poor in comparison to other Italian hotels we have stayed in. Evening meal, salad bar good, pasta course o.k, main course alright if you like fish or pork. Very poor dessert choice. Same four offerings for the entire week. The staff were not particularly friendly. Our beds were not made up for the first 2 days. The hotel catered mainly for German visitors of which there are a great many.!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

looked forward to my trip to lake Garda and was very impressed with the resort of Garda and the surrounding areas.Just a shame that the hotel Palme was not up to the same standard as the area, i knew it was only a 3 star, but that was a matter of opinion, hotel reception staff were very poor , last time ii looked a smile cost nothing,they should try it some time.The room was basic to say the least. The walls need a good painting to hide the stains, the shower cubicle needs a good clean, the tiles are a disgrace,full of black mould in the grout,and compact would be an understatement,air con was not working and no one was interested, IN FIXING IT.was looking forward to sitting on the balcony to enjoy a glass of wine after dinner,shame the table was only fit for the tip.food was very average,breakfast limited to fried egg and what passed for bacon, as the hot option.toast was not done even after 4 trips on the belt ,gave up in the end and just had bread.The evening meal was a little better,and a least the waiting staff ,made a effort, in fact they were all very pleasant.To summarise, would i return to the Hotel Palme,in Garda,NOT A CHANCE.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We ( 2 adults and 2 kids aged 11 and 13) have just returned from a week in Garda at the Le Palme Hotel. We took half-board, so experienced breakfast and dinner time every day.
This hotel is rated 3 star and Garda is to the Germans what the Isle of Wight is to the Brits, so there's no point complaining about 'stampeding' Germans if you go there. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the beds are very comfortable, you get TV (ok, mainly German and Italian channels, but, hey,.... presumably that's why you have gone abroad on holiday!), a balcony to sit on and enjoy the view and goings-on, your room is cleaned thoroughly daily.... just what being on holiday is about.
The food is very good... lots of choice at breakfast, 2 courses at dinner time and a desert if you want it).
The swimming pool is a very good size and there are plenty of loungers to lie on. ... no need to get up at 4 am to beat the Germans to it!!
The Hotel Staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly.
Garda itself is around 5-10 minutes walk down the road, past the best ice-cream shop in town on your left. .... ice creams in Garda itself are not as good as this one! Before you know it, you're at the lake side. It's well worth exploring the alley ways and pathways as they are quite charming.
Take a boat to other villages around the lake! My husband went to Malcesine with our daughter and up the cable car to the top of Monte Baldo to get a breathtaking view of the lake!
So much to do, but also a lovely place to just do nothing if that's what you want.
I was told June is a good time to go as it isn't as hot, but still lovely and warm, and that in August Garda does get very crowded.
Do go, stay at the Le Palme, and don't moan about the Germans. Just enjoy being in lovely Italy!

Room Tip: Top floor at the back overlooking the park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed here for a week in May and it was an 'interesting' experience... Garda is a lovely place, sadly this hotel is not so lovely. The room was ok, and did seem clean. Unfortunately, the rest of the hotel was grubby. We even saw a dead cockroach on the floor in the breakfast room one morning! The breakfast was poor and you actually had to pay extra for a Cappuccino! The evening meals were so dire that we gave up after 2 nights and ate out, even though we had paid for half-board. There is an excellent little Restaurant just over the road from this hotel. It's family-run and the food is superb and very reasonably priced. We also ate at the 'frog' restaurant a couple of times, the pizza there was fantastic!

The pool was not in use in May, but looked filthy and we would never had sat round it even if it had been open. It was quite stuffy in our room, but they can't put the air-con on until June, so we had to sleep with the balcony doors wide open at night. There were a family of noisy German's next door, so we didn't get the best nights sleep as a result of this... The balcony was very nice in the room though and we enjoyed having drinks out there in the evening.

I think once you've seen Garda, you don't really need to go back. It's lovely, but you can easily get round everything worth seeing in a few days. We would definitely go back to the Lakes again though, but would try a different area. The hotels by the waterfront looked much better than this one, which was a bit of a dump in all honesty. It was quite cheap though and we did have a good holiday overall.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I thought I had booked the Hotel Le Palme in Limone as I had read the reviews on it and was looking fprwsrd to our stay. I had also discovered there is a Hotel Le Palme in Garda, which had poor reviews and not what we were looking for. I should have double checked the booking confirmation as we turned up the the one in Garda. It has a number of different names and I believe they may be utilising the name of a better hotel to their advantage. On the day we were leaving they took down the Le Palme sign
When checking in, there was just one very moody and unhelpful receptionist, no one to help us with our bags to our room. Then we got to thecroom (no 148 for info - see photos.) We wanted a double, 2 singles pushed tohether. It was baking hot so I tried to turn on the A/C the moody receptionist told us later that the hotel only turns the A/C on in July and August.
We were located on the first floor above the kitchens and extractor fans, which constantly were turning off and on. We had the constant smell of food, not only in our room, but down the hallways.
Music blaring out until late into the night.
The exterior is in poor shape with rusty steel poking through the concrete of the balconies
Towels. I have never seen such poor towels in a hotel room. They were like t-towels you do the washing up with and paper thin. Breakfast was a free for all and very poor quality, so we walked to the lake for a decent breakfast every morning.
It appeared to be predominantly German guests with the odd British family. The car park only had German cars and a single Italian white van.
The only positive I can report that the Chamber maid was very honest. I lost my electric tooth brush dowwn the side of the bed and 1oo Euros (yes 100) and when making the bed she found them both and laid them on my pillow. There are honest people out there and I rewarded her financially and thanked her.
Dont let this Hotel put you off Lake Garda, It was wonderful and I would move there tomorrow if proprty prices were cheaper

Room Tip: No, but definately not around 148,149, 150
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is showing its age and looks quite drab and unappealing from the outside. It is frequented predominantly by Germans (the sign "EINGANG" at the entrance gives a clue) and therefore you need to "stand your ground" at all times. The rooms are clean but dated with fresh towels (very thin) every day. Indeed, the hotels cleanliness cannot be questioned. The shower never got hot or even quite warm except for the day we left early for Venice.(The Germans?)

The staff are friendly, even reception and the meals are very good. You need to be aware that the Italians have a salad course starter, which is self serve buffet style. The first and second courses are served at your table which you have been allocated on your first arrival at the dining room. The dessert is again buffet style but if you see something you like when choosing your salad, I advise you to select your dessert then otherwise it will disappear . (The Germans again). This way you get what you want and to some extent so do they.
You will also be required to pay for any drinks at the end of your meal as adding them to your bill to settle at the end of your stay isn't an option.
We didn't use the swimming pool but it looked quite inviting.
This review is not anti German but it could be a factor to bear in mind when choosing this hotel fom the UK. They don't bother me and I would definitely go back.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palme & Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palme & Suite

Address: Via Don Gnocchi 28, 37016 Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palme & Suite 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Palme & Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palme & Suite Garda, Lake Garda
Palme Suite Garda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palme & Suite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.