We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regina Adelaide Hotel

Save Saved
You added Regina Adelaide Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regina Adelaide Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Francesco d'Assisi 23, I - 37016 Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 50 hotels in Garda
West Mids
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

I have just returned from a week's stay at the Hotel Regina Adelaide (booked with Thompsons) and have not been disappointed.
The 45 min journey from Verona Airport (a strange place!) was well organised by Thompson and the coach was comfortable and air conditioned (a relief with temperatures of 35 degrees!). The coach dropped us off right outside the hotel.
We were impresed with the hotel's beautiful reception area and friendly manager (who spoke extremely good English). We were greeted and shown to our room on the first floor by the manager himself.

We had paid for a balcony (which as more like a terrace) and a lake view. The lake view was a little more obscured by overly-large trees than we had expected, but hotel gardens that we also overlooked were delightful and the road outside had limited access to vehicles, so it was quiet and safe to cross.

The triple room was fairly spacious and the bathroom was a lovely size. Best of all, it had a shower over the bath (not advertised in Thompson's brochure) which was fabulous - the best shower I've had in a hotel.

The room was spotlessly clean and towels were bright white and changed every time they were put on the floor. Rooms were serviced twice daily - the chamber maids even put your pyjamas out ready for you!

The comfortable sun loungers on the terrace/baclony were lovely and perfect for relaxing. Rooms have a good safe, minibar, lots of storage and dressing gowns/slippers.

The beds were a little hard and if you have room in your case I suggst you take your own pillow - only one provided per bed and they were very hard! Air conditioning was switched on, but only is on certain times. Tip: close the balcony door - Air Con automatically switches off when it is open! Air con in the rooms isn't very effective and is a little noisy.

We are not pool people, but I did have a little peak at the hotel's pool and it looked lovely.

Breakfast is served in the most beautiful room; it has a lovely terrace (ideal on warm mornings) and even if the weather is inclement the room has painted views of the lake. It is a buffet breakfast with lots of choice. Dinner in the 2007 Michelin Guide restaurant is fantastic. At least 5 courses each night and served by the most efficient, attentive and friendly waiters/waitresses I have ever come across. All spoke a little English and the head waiter spoke English considerably well. My mother, who is vegetarian, was given a special vegetarian menu on request and was allowed to mix and match her choices from that and the standard menu.

Lake Garda itself is stunning and I feel we made the right choice in staying in Garda as it is the most varied resort. Please be aware that it is hugely expensive with current exchange rates, although the many pavement cafes are reasonably priced, only a little more than UK cafes.

We would like to say a massive thank you to the staff , including the friendly and efficient porter and chambermaids, at the Adelaide and to our excellent Thompson rep, Nick, who was helpful and polite.

For first time visitors, I recommend the Thompson Lake Tour (be aware - there is a lot of walking) as it is good value for money.

We would definitely return to this hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    44
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
39
130
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

We stayed in Garda after many recommendations from friends. We arrived on the Saturday evening as a result of a delayed flight into Verona and realised we would now miss our evening meal. However to our surprise, a meal was located in our room and the presentation first class and the start of being well looked after by the hotel. We were half board as it seems all guests were. The food was superb, evening meals 4 course with many choices in each. We did try lunch one day and this was excellent. The hotel is situated towards one end of Garda and in an ideal position to 'stroll' through the streets in the evening. It has two swimming pools one in and one outdoor. We never did get to try the indoor as the weather was so good. The outdoor pool is superb and for once no load disco music - a pleasure for those who want a relaxing time by the pool. The staff were really nice, could not do enough for you. A nice bar beside the pool where you could obtain any kind of drinks and the meals, normally lunch, were very nice. We had a standard room which was OK but if you feel you can spend a bit more, the larger rooms look superb with their own balcony facing the lake. The gardens surrounding the hotel were very nice and well looked after. If we were to be a bit picky, the entrance to the hotel is a bit dark but I suppose it fits in with the whole hotel decor (it did not put us of!), the bar area at night did not really get used by residents and once or twice the piano player was playing to himself also it is expected it seems that you put every purchase on your room and pay at the end of your holiday. When we got the final bill, although it was itemised it did not have dates of purchase so it was a little difficult to check.
Apart from the above few small points, I would recommend this hotel without doubt, it is superb and well worth the rating

  • Liked — Quality
  • Disliked — very little
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

As a returning visitor to the Regina Adelaide ,I would like to fully endorse the opinions expressed by Trip Advisor member thomsondimerda as we followed him into the Villa Mullino on July 9th although we had the accommodation above his. The room was separate from the hotel and turned out to be up several flights of stairs, quite a walk for two pensioners and their suitcases.

It did not have a balcony which we specifically wanted and paid extra for. It did not have a terrace either. Again the accommodation was completely unsuitable for children as it was isolated from the main hotel beside the pool and there was no security on the windows.

The rooms overlooked the street and a market stall and the bathroom gave very little privacy as it overlooked the poolside bar. Returning at night ,there was very little light on the pathway to the villa. We had to complain to get the stair lights repaired as all bulbs were broken.

We complained to reception who were completely unhelpful and aloof ,said it was not their fault but the travel agents. One of the receptionists did say that the travel agents had only been using this accommodation for the last 2 years. Having stayed here before, the hotel food was indeed again very good but I would advise people to book direct with the hotel to ensure you get the accommodation you want ,as agents brochures are misleading.

  • Liked — Food was as good as ever
  • Disliked — Wrong accommodation, unhelpful staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

If you really do have to stay in this hotel, then please do not do it through a tour operator. Book directly with the hotel make sure you are in the main hotel.

We stayed for 1 night out of a 10 night booking and had to fly myself, my wife and my 4 year old and one year old home. We were allocated a 'house' Villa Mullino in the grounds of the hotel. It was described as a 'family suite' and it was anything but. The house faced on to the main street of Garda and the windows did not lock. Worst of all the balcony on to the rooftop terrace did not lock and offered access into the room by anyone or indeed exit by a 4 year old !

These were the main issues before I get into the actual quality of the room which was 1 star at best ! The bathroom was virtually in the pool bar and did not have frosted glass.

Yes it may be a very nice hotel in places if you book with the hotel, however if you book through a major tour operator then expect to be told to 'like it or lump it'. You will be allocated the worst possible accomodation in the hotel.

I also concur with the opinion of other reviewers in that the staff are aloof and unfriendly.

Save yourself money and book into La Perla, also in Garda. Much friendlier staff, better pool, great food and safe, secure accomodation !

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

We stayed for 7 nights at the RA, on a B&B basis. We booked a "junior suite" and thus ended up with a fairly huge room in the new wing of the hotel, replete with walk in wardrobe and a decent sized and very comfortable bathroom.

The room had an enormous and very firm bed, and all of the other requisite equipment was included - air con, minibar - and everything was excellently maintained and kept spotlessly clean.

We booked a balcony and lake view - as it happens one theoretically comes with the other, as the junior suites in this wing only face the lake. However, the term "lake view" is not entirely accurate. "Lake view if the trees obscuring one half are cut down and the apartment block obscuring the other half is demolished" would be more like it. If you had a room on the top floor you might just see the lake, perhaps. However, the terrace, whilst fairly concrete and spartan, did have the advantage of being shady all day, so you could sit out in the warmth without getting toasted.

Minor lake view gripe aside, the accommodation itself was very nice indeed.

Breakfast was excellent, good fresh bread and the usual Italian selection plus scrambled egg and bacon buffet style if you required it.

I can't comment on the restaurant otherwise, as we never quite got around to having dinner in the RA. Bar service was friendly and efficient when we used it.

Reception was occasionally not quite so glowing, depending on who you got.

Parking is an oddity: there is a small car park out front, which the hotel allows to become crammed full, with double and triple parking - despite signs being plastered all over stating this was not allowed and don't expect the hotel to help if you get blocked in. Park there at your peril, they don't record number plates. However, what reception didn't bother to mention - we found out for ourselves - is that there is another hotel car park on the lake side of the main building which is normally empty. Generally because they have not told anyone it's there I guess. Odd, but this kind of thing does happen in Italian hotels sometimes!

The hotel location is unbeatable, a matter of yards from the lake side and the long cafe and restaurant lined prom. This was the first time we have stayed in Garda, chosen this time because we were planning on heading out into the Veneto. It has many merits, but we would almost certainly head back to our usual haunts in Malcesine next time.

Overally, the RA provided us with a very comfortable and efficient stay, bar those minor gripes noted above. With that and not having eaten dinner there, it only merits 4 stars. We had also come straight from Gubbio in Umbria, wherewe stayed in the simply wonderful Relais Ducale, which might have coloured things a bit.

  • Liked — Quality of room, breakfast, location
  • Disliked — Car parking, some lack of attention to reception detail
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

Just returned after our third visit to this hotel and its the benchmark by which to judge all other hotels. The Regina Adelaide is really classy and is traditional with a modern feel and has something for everyone. We couldn't fault anything about this hotel and will certainly be going back for many years to come. Dinner is a culinary experience to be savoured - how it should be done ! The cocktails are highly recommended too !

  • Liked — Quality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

Just returned from a seven nights stay at the Regina Adelaide from 25/06/08 to 02/07/08. Booked a half board package with Thomson holidays in a standard room.

After a fast and smooth check in the porter showed us to our room on the third floor, which overlooked the entrance to the hotel. The biggest disappointment was the size of the room, it was very small with the smallest bathroom I have ever seen. The room had no balcony and there was some minor traffic noise from the main road. Could not fault the overall appearance of the room and the air conditioning was excellent. As well as complimentary safe and bottled water there was a small mini bar (extra charge), television with one english channel and bathrobes / slippers. Other guests who booked with Thomson’s and paid the extra supplement for a room upgrade were disappointment as they were allocated a room in the hotel annexe. This involved a series of steps, which they found difficult due to their age. The hotel moved them after a week and then allocated the same room to another elderly couple. My biggest recommendation is to book with the hotel direct instead of using a tour operator, it appears the hotel keeps the best rooms for direct bookings. The cleanliness of the room and hotel in general was faultless.

Interior of the hotel was quite grand with an elegant lounge and comfortable soft furnishings. The hotel also organises weekly complementary pre-dinner drinks on the small outdoor patio area, which was a nice gesture and an excellent opportunity to meet other guests. The hotel has complimentary internet access which is available in reception. The entrance to the hotel was not as grand as I expected, the white railings and gate which surround the hotel looked shabby and in need of a lick of paint. The hotel has a gorgeous outdoor pool and was always quiet with plenty of sunbeds. It felt like you were relaxing in the countryside with no noise and a very rustic Tuscan atmosphere.

I was a bit disappointed with the standard of the half board evening meal. After reading all the previous positive reviews, I was expecting the food to be of a consistent high standard but unfortunately this was not the case. Some meals were very good but the main course was usually cold and some dishes were seasoned with too much salt. The restaurant staff were always friendly and polite but some of the waiters seemed inexperienced. On two occasions, the waiter experienced difficulty when serving the food and it is subsequently landed on the napkin instead of the plate.

The hotel is located in an excellent location, only minutes walk to the lakeside bars and restaurants. Garda is very pretty with stunning scenery and narrow side streets with plenty of shops to explore. During our visit we walked to Bardolino which takes approximately 45 minutes and is definitely worth a visit. It is possible to catch a ferry or boat to various resorts on the lake such as Riva, Malcesine, Sirimone etc. I also suggest a visit to Torri del Benaco which is only a ten minute bus ride from Garda which has to be one of the quietest and prettiest resorts on the lake. Also enjoyed a visit to Verona, very convenient on the bus with a one hour journey time. The weather during our stay (25/06/08 to 02/07/08) was excellent, lots of sunshine but a bit humid due to temperatures around 32C.

Overall I enjoyed my stay in the Regina Adelaide, just take care when selecting your room. If you have any questions, contact me and I will try to assist.

  • Liked — Pool, staff and location
  • Disliked — Small rooms and food
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Regina Adelaide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Adelaide Hotel

Address: Via San Francesco d'Assisi 23, I - 37016 Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Garda
#3 Luxury Hotel in Garda
#10 Family Hotel in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Regina Adelaide Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Escapio, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Regina Adelaide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Adelaide Garda
Regina Adelaide Hotel Garda, Lake Garda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regina Adelaide Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.