We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great family holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poiano Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Poiano Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Poiano Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Poiano, 37016 Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Garda
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great family holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in an apartment for a week at the end of August with our 13 yr old son and it was an excellent choice. We were able to relax and enjoy the wonderful views, while our son joined in with football,table tennis and water sports and soon made friends.
Our apartment was comfortable,the air conditioning very welcome in the August heat.We upgraded to half board and this was a good decision due to the distance of the hotel from the centre of Garda,although the hotel does provide a shuttle bus.Thanks to Dominica,the Crystal rep for advice and the lifts!We did a few trips and really enjoyed them.Venice amazing and a lake tour with some breathtaking views.
We were very happy with the choice and quality of food in the restaurant.There is outside seating with amazing views.We were disappointed to be seated inside for 3 consecutive evenings when the same people were given the outside seating but thanks to the head waiter who sorted this out for us.
local Poiano wine is excellent and very reasonably priced in the hotel shop.
Would return to the Poiano,it had so much to offer us as a family and we would love to see more of this beautiful area.







We found all the staff to be very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    204
    74
    21
    8
See reviews for
189
343
3
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had a pleasant 7 day half board stay at this hotel with my wife. The resport town of Garda was exceptionally pleasant and clean. The hotel location, being outside the main town, relied on a minibus shuttle service which sometimes fell short. The bus could only fit 8 guests and on occasions there was insufficient space, resultng in a 25 minute walk or 30 minute wait. The shuttle service did not operate between 1pm & 5pm which in our view was insufficient. The walk into town was neither pleasant or picturesque. The service in the restaurant verged on chaotic at times but did pick up during the week. We witnessed and experienced significant delays in being served both food & wine. Various representations had evidently been made by other guests but an area that was sadly lacking. My comments do not relate to all restaurant staff as a couple of them (including the head waiter)were particularly attentive and courteous. Food varied between very good & ok. Breakfast was fine but please change the watered 'fruit juice'. Staff elsewhere were always polite & courteous, particularly reception. The swimming complex and hotel grounds were good and well maintained. Cleanliness was a real plus factor, both rooms and hotel complex. The cleaning staff should be congratulated. The rooms were adequate but with hindsight, an upgade to a lake view would have been better. The lake view was actually fine. We actually overlooked a rear car park & driveway. I would also agree with another tripadvisors comments re the apparant priority given to significant numbers of coach parties. Overall a good week but some areas that need to be addressed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We booked this hotel as we got quite a good deal for a 3 day get away. The hotel is set in a beautiful location on the side of the italian hills overlooking lake Garda. We couldn't quite understand why other reviewers had written that the hotel didn't offer lake views as we thought the views were actually rather stunning.

On arrival we were allocated a room with 2 single beds when we'd booked a double but this was rectified immediately. The room was basic but comfortable with a good sized bathroom. We had a large balcony but this overlooked the car park and appartments opposite, a room with a view of the lake would have been preferable so ensure you request one upon booking to avoid being disappointed. The rooms were "cleaned" daily but the bed sheets and linen were not changed once. Not really what you'd expect from a 4* hotel.

If you want to eat in the hotel restaurant for dinner, ensure you pre-book as we were turned away on the first night due to a conference being held at the hotel (this actually turned out to be a blessing). The breakfast at the hotel is good with a variety of cereals and pastries, fruit and a hot option of eggs and bacon, The hotel has a lovely outside terrace from which you can watch the sun setting over the lake of an evening with a cold beer in hand. The hotel advertises a lovely little piano bar and terrace which has views over the lake, however we were disappointed to find that this was not open to guests.

The hotel is about a half an hour walk into town. The hotel does offer a shuttle down but the walk is quite pleasant. We had booked a hire car with Hertz which we'd picked up from the airport on arrival, completely hassle free and was actually a godsend. Parking is easy in town so for those not fancying the half hour walk into town, I'd suggest a hire car is a good idea. It cost us £56 for 3 days hire. The hotel has ample parking spaces free of charge too.

Due to the fact that Lake Garda and Garda town were so beautiful, we literally only slept and ate breakfast in the hotel and that's about it, so for us it served its purpose. However, I would question the 4* rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I had a very good experience at this hotel, the staff is friendly and competent. Especially the head receptionist. Very professional. It is located on the hill out of the town of Garda, but there are shuttles that bring you to the center. It is a rather large complex, ask for a room near the lobby if you have mobility problems.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoianoResort, Ufficio Marketing at Poiano Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear CatherineR P

All the staff thanks you, especially Patrizia (the head receptionist).
Hope you come back soon to Poiano Resort!

Best regards
Mariana Zorzoli
Ufficio Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Okay, by the time we got here, we had stayed in a couple downtown hotels as part of our Trafalgar tour. So, what a welcome relief this was!

They gave us a junior suite in the highest building. Was about 30 steps from where we parked to the front door. But, wow. Big nice king sized bed. Huge sitting area with sofa. Nice large bathroom. And a huge balcony overlooking the countryside. It was like we died and went to a real hotel (we are not 100% certain our friends in Italy understand the difference between a hotel and a motel). Internet worked. Flawlessly.

Decent hike to/from the rooms to/from the dining room and reception area. We actually enjoyed it... weather was nice, views were spectacular, countryside was a refreshing change of pace. But, some of the tougher to please members of our group complained about the distance (though they will send a golf cart to pick you up if you're so inclined).

Nothing nearby. Just well manicured grounds atop a hill.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoianoResort, Ufficio Marketing at Poiano Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Klomo
Thanks a lot for your lovely words!
... We are SO glad to know that we provocate a "Wow Effect" in our guests =)
Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards
Mariana Zorzoli
Ufficio Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I live in London but I am Italian and I stay at Hotel Poiano at least three times a year. I go there for work and also on Holiday with my family. I have been spending my holidays there for the past six years. I absolutely adore this place as the location is fantastic, with breathtaking views of the lake and the staff are amazing. Everybody is extremely helpful and friendly in particular the team in the dining hall, Carmine, Paolo, Pasquale, etc and also the two barmen Luigi and Franklyn. The chef Grigo and his team prepare authentic Italian dishes. There is a superb swimming pool that offers healthy lunch snacks, fresh salad, fruit etc and Martin and Mariana who work at the bar pool are extremely friendly and helpful too. In the evening the pool area offers entertainments and dancing for adults and children. My children love it there and when they were little they spent lots of time at the mini-club run by specialized staff. I feel that this hotel captures the Italian spirit, fantastic setting, superb food, and a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. I highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoianoResort, Ufficio Marketing at Poiano Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Paola L

All the staff is thankful for your kind words and happy to know that you and your family enjoy so much your holiday at Poiano also this year.
See you next summer season!

Best regards
Mariana Zorzoli
Ufficio Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penryn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We found this hotel in high street brouchures, and for the half board deal was out of our price bracket, but we went through 'Sunmasters' on the internet, and with British Airways flights, we got the same holiday for £1200 less for a 10 night stay. Our family consisted of 2 adults and 2 children aged 15 and 2, we could hardly find fault with the hotel, our room was spacious, good air conditioning, room cleaned and fresh towels daily, although balcony wall was a little too low for our 2 year old, with views over the lake, and plenty of lovely Olive trees, and overlooking the pool, which at night is lit up and beautiful. The tennis courts are top class, the swimming pool is olympic size and is excellent with the 2 swim lanes down the middle, the pool temperature was perfect, although plenty of pool sunbeds, they would benefit from cushions, even if they were for rent! there is a good childrens area for them to play, with mist spray to keep them cool, archery, spa, and more. The shuttle bus is great, but got filled quickly, and was a 30 minute wait till next one, dont get caught out by the time table as we did, the shuttle stops between 1.30 and 5ish, you can do as much or as little as you want here. The hotel staff are amazing, so helpful and chatty, the food is great, with lots of choice. We are planning to return here again next year with family and friends, and we never usually go back to the same place twice as so many lovely places to see, my fiance proposed to me here, and we are hoping to get back here also in 2014 for a blessing and reception, which they can cater for smaller groups in the main restaraunt, but closed off, also, they have an amazing seperate building for larger wedding parties, which is just stunning.
Would recommend to anyone.

Toni Pemberton, Rob Noventa Rachel and Emilio.

Room Tip: We had 1st floor family room, overlooking pool and lake view, room 254 i think? sun all day, music f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoianoResort, Ufficio Marketing at Poiano Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Mr. Toni

The pleasure was all our, believe me. With guests like you and your great family, we can't say this is work!
Thank you very much for your suggestions, which will help us improve our service.
Hope to see you again very soon!

Best regards
Mariana Zorzoli
Ufficio Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poiano Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poiano Resort Hotel

Address: Via Poiano, 37016 Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Garda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Garda
#10 Romantic Hotel in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Poiano Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poiano Resort is surrounded by 60 hectares of Mediterranean greenery and offers a number of ways to unwind: La Spa (with swimming pool with salt water, turkish bath, sauna, biosauna, emotional showers and massages), Olympic size swimming pool, 6 tennis clay courts, American tennis school (PBI), artificial 5-a-side football pitch, beach volleyball, archery, gymnasium with personal trainer, children's playground, game room, table tennis, shop, sporting events and musical entertainment in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Poiano Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poiano Hotel Garda
Poiano Resort Hotel Garda, Lake Garda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poiano Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.