We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tennis gals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poiano Resort Appartamenti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Poiano Resort Appartamenti to your Saves list
Poiano Resort Appartamenti
Via Poiano, 1, 37016 Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Garda
dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“tennis gals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

we travelled in a group of 12 ladies to play tennis and soak up some september sun, apartments were grand, very spacious and maybe dated but balconies, and spotless and pretty quiet, views fantastic. Some ladies were not thrilled with the first offering of their apartment but the staff made huge and patient efforts to satisfy her needs. Food excellent, surprising for Italian hotels, Tennis courts great and pool cold but great. Shuttle service works very reliably.

Room Tip: ask ahead for a balcony and lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    41
    27
    13
    6
See reviews for
61
34
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
isle of wight
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Have just returned from a week staying self catering at the Poiano, perhaps for the amount of time we spent at the resort we would have done better booking something a little closer to town as the reosrt is a good 20 minutes walk from Garda. The mini bus is good but too small for the demand some nights and if it rains ensure you book a table at the hotel restaurant or you will be turned away as we found one night. If this happens go down the road and enjoy brilliant pizza at a very reasonable price.
The appartments are missing a toaster and electric kettle, the kettle on the hob takes forever to boil, take your own travel kettle, we wished we had. Also expect to pay 44 euros for bedding and towels. The shop on site doesn't hold much stock so if you have a car go local, there are a number of good supermarkets.
The swimming pool is very big and very clean and there are plently of sunbeds available.
Overall I would not return but for the week we stayed we didn't experience any problems but felt there was a lack of friendliness and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Asked for a pool view on booking, didn't get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week break in Poiano Garda. After reading some of the reports a little apprehensive. However I must point out the following:

1. The shuttle bus does have a siesta so we timed our days out accordingly & the resort did put on an additional bus there is also a community bus which I caught every time
2. Linen was provided & we had replacements upon request at no additional charge
3. The Views from all apartments are FANTASTIC and is a firm memory made
4. ALL of the staff were very friendly & helpful during our stay
5. We were a family with children aged 8 & 5 and could not of asked for any more help than
we recieved
6. Lastly due to my youngest daughter contracting ear infections we had to stay on for additional nights which I cannont fault this resort for, they were extra, extra helpful towards me and my daughter as they were aware we were alone.

If you want to see the surrounding lake areas & also have things to do as a family, please try this resort either hotel or apartments, yes the apartments maybe a little basic but I didn't intend upon spending my holiday in it!!!!!! The hotel food is excellent too!!!!

Room Tip: Select a ground floor apartment in B block a little farther to walk!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The room was very basic. Got only one set of towels and bedding.
Wi-Fi is not free.
Toilete paper is an extra cost.
Small TV
On air condition in the parents sleeping room.
We have stay there for 9 days, they don't clean the rooms.
The surrounding and view is great.
Every night the hotel produce partys and music shows.
We got 2 wine bottles from Bardolino winery that were very nice.
The resort has private entrance and lot of parking.
In the resort entrance there is a very good resturant

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have just returned from a 14 day break at the Poiano Apartments. The complex has wonderful views of the lake and I have to say that this was the thing that stopped me from being totally disappointed. Upon arrival we were informed that we would need to wait until 4pm to check into our room - considering that the flights from Manchester leave at 6.30am I found this poor service. The rooms were sweltering and despite being informed that we could pay for A/C locally this was not available in our apartment! We were then given towels (one hand and one bath each) and two sheets (one top and one bottom) none of these were changed for the entirety of the holiday despite having children in our party, nor did we have any roome service. When I enquired about fresh towels I was informed they would be 11 euros each!!
Despite all this we got on with our holiday and intended to relax and enjoy the views in one of the most beautiful places in Europe. Our peace was shattered after the first week when the staff in their wisdom decided to place a whole party of holidaymakers (nationality unknown) beneath and to the side in approx four apartments there was approximately 20-25 of these people placed within families who had very small children including babies. The were noisy and disruptive and placed all their outdoor furniture together to eat with each other for every meal. They took over the whole area near our apartments and the other holidaymakers were forced to stay indoors (minus A/C) or go out. By the pool they were noisy and intimidating and the lifeguards sat and did nothing we therefore stopped going down to the pool as we could not get away from them otherwise.
By the end of the holiday I was glad to be leaving which was a real shame as Garda is fantastic with very friendly people. It is well priced and when away from the marauding holidaymakers that we had near our room, very peaceful and tranquil.
The distance from the town did not bother us as we like a walk and this could be a great complex if a bit more thought is put into customer care.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed a week at the end of july 2012 - family of ten had two appartments at the top of the hill.

Extremly warm weather, but no aircon in appartmens, no fans, no parasol or shades in appartment facing the sun, so we couldnt sit outside until 9 pm at evening, when the sun went away - nights were frightfully warm inside - which meant litte or no sleep.

Appartmens weren't cleaned at arrivall - and though we complained within an hour, the extra cleaning didn't make a difference. Had to clean ourselves for hours.

Appartments had a tired feeling to them, beds worn, - television was a joke - from the 80s or so. Kitchens very small, no oven. Why dont they equip kichen with a proper spoon for pasta? we are in italy! Furniture worn and tired.

Some problems with ants, remember to clean terrasse.

Pool-area is nice though, but we do not understand why the pool is shut down at 7 pm. Nice view from the appartment over Garda and the lake.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

When you pay heaps of money for the appartment - 12 euro for 1 hour at the tennis court is a joke.

Poiano is a nice place - with a little more effort in appartmens it could have been really ok for us, but the overall impression is that there is more fokus on money and less on the essential details.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We travelled to Italy to get married and used Poiano as our base for the fortnight. 18 of us in total in a mixture of HB hotel rooms, s/c apartments and an age range of 4-70. Not a complaint from any of the party. The hotel is set on the hills about 2 miles out of Garda, stunning scenery and set in acres of land. Large clean pool with small shallow kids pool to the side and 2 life guards on, pool side bar with good range of reasonable priced snacks and drinks (no cash all charged to room, handy) usual activities including f,ball, tennis,volleyball, archery and a well equipped gym. S/C apartments were rustic but clean and good air con (mid 30's so needed) hire car would be useful but shuttle service is available but limited spaces. Also the less mobile would struggle but not impossible. Service in the hotel was faultless and on the whole the dinners were great, the odd night with a limited menu meant choices were not always the best but great restaurants within walking distance for a bit of variety. Garda itself is a promenade of cafes/restaurants with as many ice cream stalls as you can imagine. Running off from the promenade is a maze of cobbled streets with shops boutiques and even more ice cream stalls (may I add spotlessly clean with no litter)

Room Tip: Older apartments had air con and were closer to pool/hotel etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Poiano Resort Appartamenti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poiano Resort Appartamenti

Address: Via Poiano, 1, 37016 Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poiano Resort is the perfect accommodation for couples or families, for conferences and meetings, group travel, wedding celebrations and other special occasions, or simply to spend a charming break in complete tranquillity in the modern Poiano La Spa. Renting an apartment by Lake Garda is the perfect solution for families with young children or for those looking to spend time in close proximity to nature, in welcoming and informal surroundings and where life out in the fresh air and absolute tranquillity are fundamental elements of the holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, CityZen and Odigeo so you can book your Poiano Resort Appartamenti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poiano Resort Appartamenti Garda, Lake Garda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poiano Resort Appartamenti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.