We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of IL Giardino Delle Rane

IL Giardino Delle Rane
Lungolago Regina Adelaide | 37016 Garda (Verona), 37016 Garda, Italy
+39 045 72.55.278
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 64 Restaurants in Garda
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Attached to the Astoria hotel in Garda.
nottingham
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“location, location, location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

nothing to dislike, location perfect, food lovely. menu good , waiters superb, you must eat here.ps it gets very very busy if there is a queue they will sort you out quickly

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    122
    44
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A lively restaurant on the front of Garda lake. The decor is great with a water feature included. We sat on the top level of the restaurant which was lovely. The food was good and the atmosphere was excellent. The staf were extremely efficient. Would go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good for families with kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We ate lunch here with some friends visiting us from Australia. The walled garden is a nice retreat from the crowds at the waterfront and the frogs everywhere are a delightful distraction for kids. The staff had excellent language skills but the distracted air of dealing with so many covers at once. The menu covers all bases and all the food we tried was good if not exceptional. Was worth the visit but we wouldn't return on our own, I don't think.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale of Glamorgan
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Too touristy, poor service and poor quality meal.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Sorry, didn't enjoy my meal here at all. Took ages to get any attention from the waiters. Ordered the mixed meat kebab and was very disappointed as it consisted of a small piece of steak, an overcooked piece of pork, the tiniest overcooked lambchop and 3 sausages!!! served with what looked like a heap of frozen chips. I'm also pretty positive my meal was served to another woman by mistake, sat there for a few minutes while she struggled to alert the waiter, and then it got taken back to the kitchen and then I believe it was served to me - quite cool by this time! My husband ordered the chicken curry, which although he said was nice, it was tiny in size - looked more like a starter dish and wasn't served until I'd virtually given up eating my meal. Stupidly, I complained later when paying - I should have known better - they didn't seem that bothered. Maybe it's a suitable place to take the children with frog statues everywhere and a menu cover which looks like it's designed for children. Disappointed as it was our last night in Garda - wish we'd gone somewhere else.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Garda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This restaurant was part of our hotel, the Astoria. We hadn't booked full or half board, but ate there a few times as we quickly realised it was the best in town. Great service, lots of space and fabulous food. Best mussels I have had, but fish, pizzas recommended as well. Good value too and well worth a visit

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL Giardino Delle Rane also viewed

Garda, Province of Verona
Garda, Province of Verona
 
Garda, Province of Verona
 

Been to IL Giardino Delle Rane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IL Giardino Delle Rane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.