We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel all'Ancora

Save Saved
You added Hotel all'Ancora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel all'Ancora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Manzoni, 7, 37016 Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 50 hotels in Garda
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nearly perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Passing through, I found this quaint little hotel for a sweet price (€38,00 for a single room).
Making a reservation was easy: they can be reached via Skype, and they (Kristina and Klaudia) speak good English.

The hotel is located near the lake, so no traffic noise.
The room was clean, sufficiently spacious and contained a comfortable (single) bed. Having experienced clammy shower curtains at other places, I appreciated the small shower cubicle with a proper door.
Wireless is complimentary and good enough for browsing the net.

The only downside I have to share is the level of sound isolation. Conversations in adjacent rooms can be overheard, and the squeaky floor boards woke me up when the upstairs neighbour started walking around (at 5:30 in the morning).
Still, these are minor inconveniences, unless you are sensitive to auditory influences.

Truly a (nearly) perfect place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    11
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
26
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel 19 -29 September 2012 and found the staff to be very friendly and professional. we stayed in room 14 which has a great view of the Lake. The room is fairly basic but clean and has a flat screen TV with BBC which if you want to keep up with the goings on in the UK is good. One downside no fridge to keep drinks cool. I took my own travel kettle so was able to make a black coffee or green tea after some great day trips using the ferry which was about a 5 minute walk away. The food was always good but be prepared for a european style breakfast, cheese, meats, hard boiled eggs, yoghurts and fruits but I like this style of breakfast. All in all I would definitely return to this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view we did and were not disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We paid about £570 for BB for a week. THis compares with £1265 for the Excelsior up the road. The Excelsior is a nicer hotel but not by that much! The big thing going for the All` Ancora is its position which is right on the waterfront. If you miss a pool there are plenty of places along the front where you cab swim. You can even hire small boats at some of them. Be warned that the transfer buses stop at the bus station because they cannot get to the hotel (It may be different for taxis) so you have to get your cases through the old town. (This only takes about 3-4 mins). The hotel is basic which is fine because everthing you need is right outside the door. The door to the hotel opens out onto an alleway in the old town - you can`t get closer than that! The staff are very informal and friendly and the rooms are kept spotlessly clean. Breakfast is basic but OK - they could do with a toaster. We only had to pay a total fo 7 euros city tax too!) I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend the hotel if you want a base and easy access to all the things Garda has to offer.
Its is easy to get around on buses they go from Riva at the head of the lake to Verona. The cost of a return ticket from Garda to Riva is about £8. I think you can then change buses in Riva and go down the other side of the lake. You should be warned that the cost of ferries can be quite expensive. We paid something like 55euros (return for 2) to go to Sirmoine. You are on the lake for a really nice hour each way - but the cost for a family of four could be substantial if you want to do a few trips.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Small hotel, clean, basic, GREAT location in town centre. Owners are friendly, some people may think they are "brusco" but that's just Italians! They let us leave our bags there on the last day quite happily. This is a 2 star place - therefore do not expect 24hour reception, mini bars, pool etc. What you DO get is a clean room, good aircon, basic but ample breakfast selection and a key to let yourself back in when reception closes at night.
Restaurant is very good and a bit less posh than others in Garda, waiters speak excellent English and are very helpful. The singer we saw there was Rod Alder who is a regular performer there and excellent dinner entertainment.
Overall this is a nice little hotel, cheap, cheerful, clean and helpful - if you are a snob or require more mod cons or cannot cope with the busy Italian nature it may not be for you.
The ONLY thing I would have liked is a fridge in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My hubby and I have just returned from our 3rd visit to the Ancora. It is a lovely little hotel right on the lake front and only 5 minutes walk from the harbour where you get the ferries. We used it as a bed and breakfast as we prefer the freedom of eating out in different restaurants every night, but a couple of times we ate in the terrace outside the hotel and found the food tasty and good value for money. The breakfasts were the usual choice of breads, ham, cheeses and eggs etc. and could be eaten out on the terrace if desired, which made a lovely start to the day. Admittedly the rooms are fairly small and basic, but are kept spotlessly clean by the hard working and friendly staff, clean sheets and towels every day and free use of the safe. It was very hot during our stay so the air conditioning was very welcome. I would advise to try and book a room with a balcony and lake view, it is well worth the extra money for the pleasure of sitting out there with a drink admiring the beautiful view of the lake. About 3 evenings a week there is a guy singing on the terrace bar, very good and popular, and it is also only yards from the other restaurants along the lake where there is often music or concerts.

We found the staff very welcoming, they remembered us from other years and greeted us like old friends. Christina especially was always very friendly and helpful, as was the staff on the terrace bar. They even gave us a bottle of limoncello when we were leaving which was a lovely gesture. We had a lovely stay as usual, we visit Tenerife and Portugal in the winter, which we enjoy, but Garda is still our favourite place and we will be returning.

Room Tip: Room with balcony and lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardonne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

If I start from positives, there will be just one. A good location near the lake. However, if you come by car they will offer you a garage in another part of the Garda town. Staff was very unpleasent, except one "old man" perhaps the hotel owner. He was the only one smiling...When we wanted to eat breakfast outside in the Hotel restaurant, we were told to take all stuff back to the breakfest launge. Well, this does not happen very often, does it? Meanwhile, there were three waiters not doing anything, just watching us gatering everything on a tray to carry this back. The hotel lobby was very untidy and rooms were supposed to have either lake or mouintain view. Hm...our room had a view on a wall, yet you could have seem the hill if you really looked up. So all in all, just find another hotel and there are plenty better in the area

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay, let me start with the positves: excellent location (right on the lake, close to ferry and bus) lovely views worth paying extra for a lake view, very clean maid service daily. Now for the negatives, air conditioning isn't great and was centrally controlled by the owners. Staff/owners were rude and abrupt. The breakfast is VERY basic, rolls with cheese, ham, crossiants, fruit etc and is somewhat limited. Despite having lovely seating outside on the front, guests are comfined to a back, dated, breakfast room which is a real shame as guests should be able to use this facility. Would I go back? Yes I would good value for a great location, providing you use this as a base for travelling.

Room Tip: Phay extra for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel all'Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel all'Ancora

Address: Via Manzoni, 7, 37016 Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel all'Ancora 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, WINTRADE S.R.L., BookingOdigeoWL and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel all'Ancora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel All'Ancora Garda, Lake Garda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel all'Ancora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.