We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 2 week getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Guerra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Guerra to your Saves list
Hotel Guerra
Via F.P. Tosti, Francavilla Al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great 2 week getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great sea-side hotel with very tidy facilities and a friendly staff. Beach front is very well maintained. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. The staff was always professional and friendly and the hotel is clearly very well managed with a strong desire to please clientele.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna l, Direttore at Hotel Guerra, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest Biking85,
it's a great pleasure to hearing from you, we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Guerra for two weeks. Our daily commitment is aimed at ensuring an excellent service for the satisfaction of our Guests, which is our highest source of gratification. We are pleased that you enjoyed our services and the attention of our staff. Thanking you again for your preference, we hope to have you again as our Guest,

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    8
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
16
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pavia, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for five nights with our 14-month old daughter. It's a good hotel, nothing special, but nice and clean and very close to the beach. They have all the equipment you need when traveling with a baby, such as a crib and high seat in the breakfast room, and you can heat bottles in the hotel bar. Breakfast was good, typical italian breakfast with lots of sweet things to choose from and not much savoury food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna l, Direttore at Hotel Guerra, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Guest Emmaae,

it's a great pleasure to hearing from you, we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Guerra. Our daily commitment is aimed at ensuring an excellent service for the satisfaction of our Guests, which is our highest source of gratification. We are pleased that you enjoyed our services and our attention given to the needs of families with children, and our breakfast service. Thanking you again for your preference, we hope to have you again as our Guest,

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We spent a long time at this hotel and enjoyed every minute of it.
1-We should have rented a car but did not and used taxi,s and a wonderful trip driver as well as trains and busses.
2-This hotel has rooms that are as clean as possible and one morning we noticed 3 people working on our room and we had combined rooms 302 and 303 as we like space and were there for well over a week
3-Anna Lomuscio at the checkin was wonderful and made sure we were happy with our room and during our stay she was typically available to speak to us about anything and Anna-2 a real nice young girl also was very helpful.
4-Micheal who runs the restaurant was great. He made sure we got a great variety of meals and one day the owner actually showed us a bronzini that had just been caught and he bought it and guess what was done for us table side.
They have a wide variety of items on the menu and all is as good as any restaurant in the area..By the way we have had over 100 tire misu desserts in our lives however none came close to how good it was here.
5-At night before dinner we would stop to have a drink at their in house bar and the drinks were fairly priced and they really gave out a large variety of pickings such as bruschetta. olives etc.
6This hotel is under new management and they are all experienced and really do a great job and when we got the final bill we were pleased as the food was way above average..
7-We noticed many hotels in the area and agreed that none were as good as this one.
8-If your plans call for travel in the Abruzzo area we highly recommend that you stay here as the new owner Salvatore and his entire staff are wonderful people and make sure everything is done properly-

Room Tip: Take a front corner room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna d, Direttore at Hotel Guerra, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear guest,
it's a great pleasure to hearing from you. We thank you for your kind words, we are really happy that you enjoyed so much your stay at the Hotel Guerra. We hope to have you again as our guest because you were really special. We wish all the best for your lives!
Anna and the entire staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We are staying in the mountains overlooking the sea, and could see this hotel so decided to try it for lunch. We prefer to eat our main meal of the day at lunchtime and were delighted by our meal here. Scampi grilled were fantastic and the sliced beef with parmesan was excellent too. We watched the locals popping in and out, many meeting to take a light lunch, and it was fun to watch a local fisherman selling his days catch at the sea wall, wonder if he caught the scampi, they were certainly fresh.
The service was very good and helpful and I would gladly recommend this restaurant if you need a good meal in Francavilla.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Hotel Guerra was a gorgeous hotel. Very clean and had great views of the ocean. The hotel has a private section of the beach. Hotel staff was friendly and took care of you like you were family. The hotel is also close to the bus if you do not have a car and want to go into Pescara for the day. Typical Italian breakfast. The rooms were exceptional and the shower in the bathrooms was an added bonus (steam/massage shower). I could not have been happy with this hotel and I will 100 percent be staying here again. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an on the beach upscale hotel in the Pescara/ Francavilla Al Mare area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in end of Aug. 2012. Great hotel the rooms were clean and spacious. The staff was very gracious and made you feel part of the family. We had many meals at the hotel and all were very good. Location was nice beach was across the street.Would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Francavilla-al-Mare is a charming little seaside town just south of Pescara, on Italy’s Adriatic coast. Yes it’s a bit “touristy” but then all resorts are to an extent, and Francavilla’s charm lies in the fact that, outside of high season, it’s not overrun with hordes of tourists, as it’s a little too far south to attract most Brits or Germans, so it tends to get mostly Italians going along, or travellers who appreciate its simple sunny charms.

If you're looking for a hotel in Francavilla itself, and you want high standards, typically friendly and caring Italian service, lovely rooms and great access to some of the best beaches around, then the Hotel Guerra is the pick of the bunch. With hotels I always think it’s the little things that matter, and it’s here that the Guerra scores so big. The staff are universally friendly, charming and they try to make your stay as comfortable as possible. They're also all scrupulously honest – I left just a couple of small bottles of water “somewhere”, and 2 days later the barman presented them back to me with a smile- they weren’t worth anything much, I didn’t know where I’d left them, and he could have drunk them himself, but like all the staff here you are treated as one of the family, and that counts a lot to me. Another example is the quality of the rooms; the air con units are first-class, 5-star units, and maintain the rooms in a lovely cool state when the outside temperature can be 38c or higher, and they don’t switch off when you leave the room as so many places do, so you can come back to a lovely cool room every time. The cleaning staff are absolutely meticulous in their tasks, so every day it looks like your room has never had anyone in it – I'm a stickler for cleanliness and I was amazed and impressed. The shower was a wonderful, powerful and multi-function unit, and the plumbing is absolutely first-rate – something that is not always the case in Italian hotels.

The beds are also excellent quality, and the general impression of the fittings and furnishings is that money has not been spared to make this as high-quality and comfortable as possible – be warned though, Italians like opulent, showy places and this place is almost Rococo in style. However, any thoughts of it being over the top are quelled by the friendliness of the staff. It’s a genuine home from home.

Yes there are cheaper places to stay in Francavilla, but the Guerra isn't bad value for money – the only other hotel in Francavilla I’d use and have stayed at (the Alcione) is much, much more pricey, especially near to season, and I think it’s important to differentiate between expense and value – and in any case, the Guerra is still the same or cheaper than several other options in the area.

They have a lovely restaurant on site, serving good honest Italian fare (and lovely continental/Italian breakfasts), and an excellent little
bar/ Gelateria, where you can sample some properly Italian, high-quality ice cream to cool down, or mineral water, or beers/wines/spirits, or even an excellent espresso – they make a very good coffee indeed here, and it’s well worth trying.

Downsides? Very few; car parking is a bit of an issue as they don’t have the space for many cars in their car park, but as long as you're happy to move your car when asked you'll almost certainly be able to squeeze in somewhere, and the car park is camera-monitored (and the staff are extremely vigilant if you have a nice car, as I do). Also, booking at the Guerra isn't as easy as it could be, as they don’t appear to be linked to online sites so you have to book personally. But don’t let this put you off visiting, especially either side of high season, when the weather in Francavilla is still excellent and the beaches are much less crowded – but in any case the Guerra has its own private section of beach and it’s right in front of the hotel, unlike some places there I could mentioned where the hotel’s section is some distance from the hotel itself – with the Guerra, you walk out the front door and there’s your bit of beach.

Overall, 5/5 – I would, and indeed plan, to stay there again. And a big "thank you" to all the staff there - you made my stay an absolute delight, and made my holiday a dream one. Thanks!

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies are lovely to sit out on during the sun, and many have motorised awnings to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Guerra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guerra

Address: Via F.P. Tosti, Francavilla Al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of Chieti > Francavilla Al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Francavilla Al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Guerra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Guerra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.