We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Viscardo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Viscardo to your Saves list
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wonderfull hotel , lovely outside space, close to town, very clean , great breakfast we loved the view and hot tub on the roof . It's great to sit out on porch in an evening , very pleasant, you can walk or hire bikes , everything is close

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    37
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
35
38
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at this charming small hotel in September. As others have stated it has a perfect location: close to the beach, 3 minutes walk from the centre of town, but in a quiet street. The lush garden at the side is a delightful setting for breakfast and dinner in good weather, and the roof terrace has one of the best views of the area: mountains to one side and sea to the other. The hot tub on the terrace was a great place to unwind at the end of the day.

It is small enough to feel like a home from home, but it is well run and the staff were extremely charming and helpful. Although, as another reviewer said, the rooms were not huge, they were more than adequate and kept beautifully clean and well appointed. I could thoroughly recommend it to couples wanting a quiet, friendly retreat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We spent a week in Hotel Viscardo. It was nice to stay at one place for the whole week after we did the Chianti Trip. But also the rooms were noticeably small compare to the Castellos and hotels we had stayed on the way to Forte Dei Marmi. I would say our room in Viscardo was the smallest I had ever stayed in. The bathroom was also small and pretty old. However everything was spotless. It has a great location. It is about 7 minutes to all the action in town and 3 minutes to the beach. Be aware that all the beaches are private and not cheap. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We did have a little misunderstanding with our laundry, but hey this was in Europe. The breakfast was included and delicious. They offered a great variety of fruits, cheeses and meats...etc. You can have it outside in the garden or inside in AC:). We also used a jacuzzi which is located on the rooftop, because the sea water was way too dirty. You can rent bikes there right at the hotel which what we did. Bikes are the main type of transportation in Forte Dei Marmi. And the ones we got served us well. In such beach town I would prefer to stay in the hotel that has pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel is in the perfect location - a stroll from the beach, a couple of blocks from the bustling centre of town. Spotlessly clean, great service, good food. My room wasn't huge, but perfectly adequate. I spent two weeks there and can think of nothing to fault.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We can't enthuse enough about Hotel Viscardo. It really was a perfect place to stay. From the moment we arrived, we were hit by the wonderful smell of jasmine, then the lovely owner introduced himself to us and made it clear nothing was too much trouble for them whilst we were staying there and made us feel like we were visiting friends. The staff went out of their way to look after us. The hotel is gorgeous, very stylish and chic without being pretentious. Breakfast was delicious and the dinners we had divine - especially the steak with a lovely bottle of red.
Location spot on as it is only a few minutes from the beach but quiet. The views from the terrace, especially whilst relaxing in the hot tub were just beautiful as we watched the sun go down.
Can't wait to return as soon as possible. BTW if you like shopping, heaven awaits you in the form of Prada, Gucci you name it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I had a fantastic stay at the hotel recently. Service and friendliness is excellent, the location is superb, attention to detail has been carefully considered and overall it shows that the hotel is run with love and passion from the family.

I will definately be returning soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

be careful not to serve yourself 2 times in the breakfast. if you have more than 1 cup of juice, you will pay for the next. not normal!!!!
we asked for 4 rooms and payed for 4. when we got to the hotel they squeezed into 3 for the same amount......
if you ask for a cup of water from the tab, you will get either charged or a super bad look.
never to go back!!!!
we were ripped off!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Viscardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viscardo

Address: Via Cesare Battisti 4, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viscardo 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Viscardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Viscardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.