We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small beautiful elegant hotel with a great staff and location!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Viscardo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Viscardo to your Saves list
Hotel Viscardo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cesare Battisti 4, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Lakeville, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A small beautiful elegant hotel with a great staff and location!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

We loved Hotel Viscaro near the beach in the Forte Dei Marmi area. We found the best surprise! A small beautiful elegant hotel in a great location to walk or bike to the beach, restaurants, and great shops. Our favorite part was the warm and friendly staff. They treated us like we were very special and I felt like I was at a five star hotel. Our only regret was that we didn't have the time to stay longer. We can't wait to go back the next time we are in Italy!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    39
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
37
40
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

This is the second summer in a row that I've stayed for a few days at Hotel Viscardo. The rooms with balconies are spacious, but all rooms are clean and comfortable (note: opt for a room on the 1st or 2nd floor, not the ground floor if possible). Breakfast is included and can be pleasantly enjoyed inside or out in the beautiful garden/yard. Best of all is the staff -- friendly, laid-back and immediate to remember me from my first visit. I have a feeling I will be staying with Hotel Viscardo for years to come. PS make sure to use the hotel bike to check out the town and, if you're up for it, a ride to Pietrasanta for the day. Great place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I've been at the Viscardo following some friends' suggestions.

The hotel is nice and staff i friendly.

However rooms are far too small and you can hear the noise coming from other rooms.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

Loved the hotel, although the room was relatively small. The hotel has a very personal feel, boutique style. The reception staff were very helpful and accommodating. Great breakfast buffet and the hotel is well decorated and spotless. The rooftop terrace and hot tub was very nice. Forte Dei Marmi is very chic and relaxing.

  • Liked — Decor
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

Hotel Viscardo is a wonderful hotel. It is really well positioned, around 5 minutes walk from both the centre and the beach. They also offer a bike rental service which is quite cheap and very useful, as everyone cycles in Forte Dei Marmi !
They have an on-going agreement going on with one of the beach owners so they can offer you space on the beach. Which is very nice, not very crowded (in July). The sea is a bit dirty but it was allready anticipated as the sea in Italy isn't known as the cleanest.
The rooms were very nice and simple, my only complaint would be that they were a tad on the small side, but still comfortable beds and a clean bathroom. The maids are very efficient and come twice a day which is useful as my room got a bit messy !
The staff are generally very friendly, apart from a bit of a moody waitress but its not a big problem. The breakfast is quite good, not amazing, but not horrible. They offer you a wide range of foods from croissants to cereal to fresh fruits. I only dined at the hotel for lunch once but it was good, they offered two different pastas as the main and some side dishes.
Overall, I would say this is a fantastic hotel and it fully deserves its 4 stars. I would definately recommend you to go there !

  • Liked — almost everyone..i cant name one thing
  • Disliked — smallish rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2007

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel. The staff were extremey friendly and could do enough for us. Room was tasty decorated, spotless clean, though a bit on the small side. Location is excellent: close to the centre and to the beach, but still managing to be very quiet. Breakfast was varied, plenty and good. We would go back again!

  • Liked — staff, location
  • Disliked — romms a bit small
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheaDee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

My boyfriend and I decided to drive down to Forte Dei Marmi for some much-needed one on one time. Our stay at Hotel Viscardo was the perfect choice for such a weekend. Our room was extremely clean and recently tastefully renovated. (The maids came by twice a day, a full cleaning in the morning and a turndown service in the evening.) The personnel were very kind and helpful (which is not so common, as any foreigner traveling in Italy knows!). The hotel is walking distance from both the city center and the beach, but they also have a bike rental service. (My bicycle came with an adorable basket rimmed with flowers.) If I had to complain about anything, it would be about the walls, which were slightly too thin. But all we heard was the maid vacuuming at room next door at noon. All in all, the next we go to Forte Dei Marmi we know were we will be staying.

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Disliked — Thin Walls
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Viscardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viscardo

Address: Via Cesare Battisti 4, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viscardo 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Viscardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Viscardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.