We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Other guest where right” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Forte Dei Marmi

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Forte Dei Marmi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Forte Dei Marmi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giorgini 1, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 43 hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Other guest where right”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This hotel is not a must. Rooms are ok, but nights are very uncomfortable due to lots of noises all around the place. Service is ridiculous, waiter even does not know which is a water and which is a wine glass. Pool has no ambiance and please don't look too close for dirt.... Menues where not even canteen like and breakfast was poor, no variety at all, no fresh fruit, coffee was just not to drink. We went on a coach tour, so the price was fair, but I would never in my life pay the full price asked, besides the beach is not free, they want to charge you even if you arrrive after 5.30 p.m! and not a bit but 25 Euro! per person! Avoid this place if you can, there are better ones I am sure

Room Tip: rooms on the back side of the hotel might be less noisy than those facing street an park (with peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    36
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
21
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

The service was terrible in the hotel. We arrived very late in the evening at the hotel and the children had fallen asleep in the car. We took our luggage out of the car on our own, checked in and took our own luggage to the rooms and not even accompanied to the room!! The receptionist saw we were having great trouble holding kids, bags, luggage and didn't even bother to ask us if we needed some help!! Just gave us the keys and said "lift is to your left, first floor, good-night".

We had connecting rooms and to our surprise the rooms were very big, very clean and nicely furnished. Everything was new and in order. The cleaning ladies were very good and efficient in anything we needed.

The restaurant however was a complete joke. We only stayed for breakfast as that was enough for us as the waiters and waitress's were not professional at all. They had no clue how to serve or place a fork on a table! They also looked a total mess!! We waited hours for anything!

The position of the hotel was fantastic, right in front of the beach and 3 minutes walking distance to the center of the town.

I would recommend this hotel if you want a great position, clean and modern rooms but not looking for good service.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tongeren
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Due to an administrative missing from the booking organisation, we arrived after a trip of 15 hours - booking was not ok yet, so they found it amusant to let us stay outside and let us the choice to pay double or nothing - especially the receptionist Claudio was laughing and seemed to be very pleased to send us away.
after our double payment, we could stay the night, and the other day things were settled between the booking organisations - the dinner at evening, included in the price, could we forget - but we were happy to have our meals in the restaurants in the village, people liked there guests there and were very friendly..now just trying to get our double payed money back..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights (bed and breakfast) in June and we were very pleased with the hotel. The hotel is found right on the seafront and very close to the centre of forte dei marmii. We found the staff very friendly and the rooms clean, comfortable and spacious with some sea views. The pool was very nice, and the sun loungers were free as were the towels. Overall we had a lovely holiday here.

It should be said that Forte Dei Marmii is very expensive and you need to have alot of spending money to enjoy it to the full. This hotel is expensive compared to other hotels in other destinations but for Forte Dei Marmii prices, it is very reasonable for what you get.

Another tip, if arriving by train, is to get off at Viareggio and catch a bus to Forte Dei Marmii, you'll save £20 pounds on the taxi (from Forte Dei Marmii station to the hotel, the station is right out of town!)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed half board here for a week. but if you dont like seafood, this is not the place for you, plenty of squid, octopus & mussells etc, and tiny tiny portions, apparently "Nouvelle Cuisine".
The pool is not heated, tap water cold, and the beach is not for use by anyone staying at the hotel, it is all privatley owned, and can only be used if you want to pay 100 (£86.22) euros a day for 2 beds and an umbrella.
car hire 170 (£146.67) euros a day for a fiat uno, and only designer shops to choose from.
3 cups of tea will cost you 9 euros (£7.76) ok if you are loaded, but not something that Thomsons should be recommending for the average family.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

this is a well located reasonably priced hotel on the beach in forte dei marmi. Rooms looked like they have recently been renovated and they are nicely furnished if somewhat simple. No flat screen tv or anything like that, but a huge leather headboard sets a bit of class. Not a huge balcony, We requested a sea view room and got it. Cool was a bit cool, but we were there nearer the start of the season. Breakfast was adequate with a good selection.

  • Liked — cleaniness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2007

Stayed at this hotel in July 2006. The hotel is clearly overpriced and lacked both in athmospehere and service (the service at the reception was really bad), although the waiter at the pool bar was really nice.
Rooms are small with ok beds (at least our room), and the balcony was non furnished which was really strange since it was quite big.
We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel, and were quite pleased with the menu.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Forte Dei Marmi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Forte Dei Marmi

Address: Via Giorgini 1, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 43 hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Forte Dei Marmi 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Fastbooking and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Forte Dei Marmi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Forte Dei Marmi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.