We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4star NO NO NO NO” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel President

Save Saved
You added Hotel President to your Saves list
Hotel President
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel President
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Morin, 65, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 43 hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“4star NO NO NO NO”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We too stayed here with Preferred Travel in September 2012. This is not a 4 star hotel. Hotel staff are extremely polite but totally useless. Their WiFi doesn't work at least for the week we were there. The food was very boring, small portions and cold. As an example think of 7 ways to serve custard and that is your dessert! No vegetarian options. We always knew what was for breakfast or dinner as we had one of the rooms over the kitchen windows you could hear the chopping at night and we also had the extractor fans next to us so we could smell and hear what was coming. Not really what we paid for. Be very careful you don't get one of these rooms. We asked to transfer and even offered to pay more but to no avail. The location is not good unless you want to pay very expensive prices at all the chic bars and restaurants. We were fortunately on a walking holiday so could get away from here most days.Certainly would never stay here again

Room Tip: Make sure you get room with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro B, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel President, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Sirs,
We would first like to thank you for having spent some of your time to review our hotel. We are glad you apprecciated the politeness and kindness of our hotel staff.Our guests are usually highly satisfied with our food and the quality of our restaurant service but, it's evident that, unluckily, we didn't fulfill your expectations. We are deeply sorry about it because our goal is to make our guests' stay as much enjoyable and comfortable as possible.We wish you had informed our reception or our general manager of your unsatisfaction so that we could immediately have tried to satisfy your particular food requests. During your stay, our hotel was almost fully booked but, as soon as you complained to our reception about your room, our receptionists showed you the only other available room at the third floor.We hope you will be our guests next year so that you might change your opinion and keep in good memory your stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    3
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed for one week at this hotel early in September 2012 as part of a walking holiday group organised by Preferred Travel. The hotel has much going for it in terms of its location and building (if you must be in Forte dei Marmi), but that’s as almost far as the positives go!
Perhaps independent clients receive a reasonable service, but our group was treated with disdain by most (but not all) of the hotel staff. The theme of a second class of guest was particularly evident in the dining room where the service from the head waiter and to a lesser extent some other waiters was appalling. Orders generally being taken by having to shout to the other end of the table where the head waiter simple stood in one place to take the order from everyone at the table. However, the arrival of the food was even worse. I find it difficult to understand how any ‘chef’ could not be other than ashamed of the food. Put aside for a moment, the extremely limited menu options – one soup or one pasta, one fish or one meat, and no dessert choice (the latter being almost identical every day). We being ‘fish eaters’ obviously chose fish every evening (fixed at 7.30pm) and did not eat 6 of the 7 meals served. As a flavour of the standard, the first evening meal was just a plate with dry breaded plaice and a few green beans and carrots (cooked to the point of being mushy). The breaded plaice was obviously some old frozen fish from the back of the freezer, then baked in the oven till it was dry and hard. With one exception (strangely dog fish!), all the (fish) meals plummeted to the same depths of poor quality frozen fish badly cooked, badly presented and badly served. Our meat eating colleagues seem to fare a little better, but even still not to the point of approaching a good meal. As I said earlier, independent clients of the hotel might have been treated better, but the fact that we were treated like this says a lot about the attitude of the hotel in general.
A bottle of basic ‘plonk’ cost 15 Euros and a bottle of water 5 Euros.
Forte dei Marmi is a pleasant enough town, but the beach is divided into mostly private areas and the entire frontage is taken up with bars and restaurants etc. Thus, there is no promenade where you can stroll along and actually see the beach. This makes for an unpleasant experience for anybody other than sun worshipers who wish to pay their 15 Euros each (the Hotel President daily price) and lie or sit on the provided sun loungers.
All in all, Forte dei Marmi in general and Hotel President in particular are not places I would recommend and find it difficult to understand why there is an apparent influx of rich Russians buying houses in the town!

Room Tip: If you must go, then ask for a room on the first floor with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro B, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel President, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Sirs,
We would first like to thank you for having been a guest of our hotel. Your review is very important because, in this way, you help us correct our mistakes. and improve the quality of the service we offer.Our guests are usually highly satisfied with our food and the quality of our restaurant service, but it's evident that, unluckily, we didn't fulfill your expectations. We are deeply sorry about it, but we can assure you weren't guests of second class at all. We wish you had informed our reception or our general manager of your unsatisfaction so that we could immediately have improved the quality of your stay. We hope we can host you again next year, being quite sure you would keep in good memory your stay at of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend in the beginning of June and I thought it was nice. It had been recommended by a friend, who highlighted the location as its strength. I would say the hotel is more of a good three stars rather than a four stars. The size of the room was ok, the bathroom was quite big though. In fact, the size of the bedroom seemed disproportional vis-a-vis the large bathroom. It bothered me a bit that the bathroom did not have a shower, only a bath. We had a massive terrace in our room, which was fantastic. I thought the hotel was a bit pricey for what it was but then I saw the other hotels in Forte and I was happy with what I had. I guess I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Mills, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Overall of Hotel President looks so nice but I had some bad and good experiences there so let's share...
- Our room is really big, the bathroom as well but they forgot to gave us any shampoo and conditioner for our hair.
- All meals there were fantastic. Many kinds of food for breakfast and lots of set menu for dinner. But please note that the hotel may charge you for little things you order with overpriced. Then you may surprise when they give you a bill.
- The hotel provides you the bicycles for looking around Forte De Marmi but almost of it seem malfunctioned and nothing lock. For our trip, we used just 1 lock for 3 bicycles so I thought that weird.
- For using wifi connection, the hotel provided us as complementary but we had to redeem every hour.
- As previous comment said, the elevator was so small. You cannot put your big luggage over there. Sometimes, it didn’t work well, even you press any number level but it was nothing.
- Anyway, we loved its atmosphere and friendly staffs who always gave us smiles especially in the hotel restaurant. :) Moreover, the gardener there was fantastic. He could make many interesting things including being the bartender.

Room Tip: - The room with Balcony is a valuable. - Please ask the reception for many hours for wifi connectio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro B, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel President, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Madam,
thank you very much for taking the time to share your review.We are glad you were satisfied with your room, our food and our restaurant service. Our hotel staff works really hard to make our guests'stay great so we are really happy you apprecciate our commitment.Rigt now we are modernizing our internet system and if you decide to stay at our hotel next year we are sure you'll appreciate we will have fixed our wi fi problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

It is a stylish 4 star hotel, with inresting design and it has a lot of pieces of art- like modern pictures and statuettes. Nice for italian hotels breakfast, nice and well-groomed garden, the seaside is not far.

Room Tip: suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

We stayed at the President for 4 nights as part of a group touring Tuscany. The presence of only one small lift proved a problem on our arrival when it came to conveying the baggage of some 40 people to their rooms and caused a consequential delay, The bedrooms were spotlessly clean, spacious and well furnished. The bathrooms were similarly proportioned and well appointed. In this respect the President lived up to its 4 star status.
The restaurant,however, was in a different league. The standard of food for all four nights was mediocre lacking in both quality and on one particular occasion quantity. There was an almost complete absence of vegetables to help supplement the meat/fish course and provide a varied diet. The only exceptions to this were on one day peas appeared and on another something that looked like a potato puree appeared on the plates. At no time was any fruit provided, very sad considering that this was Italy in September. The wine list was shambolic, consisting of a choice of 2 either red or white. No mention was made of the variety of grape or the region of production. They were priced at 14/15 euros and therefore did not really warrant the risk of trying one.
The choice at the breakfast buffet was limited, no sign of decent bread, eggs or a toaster. On the first morning as no edible bread was available I opted for a sweet croissant, on biting into it I found my mouth was full of hair that had been contained within the pastry base. On extricating said hair I found 4 hairs of about 8" in length, black and presumably of human orgiin. Not a pleasant experience. I asked the tour guide to represent my complaint to the management. That evening the Assistant Manager whilst apolgising compounded the situation "saying that the hairs were not his as his hair was short". When I tried to elucidate from him as to how this situation could have arisen, he shrugged his shoulders, turned his back and walked away. Yes, Basil Fawlty is alive and welll
Maybe I was unfortunate but I would strongly advise anyone to give the President a wide berth. There are plenty of other hotels in Forti dei Marmi.

  • Liked — Bedroom/bathroom
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2006

Hotel President is a very beautiful hotel. The rooms are good, the bathroom is very large and very comfortable. The food is of a very good quality and the service is very stylisch.
At the reception you offen find the manager, who is not so friendly and will hold some things behind. They tell you that there is a beach of the hotel but they "forget" to tell that you have to pay 25 € a day. The rooms with a terrace are the best.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Address: Viale Morin, 65, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 43 hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel President, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.