We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mirabeau

Hotel Mirabeau
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Forte Dei Marmi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mirabeau
Save
You added Hotel Mirabeau to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Morin 135, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 43 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“September break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

If you like good italian cusine, this is not the hotel for you. Yes its clean and the FEW staff are
friendly, but the hotel is tired and dated and for me (we holiday in italy every year) only a three
star rating. Sea views are restricted to the four top floor rooms on the front of the hotel which was very disappointing. The hotel is situated in a very expensive residential area away from the beach and the hotels beach access is a bus ride away, not over the road as we had thought. Forte dei Marmi lacks that 'old italian' feel, obviously set up for the wealthy italians rather than holiday maker - trying to find a super market was a long walk. Would'nt go to this hotel or area again. The Mirabeau was not as we expected, but not as bad as we feared on arrival, helped along by making friends.

Room Tip: If you like a sea view ASK FOR IT
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aylesford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Just returned from this hotel and had a brilliant time The rooms could do with a bit of updating, especially the shower area, but on the whole it was very good.. All the waiters and staff were excellent. The food was excellent and varied.Everywhere was very clean. Sheets and towels changed daily. The pool area was very clean and tidy, although some people were selfish by putting their towels on the sunbeds at breakfast. You do need to ask about the mini bus that takes you to the hotels beach, although if you walk along the front you can find FREE BEACHES but take your own parasol if you want some shade during the day.The hotel does need to have more information available about places to go etc, but this should also be made available by the local rep. The wine available was a good price, but the beer was expensive, but very good. The walk into the town takes about 10 - 15 minutes at most, and the pier is worth an evening walk to watch the fishermen. Would recommend this hotel, nice and quiet.

Room Tip: Room 105 or 106 have large balconies, they face out the front of the hotel and catch the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Mirabeau. Was quite pricey, but then everywhere in Forte dei Marmi is expensive. Room was a good size, comfortable and clean. Swimming pool was very nice, with very relaxing sunbeds all around. Food was pretty good, although breakfast was limited in selection (as it is in most of Italy). Fruit was fresh and coffee was great.
Location was good, with the beach around 50 metres away and the town centre a 15 min walk or 5 min bike ride. Overall an enjoyable experience and a place we would stay at should we return to Forte.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Lovely quiet hotel Only English people there Staff very helpful Food excellent as was the restaurant service - almost too good !! The beach is all privately owned Hotel has beach club but we were not told about this by our rep who gave us info on other beach clubs given to him by Hotel staff! ?? Why?
Preferred to sit around pool which was very quiet in the mornings but busier in afternoons Room service excellent Towels changed daily Sheets halfway through week Hairdryer in bathroom Towels available at poolside

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palestrina, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Charme and Relax is what we experienced during our stay at the Mirabeau Hotel. Our bedroom with balcony overlooking the sea, was spacious and linen was daily changed. Alternative to the beach, was the elegant swimming pool with spa bath which was very enjoyable. Look out for the Wednesday market, which is walking distance from the hotel. The market,which is well known in Italy, for excellent quality.Not to miss is the charming town of Pietrasanta, known has the City of Art,not far from the Hotel by car.
Thank you to the Owner and his staff for having given us a very pleasant stay, and will be back in September.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

After recently spending a week at the Mirabeau hotel in Forte dei Marmi along with my wife and
sister and brother in law (visiting from South Africa) I was just a little disappointed with the overall service available during our stay. Although the staff were friendly and polite there was unfortunately a shortage of personnel to attend to your needs e.g drinks and snacks unavailable during the day, and the bar had no one serving in the evening, only being tended by the head waiter,who had his hands full serving in the dining area.
On the plus side the rooms were very clean and comfortable, sheets and towels change daily. The breakfast could be taken on the veranda overlooking the pool and the evening 4 course Italian menu water service was in our opinion very good excellent pasta dishes with a good choice of fish / meat options, we also found the wine list quite reasonable 13 euro for a nice bottle, beer was expensive at 7 euro for a 40cl glass. On our last evening we enjoyed a traditional Tuscan fixed menu which was excellent. A lovely experience let down by the lack of staff avaiable.

Room Tip: Rooms 110 & 111 with their own lobby view over the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I spent a week at the Mirabeau as the original hotel I booked was changed by the tour company. The hotel is small and parallel to the main busy seafront road so was in a quiet situation. The bed room was extremely comfortable and spacious- bed was especially comfy and I slept well. Small balcony with a side sea view which did catch the sun most of the day. Shower room was shabby and needed a complete overhaul in my opinion. Toiletries were only replaced when asked but there were clean sheets and towels daily and the standard of cleanliness was 100%. All the hotel staff were extremely helpful and very pleasant. Pool area was well maintained and plenty of towels available. The hotel is about 1 kilometre from the centre - a pleasant walk which I did at least twice daily - but for those not able to do this it could be a problem. There is a bus stop very near the hotel on the main road to get to Viarregio where there are many buses going to various destinations - beware the bus timetables are not always what you think they are!
My main complaint with this hotel was the food. Breakfast was less than average, watery juices; packets of 2 types of cheeses; tinned peaches/ or prunes; large dish of plain yoghurt.
I would expect sliced fresh melon, pineapple etc; tomatoes and cucumber and individual pots of different yoghurt. There was scrambled egg - if you were there at the right time, when it's gone it's gone!!!!
There was also problems with the evening meals which I felt were poor. Salad course were not replaced when they were empty which meant you had to get into dinner early. Pasta dishes - poor quality and deserts were OK.
Hired a bike for the week from the hotel which was fine- well maintained.
Overall had a great holiday - it's a lovely place to stay to see the area but this hotel needs to improve on the food and also the bathing/shower rooms.

Room Tip: ask not to have a connecting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mirabeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirabeau

Address: Viale Morin 135, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 43 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mirabeau 4*
Number of rooms: 31

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mirabeau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.