We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charme and Relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mirabeau

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mirabeau to your Saves list
Hotel Mirabeau
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mirabeau
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Morin 135, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 43 hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Palestrina, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Charme and Relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Charme and Relax is what we experienced during our stay at the Mirabeau Hotel. Our bedroom with balcony overlooking the sea, was spacious and linen was daily changed. Alternative to the beach, was the elegant swimming pool with spa bath which was very enjoyable. Look out for the Wednesday market, which is walking distance from the hotel. The market,which is well known in Italy, for excellent quality.Not to miss is the charming town of Pietrasanta, known has the City of Art,not far from the Hotel by car.
Thank you to the Owner and his staff for having given us a very pleasant stay, and will be back in September.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

After recently spending a week at the Mirabeau hotel in Forte dei Marmi along with my wife and
sister and brother in law (visiting from South Africa) I was just a little disappointed with the overall service available during our stay. Although the staff were friendly and polite there was unfortunately a shortage of personnel to attend to your needs e.g drinks and snacks unavailable during the day, and the bar had no one serving in the evening, only being tended by the head waiter,who had his hands full serving in the dining area.
On the plus side the rooms were very clean and comfortable, sheets and towels change daily. The breakfast could be taken on the veranda overlooking the pool and the evening 4 course Italian menu water service was in our opinion very good excellent pasta dishes with a good choice of fish / meat options, we also found the wine list quite reasonable 13 euro for a nice bottle, beer was expensive at 7 euro for a 40cl glass. On our last evening we enjoyed a traditional Tuscan fixed menu which was excellent. A lovely experience let down by the lack of staff avaiable.

Room Tip: Rooms 110 & 111 with their own lobby view over the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I spent a week at the Mirabeau as the original hotel I booked was changed by the tour company. The hotel is small and parallel to the main busy seafront road so was in a quiet situation. The bed room was extremely comfortable and spacious- bed was especially comfy and I slept well. Small balcony with a side sea view which did catch the sun most of the day. Shower room was shabby and needed a complete overhaul in my opinion. Toiletries were only replaced when asked but there were clean sheets and towels daily and the standard of cleanliness was 100%. All the hotel staff were extremely helpful and very pleasant. Pool area was well maintained and plenty of towels available. The hotel is about 1 kilometre from the centre - a pleasant walk which I did at least twice daily - but for those not able to do this it could be a problem. There is a bus stop very near the hotel on the main road to get to Viarregio where there are many buses going to various destinations - beware the bus timetables are not always what you think they are!
My main complaint with this hotel was the food. Breakfast was less than average, watery juices; packets of 2 types of cheeses; tinned peaches/ or prunes; large dish of plain yoghurt.
I would expect sliced fresh melon, pineapple etc; tomatoes and cucumber and individual pots of different yoghurt. There was scrambled egg - if you were there at the right time, when it's gone it's gone!!!!
There was also problems with the evening meals which I felt were poor. Salad course were not replaced when they were empty which meant you had to get into dinner early. Pasta dishes - poor quality and deserts were OK.
Hired a bike for the week from the hotel which was fine- well maintained.
Overall had a great holiday - it's a lovely place to stay to see the area but this hotel needs to improve on the food and also the bathing/shower rooms.

Room Tip: ask not to have a connecting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Just returned after a glorious week in this lovely hotel. All staff were polite and courteous including the head waiter who has come in for criticism in some reviews. Reception staff were friendly and went out of their way to help. The rooms were exceptionally clean and well maintained, linen and towels were changed daily.

The poolside was immaculately clean, a towel service was available for sunloungers. We did not experience any sun lounger 'reserving' by anyone and there were always spare loungers available on our daily afternoon swim. The food was great; breakfast was typically continental and four courses offerred for dinner. Food was served on a lovely open air terrace overlooking the pool and as previously mentioned the staff were from our experience effiecient and friendly.

The drinks in the hotel are expensive but anyone who has done any research at all knows that the entire resort is expensive! Don't go if you're looking for bargains or shops selling 'tat' this is an upmarket resort littered with designer names such as Prada, Gucci and Ralph Lauren. The hotel is around a mile from the centre of Forte Dei Marmi so wont be suitable for everyone, however it is very flat and agin research will tell you the location of the hotel in relation to the resort centre to avoid moaning on return home!

Hotel greatly reccommended, resort is nice but very expensive!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Nice rooms and lovely pool area. Rooms cleaned very well. The food was very good. However, there were several negatives: it's a long way from any useful facilities; the beach is outrageously expensive (€55 for 2 sunbeds, umbrella and deckchairs in LOW season) as are the drinks in the hotel; there are not enough sunbeds around the pool (leading to a pre-breakfast towel contest!); breakfast was only adequate and lastly the staff were unhelpful and unfriendly. We found that both the reception and the restaurant staff had a 'take it or leave it attitude' and the head waiter, in particular, was arrogant, bullied his staff and patronised the non-Italian guests.On the day we had an early start (8am) for a trip we were offered coffee and a yoghurt as breakfast. When I asked the man on Reception for bread, he looked at me as though I was mad and finally passed me a sliced loaf - which we managed to toast. The pool attendant upset one of the other English couples so much that they had to complain to the holiday rep and he was then fired. Such a pity, because with some changes this hotel could be GREAT.

Room Tip: The best rooms overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tienen, Belgium
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We love this Hotel with very friendly staff. Outstanding local Italian restaurant with very nice pizza's as appetizers. Three choices for starters and main course and more for dessert. The wine list is typical Italian from local Tuscan wines to some of the big Super Tuscans (only the Sassicaia is too expensive at over EUR 300/bottle).
The bikes are fun to ride to the city centre (5 minutes) and are not expensive. The rooms have no carper on the floor which is much more hygienic and are cleaned very well. The rooms mostly have nice balcony's.
For those who like Tuscany, who like the see, who like Forte dei Marmi and especially for those who like Italian food, this is an excellent destination.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

I just came back from a one week stay at this hotel in Forte dei Marmi.

The hotel is charming and of typically Toscany style. Our room was of decent size and our terrace was as big as the room which was really great, although on the first floor only, we had an ever so slight sea view. There are positive sides to this hotel and negative sides as well. Also, it does not feel like a 4 star hotel but rather like a 3 star hotel and I have travelled around the world so able to compare it to both lower and higher rated hotels I have stayed at. Be prepared to be treated differently than the Italian guests as they have priority although the hotel's policy is that there is no such thing as A guests and B guests, right?! That remains debatable...

Pros:
- Charming and clean hotel
- great and well maintained pool and pool area
- cheaper rate to rent a bicycle through hotel than in one of the bicycle rental places in Forte Dei Marmi (although the bikes are not as well maintained - see negative)
- nice breakfast although repetitive after a week
- rooms are cleaned quickly and early to a decent standard
- food is decent and well proportioned
- most staff are really friendly and helpful whilst others are plainly rude to you if you express your dissatisfaction
- nice residential area and quiet at night due the town's roads being mostly traffic free at night unless you have residential access.
- able to park your car (do not know whether it is free or not as I did not use this service)
- hotel shuttle going to town centre I would assume (did not use this service either)
- air conditioned rooms (don't like it myself so turned it off during the whole stay)
- most staff speak English or at least try their best whilst others just simply don't like the manager of the hotel

Cons:
- staff can be quite rude at times and unhelpful (reception, head waiter and the lifeguard)
- the pool is so well maintained that it is treated daily at 19.00 so guests are unable to use it until the morning which is a shame as summer days are nice, long and hot and using the pool until at least 20.00 would be lovely and very much needed after long excursions
- the gym is small and has only one bike and a step machine, free weights and a weights machine and two thin mats, these are not new at all and the machine displays did not work when I used them.
- the bikes provided are poorly maintained as ours were dirty, the tyres were slightly flat after a few days of usage etc... but the price is cheaper than bike rental shops so you get what you pay for.
- food not very varied and twice very salty (I would not choose half board again as it gets boring and there are so many great other restaurants around to try)
- beverage prices very high so go to the local shop and buy your own drinks except at dinner time
- no fresh juices at breakfast, only from machine dispenser, the pastries in Italy are called brioches but do not taste like French crispy pastries nor brioches as they are hard and dry but try them and see for yourself
- for some people, the hotel might be a bit far away from the centre. For us it was fine and close to our usual beach club (Bagno Dalmazia, the best is Forte dei Marmi!!!) and we did not mind the bike rides to and from the city centre
- although rooms are supposedly soundproofed, you do get disturb by the next door rooms as the doors make a loud noise when they close and there is a slight echo in the corridors so if kids shout and scream, you then hear it in your room
- info folder in our room was incomplete and inconsistent so impossible to know the prices and information about certain services without asking the reception
- be aware of where they put you to eat for dinner from the start as you can easily end up dining each evening in the busy corridor by the kitchen if they are fully booked with big families and you end up eating inside in the passage way whilst others enjoy dinner on the terrace by the pool (make a fuss and they should eventually move you but the next days might be difficult in terms of getting quality service)
- beds are hard and only provided with one sheet and the bed spread to sleep with
- TVs are small and old fashion but Sky is available at a cost

An overall nice stay in a charming hotel which could be better if certain staff members were polite and helpful at all times and if they were more organised. The food could be more varied, the pool opened/available longer. Would not stay there again myself but I can see the appeal of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mirabeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirabeau

Address: Viale Morin 135, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 43 hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mirabeau 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Mirabeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mirabeau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.