We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mirabeau

Hotel Mirabeau
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Forte Dei Marmi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mirabeau
Save
You added Hotel Mirabeau to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Morin 135, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A charming hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Just returned after a glorious week in this lovely hotel. All staff were polite and courteous including the head waiter who has come in for criticism in some reviews. Reception staff were friendly and went out of their way to help. The rooms were exceptionally clean and well maintained, linen and towels were changed daily.

The poolside was immaculately clean, a towel service was available for sunloungers. We did not experience any sun lounger 'reserving' by anyone and there were always spare loungers available on our daily afternoon swim. The food was great; breakfast was typically continental and four courses offerred for dinner. Food was served on a lovely open air terrace overlooking the pool and as previously mentioned the staff were from our experience effiecient and friendly.

The drinks in the hotel are expensive but anyone who has done any research at all knows that the entire resort is expensive! Don't go if you're looking for bargains or shops selling 'tat' this is an upmarket resort littered with designer names such as Prada, Gucci and Ralph Lauren. The hotel is around a mile from the centre of Forte Dei Marmi so wont be suitable for everyone, however it is very flat and agin research will tell you the location of the hotel in relation to the resort centre to avoid moaning on return home!

Hotel greatly reccommended, resort is nice but very expensive!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Nice rooms and lovely pool area. Rooms cleaned very well. The food was very good. However, there were several negatives: it's a long way from any useful facilities; the beach is outrageously expensive (€55 for 2 sunbeds, umbrella and deckchairs in LOW season) as are the drinks in the hotel; there are not enough sunbeds around the pool (leading to a pre-breakfast towel contest!); breakfast was only adequate and lastly the staff were unhelpful and unfriendly. We found that both the reception and the restaurant staff had a 'take it or leave it attitude' and the head waiter, in particular, was arrogant, bullied his staff and patronised the non-Italian guests.On the day we had an early start (8am) for a trip we were offered coffee and a yoghurt as breakfast. When I asked the man on Reception for bread, he looked at me as though I was mad and finally passed me a sliced loaf - which we managed to toast. The pool attendant upset one of the other English couples so much that they had to complain to the holiday rep and he was then fired. Such a pity, because with some changes this hotel could be GREAT.

Room Tip: The best rooms overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tienen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We love this Hotel with very friendly staff. Outstanding local Italian restaurant with very nice pizza's as appetizers. Three choices for starters and main course and more for dessert. The wine list is typical Italian from local Tuscan wines to some of the big Super Tuscans (only the Sassicaia is too expensive at over EUR 300/bottle).
The bikes are fun to ride to the city centre (5 minutes) and are not expensive. The rooms have no carper on the floor which is much more hygienic and are cleaned very well. The rooms mostly have nice balcony's.
For those who like Tuscany, who like the see, who like Forte dei Marmi and especially for those who like Italian food, this is an excellent destination.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

I just came back from a one week stay at this hotel in Forte dei Marmi.

The hotel is charming and of typically Toscany style. Our room was of decent size and our terrace was as big as the room which was really great, although on the first floor only, we had an ever so slight sea view. There are positive sides to this hotel and negative sides as well. Also, it does not feel like a 4 star hotel but rather like a 3 star hotel and I have travelled around the world so able to compare it to both lower and higher rated hotels I have stayed at. Be prepared to be treated differently than the Italian guests as they have priority although the hotel's policy is that there is no such thing as A guests and B guests, right?! That remains debatable...

Pros:
- Charming and clean hotel
- great and well maintained pool and pool area
- cheaper rate to rent a bicycle through hotel than in one of the bicycle rental places in Forte Dei Marmi (although the bikes are not as well maintained - see negative)
- nice breakfast although repetitive after a week
- rooms are cleaned quickly and early to a decent standard
- food is decent and well proportioned
- most staff are really friendly and helpful whilst others are plainly rude to you if you express your dissatisfaction
- nice residential area and quiet at night due the town's roads being mostly traffic free at night unless you have residential access.
- able to park your car (do not know whether it is free or not as I did not use this service)
- hotel shuttle going to town centre I would assume (did not use this service either)
- air conditioned rooms (don't like it myself so turned it off during the whole stay)
- most staff speak English or at least try their best whilst others just simply don't like the manager of the hotel

Cons:
- staff can be quite rude at times and unhelpful (reception, head waiter and the lifeguard)
- the pool is so well maintained that it is treated daily at 19.00 so guests are unable to use it until the morning which is a shame as summer days are nice, long and hot and using the pool until at least 20.00 would be lovely and very much needed after long excursions
- the gym is small and has only one bike and a step machine, free weights and a weights machine and two thin mats, these are not new at all and the machine displays did not work when I used them.
- the bikes provided are poorly maintained as ours were dirty, the tyres were slightly flat after a few days of usage etc... but the price is cheaper than bike rental shops so you get what you pay for.
- food not very varied and twice very salty (I would not choose half board again as it gets boring and there are so many great other restaurants around to try)
- beverage prices very high so go to the local shop and buy your own drinks except at dinner time
- no fresh juices at breakfast, only from machine dispenser, the pastries in Italy are called brioches but do not taste like French crispy pastries nor brioches as they are hard and dry but try them and see for yourself
- for some people, the hotel might be a bit far away from the centre. For us it was fine and close to our usual beach club (Bagno Dalmazia, the best is Forte dei Marmi!!!) and we did not mind the bike rides to and from the city centre
- although rooms are supposedly soundproofed, you do get disturb by the next door rooms as the doors make a loud noise when they close and there is a slight echo in the corridors so if kids shout and scream, you then hear it in your room
- info folder in our room was incomplete and inconsistent so impossible to know the prices and information about certain services without asking the reception
- be aware of where they put you to eat for dinner from the start as you can easily end up dining each evening in the busy corridor by the kitchen if they are fully booked with big families and you end up eating inside in the passage way whilst others enjoy dinner on the terrace by the pool (make a fuss and they should eventually move you but the next days might be difficult in terms of getting quality service)
- beds are hard and only provided with one sheet and the bed spread to sleep with
- TVs are small and old fashion but Sky is available at a cost

An overall nice stay in a charming hotel which could be better if certain staff members were polite and helpful at all times and if they were more organised. The food could be more varied, the pool opened/available longer. Would not stay there again myself but I can see the appeal of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston,Lancashire,
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Just back from two weeks at this very nice Hotel.The good things soon became apparent, the exceptional friendliness of the reception staff, the clean and welcoming bedrooms with towels and bed linen changed daily, the excellent meals with varied choices and local produce, comfortable lounge areas ,the swimming pool and surrounds very nice with comfortable soft loungers and pool towels provided.Very pretty gardens .our dining table overlooked the pool area and was so beautiful.However we found the Hotel to be a bit far from the town centre, we are quite fit pensioners and can walk a long way but as there was only a couple of bars within the vicinity we found this restrictive over the two weeks period. The prices at the Hotel were very high with a beer costing 7 euros and a fruit juice 4 euros.The wine did start at 13 euros a bottle however. We did not use the mini bar for the same reasons.The main complaint we had was the supercilious attitude of the head waiter. He was very patronising to the non Italian guests and was inclined to bully his staff, sometimes in front of the guests.We found the transport links unreliable sometimes as connections were missed due to latenesss.We also thought the Hotel should provide fresh fruit with breakfast, tinned peaches and prunes were the only fruit available.we heard guests asking at breakfast for fresh fruit.
Overall, we enjoyed our hotel as the Mirabeau is very comfortable and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

I can't believe more people haven't left a review on this wonderful hotel. Stayed at the Mirabeau in September. We were very warmly welcomed by the reception staff upon arrival. The hotel is situated in a very quiet area about a 15 minute stroll to the centre of Forte dei Marmi and the beach is 2 minutes walk away. The bedroom was very clean and comfortable and we had a lovely seaview. The restaurant staff were great and couldn't do enough for you. The food was fantastic with antipasti, 4 starters, 4 main courses and about 7 dessert choices (and a salad buffet) every night - forget the diet!!! The nearest bus stop is a couple of minutes walk away with regular buses to Viareggio where you can pick up buses to Pisa, Lucca and Florence and it was only EUR 3.40 to get to Lucca!!!! Would recommend this hotel to anybody. The only slight downside to the holiday was as it was late September the majority of bars and restaurants in Forte dei Marmi closed early. Would go back in August next time. Thank you to all the staff at the Mirabeau - hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

This hotel is situated in a residential area with no facilities within easy proximity. The centre of Forte dei Marmi is at least 1 1/2km and the nearest pharmacy/newsagent/grocery shop at least 1/2km so unless you are fit, can ride a bike or hire a car, this hotel is not for you. I am disabled and although I brought a wheelchair, I felt isolated with a loss of my independence because I could not get anywhere on my own. Even the buses require a ticket purchased from the town centre before boarding.
The hotel itself is described as charming - mm maybe but not of the 4star quality I have come to expect from my trips to other parts of Italy. Don't know what happened to the chef between 13th-27th September but the evening meal food was of a very poor standard and served "just aired" on cold plates. My husband suffered a severe stomach upset - we hadn't eaten anywhere else?!
It was very pleasant around the pool where I had to spend most of my time. A request to Thomson to be transferred to another more central hotel was declined due to the hotel management refusing to waive the cancellation fee. As a concession on the second week, they did offer to run us to local places in their minibus between 9.00-17.00 as long as we booked in advance - this helped a bit and we took advantage of this twice. If I'd been made aware how far away from everything this hotel was, I would not have considered it in my circumstances. Overall for us, a very disappointing experience.

  • Liked — clean room with linen and towels changed daily
  • Disliked — poor evening meal
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Forte Dei Marmi hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Il Negresco
Hotel Il Negresco
#11 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Roma Imperiale
Villa Roma Imperiale
#1 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
5.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Mauritius Hotel
St Mauritius Hotel
#4 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Principe Forte dei Marmi
Principe Forte dei Marmi
#7 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Pleiadi
Le Pleiadi
#10 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Raffaelli Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Raffaelli Park Hote...
#19 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirabeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirabeau

Address: Viale Morin 135, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mirabeau 4*
Number of rooms: 31

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mirabeau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.