We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“agree with Janroy1” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mignon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Mignon to your Saves list
Hotel Mignon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giosue Carducci 58, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“agree with Janroy1”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

was going to write my review and read Janroy1 who gave an exact description of my thoughts of the hotel in every way. However our Balcony (room 34) had too much foliage on the balcony leaving little room for two people to sit and escape the mosquitoes . There was a larger supermarket a 15 minute walk away which had everything you would want no cheaper then the one around the corner on some items. For those who want a cheaper beer to sit on the balcony and dink then the one round the corner had a beer for 2 euros Forte die Marmi as a resort had very little to offer if you weren't on the 4 excursions that Mistral offered, which gave you a taster of some delightful places to visit,some of them you would want to stay longer in to see everything.
The staff were very friendly and very helpful . The prices at the bar were a bit steep so be careful what you order. We had a fantastic tour guide Raul who also made the trip very enjoyable and went out of his way to help those less able to get around and those who were very poor at Italian

Room Tip: dont pick room 34. couldn't comment on spa or fitness centre as did not use. Value was going wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    27
    7
    3
    8
See reviews for
18
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We visited this hotel at the end of May 2012 with Mistral Holidays as part of their Cinque Terre and Tuscany Coach Tour. The staff were very friendly and English speaking and the bar and communal rooms area were quite comfortable and well lit. At the front of the hotel was a small seating area and a gazebo. The bedroom was quite large with twin beds, fridge, sky TV, good size modern bathroom and balcony with 2 seats and table. The drawback was the mosquitos but a spray kept them at bay. The room was cleaned daily and was well maintained.
The dining room was comfortable. We were on a table d'hote menu and chose our evening meal at breakfast time. Breakfast was typically Italian - cereals, bread, toast, jam or honey, fruit juice, cheese and ham. Dinner was 3 course - pasta or soup as starter, choice of 2 main courses, and a sweet. On one night we were served a Tuscan meal of several courses which was very nice.
There is a small supermarket around the corner which stocks basics including water.
All in all, this was a very comfortable stay for a week.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor but if you want sunshine go to the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on a tour with Mistral Holidays. The hotel is in the middle of a very exclusive resort with nothing but designer shops and expensive bars. There was not even a shop where we could buy water. Most people on the tour complained about the lack of amenities near the hotel or for that matter the resort. The tour bus stopped for us to buy water etc. after the first trip out and I have never seen so many happy people in my life! The food at the hotel was supposed to be typical Tuscan but was very bland and uninteresting. One morning the yogurt was rancid. We stayed on a half board basis and if we arrived for dinner a bit late the salad bar had vanished and not replenished. The tour guide with Mistral, Christina, was not at all knowledgeable about the places we visited and mostly left us to our own devices. This was a very expensive trip which was booked for my 60th birthday and it was the holiday from hell. We have been on coach tours in the past with Riviera and have only had praise for them as they gave us contant information regarding the places we were to visit. I did send a three page letter of complaint to Mistral which was treated with contempt.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Hotel food basic bar deplorable had to get someone from reception everytime you wanted a drink, rooms okay when air conditioning is working,staff quite friendly.bills run up over the holiday had to be payed cash cards not accepted.Ten minutes walk from main town centre where resturaunts and shops were from reasonable to very expensive.Five minute walk from beach.Small pool on third floor.

Room Tip: No sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Staff at Harbour Guest & tea room made us feel very welcome when we arrived for sunday lunch. There is an extensive menu of traditional sunday lunches, but if you preferred dressed crab salad was available. We had the pork and lamb along with 3 vegetables and yorkshire pudding. The meal was well presented and we ate the lot. Just to mention, the sponge pudding with oodles of custurd was a great way of finishing the meal off.
Well done Christine and Clive keep the standard up.

Albert & Betty Cook Homestead Tree Road Brampton Cumbria.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

We were really pleased with everything at this small, friendly hotel which was just off the beach and a few minutes from the centre of town. The room was bigger than expected, always clean and fresh every day. There was a great choice at breakfast and the evening meals were so good that we did not want to miss any. The restaurant staff were friendly and attentive. We were really pleased that everyone was so happy to help us with things like renting a car and checking train times. We were really impressed with how well staff spoke English. They made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Just returned from a one week stay at the Hotel Mignon in Forte del Marmi. The hotel staff were all extremely friendly. The room, functional, but clean. We greatly enjoyed the restaurant where typical Tuscan food was the order of the day - only 3 choices per course, so if you crave good old English cooking, don't eat here! Only criticism of the hotel is that the pool on the roof is a little sorry - we used the pool at the nearby Grand Hotel. Note that you have to pay to use loungers and umbrellas on the beaches - cost between 25 -70euros per day!, and in Forte del Marmi prices are at the upper end of the scale. Forte del Marmi caters for the Italian jet-set so expect(and you will not be disappointed) to pay high prices for eating out. If shopping is your thing then there are designer shops in abundance - with prices to match. Transport by bus is cheap and very good, and it is easy to travel to nearby Pisa, Lucca, and further afield to Siena and Florence if you so wish. In summary a good resort to explore and sample the delights of Tuscany.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mignon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mignon

Address: Via Giosue Carducci 58, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mignon 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mignon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mignon Hotel Forte Dei Marmi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mignon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.