We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip that was very pleasurable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 1908

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 1908 to your Saves list
Hotel 1908
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Flavio Gioia 2, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy (Formerly Hotel Ritz)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Business trip that was very pleasurable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We came to Forte Dei Marmi on a business trip to meet with marble fabricators in Carrara. The hotel is lovely and the staff couldn't have been friendlier. We were met at the airport in Florence and delivered to the front door. Lunch was provided even though the kitchen was closed. The rooms are perfect, modern and very Italian. My only complaint is that the beds are very firm and very low to the ground.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritzfortedeimarmi, Proprietario at Hotel 1908, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your kind comments which are Always appreciated. It is difficult for any hotel to satisfy all clients on the type of mattress they prefer. for this reason we have the ability to change mattresses according to the needs of our guests but we need to be informed. It was our fault that we did not advise you of this facility, our appolgies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
25
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

We arrived very late one night and there was another guest that had the TV up very loud which kept us awake. The room was pretty standard, clean but cramped and the internet reception was bad in our room. The breakfast was very dissapointing, with a very limited offering. We stayed at about 6 different hotels around Italy for a similar rate each night and were very dissapointed with this place, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Wonderful stay at Hotel Ritz. A family owned hotel that is perfect for a few nights away from Florence. Short walk to the center of town for dinner and shopping. Nice pool on site and plenty of bikes. Beach club across the street charges 25 euros for 2 chairs, umbrella and chaise. Go ahead and enjoy yourselves. You won't be sorry.

Room Tip: They have rooms in all price ranges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We spent 10 days at the Hotel Ritz and what a find! Friendly and courteous staff and management, superb location, great choice of breakfast and clean, comfortable room. The bed was extremely comfortable. We chose to eat out for lunch and dinner as we wanted to sample the different restaurants in and around Forte Dei Marmi and adjoining villages such as Pietra Santa, Lucca etc. The beach and the best restaurant (Le Bistrot!) are across the road, although hiring beds on the beach is €40 per day, per couple so be prepared if there for more than a weekend. We hired bikes from the hotel and rode up and down the coast line which was extremely pleasant using the wide, safe bike lanes and we found some different locations for lunch which was lovely. The pool and bathing area around the hotel was of a high quality and very pleasant, although the road noise was a little off-putting but still pleasurable. Walking into the gorgeous town, with designer shop after designer shop and a truly wonderful choice of restaurants was 10 minutes stroll. It was just like toy town! So twee, so quiet, relaxing and pure class. All in all a truly relaxing location and hotel which we will certainly be back to visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We just came from two nights at the Hotel Ritz with our boys ages 11 and 14. It is a charming hotel just across from the beach in Forte dei Marmi. The room was very clean and comfortable. We were most impressed with the staff. Each and every staff member was kind and courteous. The desk clerks went out of their way to help us with dinner reservations, train tickets and things to do while in town. The hotel has bikes to use which are a great way to see the town at Forte dei Marmi. They also shuttle you to the train station for free. The breakfast is lovely and we especially enjoyed the bartender, who is a lot of fun. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritzfortedeimarmi, Proprietario at Hotel 1908, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We strive hard for excellence and such kind words are Always greatly appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The staff at Hotel Ritz were very nice and very accommodating. The bed we had was much more comfortable than some of the other hotels we had stayed during our trip. The location is great - only a few blocks from the Wednesday market and close to the beach, shopping, etc. Also, the food was very good - we had breakfast and dinner and it was wonderful. They have bikes (for a fee which we were unaware - this was on our bill after we had used them) and there is a nice bike path running along the street by the beach. Overall our stay was very nice and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Really impressed with this hotel. Great location and excellent customer service. The staff was extrememly helpfull and friendly. Rooms were up to date and clean, Clean towels brought in everynight during bed turning service and in the morning when the room was cleaned.
Free shuttle pick up and drop off to the train station. Amazing breakfast included.
The downtown is within walking distance as well as the beach and restaurants. They even had bikes for rent.
We will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel 1908? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1908

Address: Via Flavio Gioia 2, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy (Formerly Hotel Ritz)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1908 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel 1908 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Forte Dei Marmi
Forte Dei Marmi Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 1908, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.