We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exremely over rated” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Byron Hotel

Save Saved
You added Byron Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Byron Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Morin, 46, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 43 hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Southampton, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exremely over rated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

My husband and I had booked the Hotel Byron last year expecting a deluxe property and we were very disappointed. there is no way that this hotel deserves a 5 star rating-it would be lucky to get 4 stars. When I asked about a gym,they responded that there wasn't one. I then asked if they had an arrangement with any gym and they said they didn't . I certainly expect a 5 star property to have even a couple of machines.
The pool was so freezing that you couldn't swim in it,the breakfast was very meager, and the service was terrible. to say the least,we HATED this hotel. DO NOtT GO THERE!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
u_rossini, Direttore at Byron Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Dear Madam,
this is in reply to your review of the 27th June 2010 regarding your stay at the Hotel Byron in September 2009.
We are sorry that you did not find a gym in our hotel, but for structural reasons we cannot modify the building, as it is considered a historical building.
We would also like to add that we do not advertise on our brochures or on our website that our hotel has a gym or a heated swimming pool, and the temperature in September is not like July's or August's.
Furthermore, our staff has always been available and willing to give information about other pools and gyms outside the hotel, just like they do with restaurants, beach clubs, hairdressers etc..
We are sorry that your stay was not like you expected it, but we hope that if you were to come back to Forte dei Marmi, that you will stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    7
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
11
19
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

Stayed with a friend for the weekend and absolutely loved it. It was a very small hotel with friendly staff, exceptional service and amazing food. The chef is a rare talent and definitely compares highly to any michelin star food elsewhere. The rooms were wonderful especially the newly renovated ones with really bright vibrant colours. Forte dei Marmi is quaint and easy to get around especially as the hotel offers free bikes to guests. Shops are expensive though and so if you want to do shopping go to nearby Viarregio where there are some nice shopsn along the promenade.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

Returned to the Hotel after visiting last year. Forte is a fabulous resort, the beach is fab and so are the cafe/bars along the beach.

Hotel was good but there were a few problems this year. Service and Food in Restaurant were not of the same standard as last year.
Staff are very helpful and the fact the 90% of the residents are repeat Guests, speak for itself. If you want Grand and Glitz the Byron isn`t for you.

  • Liked — Location and Resort of Forte
  • Disliked — Bedroom
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

My 19 year old daughter and myself were vacationing in Italy from Canada. We decided to take a trip from Florence to the beautiful destination of Forte Dei Marmi for the weekend. We made a last minute decision to rent a car and drive to Forte Dei Marmi and arrived with no reservation. We were given a referral to the Hotel Byron and when we showed up in their lobby we were pleasantly surprised with how helpful and accommodating their hotel attendants were. The attendant offered us a choice of two rooms and took the time to show us both so we could make a decision for ourselves. Both rooms were very nice and we chose the room with french doors opening to a balcony over looking the sea. During our stay the service was exceptional. We were able to park our rental car on the property, we used the hotel bikes with locks both days and the hotel gave us late check out upon request. It was our plan to stay in town as long as possible before heading back to Florence and the hotel accomodated us by holding our luggage, and extending the use of the bikes till late in the afternoon. The room service, breakfast restaurant and pool side restaurant were all equally nice - excellent fresh food and the service on all counts was impeccable. The very friendly and helpful staff coupled with the physical beauty of the grounds and buildings made our stay most enjoyable and we will return.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, friendly service, nice rooms, access to bikes, food, pool service
  • Disliked — Although the beach site nearest the hotel was nice, it was not as nice as others we have visited further down the beach.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

This hotel and its surrounds was billed as one of the exclusive spots in Italy. This was far from the truth. The first room given to us, appeared to be unfinished, noisy and so tiny you barely turn around in. The hotel staff was rude and apparently severly unstaffed. For the prices they charge -- this hotel should have been top notch. Instead it was one step above curb. Save your money and avoid it.

  • Liked — bathroom amenities
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2006

Excellent hotel and even better restaurant. My family had a very pleasurable experience at this boutique style hotel, our experience was the exact opposite of the other review.

For the record, during our stay, the poolside did have a lifeguard and waiter and while the hotel does not have its own beach club, there are plenty within walking distance to pick from.

We stayed at the hotel for one week and did not have one unpleasant experience. This is a boutiqye style hotel NOT a resort and you should keep this in mind when planning your trip.

One of the best parts of the Hotel is their restaurant. We ate lunch and dinner there almost every day and must admit it is one of the best restaurants we have been to anywhere in the world. The restaurant has a great staff, a wide selection of dishes to satisfy any diet and a wine list from around the world.

We have already planned our next trip to the Byron and would hightly recommend to any of our family and friends to visit the Hotel Byron!

  • Liked — The restaurant
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — take the meal plan and enjoy the food
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2006

First off I admit to being a travel agent but I pay my way.

I have stayed in many 5 star hotels and many 4 star that deserve 5, such as Borge San Felice and Cala di Porto, both in Tuscany.

In between we arranged to stay 5 night at the Byron. After 1 night we decided to leave.

The room didn't have a bath (not 5 star) the staff, front desk excluded, seem to be doing you a favour (not 5 star). The pool side is not attended by waiter or lifegurad (not 5 star), pool side beds and like old deck chairs (not 5 star). Beach facilites are left to another compnay and are poor

When I advised we were leaving they insisted on charging for the full stay including all meals, even though I wouldn't be there to eat them !!

The manager looked at me from across his office and had no desire to find out why I was leaving a 5 star hotel even with the loss of my money (definately not 5 star).

Stay anywhere else in town..we popped into Augustus and they have padded chairs around the pool, a pool bar and very friendly staff....

Jeremy


  • Liked — Nothing that you couldnt find at other hotels in resort
  • Disliked — Overpriced and very overrated
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid it unles you like wasting money
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Hotel

Address: Viale Morin, 46, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Byron Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Hotel Forte Dei Marmi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.