We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax in Forte dei Marmi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Byron Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Byron Hotel to your Saves list
Byron Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Morin, 46, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Relax in Forte dei Marmi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

I’ve had the pleasure to stay many times at Byron (luxury hotel), it is an authentic old Italian villa. Very well located in Forte dei Marmi, the beach is just across the street the town is 10 minutes by bicycle, which the hotel gives free of charge, Forte dei Marmi is lovely Tuscan village, very quiet, great for relaxing. The hotel has a lovely garden and pool, Michelin star restaurant, very friendly staff. Rooms are all different, I love the attic rooms.

Room Tip: I love the attic rooms, especially 203
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    7
    5
    7
See reviews for
13
21
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We stayed here all week and were very pleased, apart from the sometimes very noisy Vespas,
motorcycles and horn blowing italian motorists on the boulevard in front of the hotel.
However the manicured gardens, terraces, swimming pool and restaurant at the other side of the main building made us feel like staying in our own private italian villa.
The service is excellent on all levels and so is the food at breakfast, lunch and dinner (one Michelin star) The place is spotlessly clean. Our groundfloor room had a large private terrace, a fine bathroom in Carrara marble, an excellent bed and was quite spacious. The only minus points were a somewhat ageing decor and a very small tv screen. Wi-Fi worked perfectly throughout the hotel and even on the outside terraces. Notwithstanding a rather high tariff, we considered the price level good value for money. Good hotels are expensive in Italy and certainly along the coast. And this hotel has only 26 rooms but full staff...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We have stayed here several times. The staff is always nice and the experience is great. The hotel provides bikes that we used every day. The pool is lovely. The hotel is not flashy, but authentic. A most pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

hotel Byron , is an old but very authentic house . very well located . infrontof the beach and 5 minute walk from the town .it offers a combination of the old Italian villa and the modern fuctiontoinal hotel, nice garden , large outdoor pool, very friendly staff.
The beach infront , is a very nice beach , golden sand , about 100 meters width. you have to rent your seat and umbrella daily and it is worth it if you are a fan of the sea and beach.
the only thing i did not like in the hotel is the bed , bed sheets and pillows. the matress is harder than I am used to , also the pillows and the linen is a bit rough in texture.
Aver all experince was great and memeroble

Room Tip: you can ask the reservation to send you pictures and description and you can get a good idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my husband for four nights in this hotel. It badly needs refurbishment. The AC is weak thus not effective on a hot day, the Internet was erratic at best and forever asking us to relog-in.
The toiletries in the bathroom looked like what a budget hotel would provide with a miniature box of rough tissue paper. I had to laugh at the audacity of the management to think this is what they think guests who pay top rates deserves.
I asked for an ironing board and iron and was informed I can send my clothes for pressing or go to the staff/stock room to iron them myself.
Breakfast was adequate but not what you would expect from a hotel that is claiming to be a top hotel. The cheeses obviously came from the local supermarket as I saw the label stuck on one of them.
What a shame, this hotel has great potential but needs a lot of work.
However, the staff were friendly and helpful which made our stay very pleasant.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

When I stayed at this Hotel in 2008 the quality of the room I stayed in was far superior to the room on this trip. My room this trip was located on the 1st floor, facing the Main Beach Road. It is extremely poorly insulated with the result that it was very noisy. This is not what one expects for 5 star prices!!
Unlike "Ozijoe", (who I happen to know) who had stayed at this Hotel 1 month earlier I was generally happy with the the staff's attitude and service. I also thought the breakfasts were quite good although when I ordered eggs the one day they took a long time to arrive and the waiter involved was not too fussed.
I thought generally the food and service at La Magnolia Restaurant was very good and the wine by the glass selection was also pretty good.
In summary the main issue that disappointed me was my room. Little things make a difference and they do not even provide guests with a normal box of tissues in their bathrooms.
I wouldn't recommend or be rushing to return to the Byron Hotel. There has to be a better value for money luxury accommodation proposition in Forte Dei Marmi

Room Tip: Do not choose an Ocean facing room on the main beach road unless of course you don't mind plent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

As previously reviewed the Byron is a well managed, very friendly and centrally located hotel - rooms away from the road are to be recommended (they are quieter) and enjoy the poolside dinner (BBQ excellent, soufflé historic !). The key feature of the Byron is the staff - they respect their guests and cannot do enough to help. Other properties may be more opulent, more modern or even better appointed - but for a brief stay, this place takes a lot of beating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Hotel

Address: Viale Morin, 46, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Byron Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Escapio so you can book your Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Hotel Forte Dei Marmi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.