We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Augustus Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added Augustus Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Augustus Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Morin 169, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 43 hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good, but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had our honeymoon here in the low season, so we payed a decent price for our lovely room. I would concur with many of the reviews on TripAdvisor that the hotel in peak season is overpriced, especially since nothing is included in the price except from the breakfast.

In the off season the beach is free of charge, however the five star experience is muddled by all the sellers, and there were many, on the beach selling you all sort of trash or massages.

I would like to point out the excellent service we had in both the hotel and beach restaurant, and the bartender Getulio is a legend, the hotel should be proud of its staff.

The concierge is a snob, and since we are not Russian millionaires, we felt snubbed. But I don't want his attitude and poor service to detract from the overall level of service, which was excellent.

This is a good hotel of high standard, our room was amazing, though the walls are paper thin. The hotel caters for everything, but the price tag is high and as said earlier, you don't get any freebies even when you pay premium charge, not even the clichéd chocolates on your pillow or a bottle of bubbly on arrival.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    16
    7
    9
    6
See reviews for
17
30
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dokkum, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

In July we went to the Augustus Hotel but we will never come back. To begin, the rooms for the prices are absolutely not done. It is not a 5 star Hotel. There were no bikes availeble, the beach was to expensive for a chair and two simple sundeks. The Beach has to be included with your hotel room. Then you give people some serivce! A lot of Russian people that weren´t so nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

very expensive, overpriced and disappointing place! Rooms are terrible, mattress seems to have been there since the opening and you can't survive a night sleeping on them, bathroom not working properly. breakfast is boring. The beach is dirty, nobody seems to care about it and costs another 200 per day!!! the sea is dirty too (a problem of the location not the hotel though). I would leave to it to our rich friends from Eastern Europe which seem to have conquered it (and the village) anyway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa V, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Augustus Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Our Resort includes only historical charming buildings. For this reason, every year we are committed to continuous maintenance aimed both to structures adjustment and to their incessant improvements. The beaches of Forte dei Marmi are awarded each year with the "Blue Flag" for the best and cleanest beaches in the country. The sea plants which occasionally can be found on the seashore are a natural phenomenon that is usually resolved immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Forte Die Marmi is a hip little town
Hotels are all expensive in summer but at 800.00 Euro per night I expected a luxury room. Instead Just as a motel you access your room from an outside walkway.
Although I had booked the room 3 months ahead and paid 2 nights deposit, The room was a let down
When we asked for changing our room to the main building they told us such room was not available.
The breakfast service was quite good. The guests were European with Russian families being the main guests.
I felt that since they stay for several weeks they get room preferential.
The front desk people were nice and helpful otherwise.
I will not return to this place next summer since I left with my feelings getting hurt for all my
humble reasons written above.

SD

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa V, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Augustus Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your opinion, it is very important for us.
Our Resort includes only historical buildings. For this reason, every year we are committed to continuous maintenance aimed both to structures adjustment and to their incessant improvements.
We know for sure that when you decide to be again our guest you will discover important changes that will make your stay even more satisfying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is really a 3 star hotel at 5 star prices.
The rooms are outdated and old. The Internet is extremely slow if it even works.
The walls are too thin and you can hear children cry in the rooms next door.
The beach is very expensive at 250 euros per day.
My stay at the Augustus was very disappointing and I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights in Augustus Hotel and truly had a great time. The hotel was beautiful. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. Especially the Brazilian bar man (sorry can't remember his name), he made great cocktails, was very friendly and went out of his way to check we were happy with them and we even requested a few cocktails which weren't on the menu and he found the recipes and made them for us! The beach was beautiful and the sun loungers extremely comfy. The restaurant by the beach had delicious food but I have to say I did find the restaurant expensive, in fact the hotel was expensive. However, all the restaurants in Forte Dei Marmi seemed to be on par. There is a courtesy shuttle bus to take you into town which I thought was a nice touch. I would definitely recommend this hotel as we felt truly pampered but I would stress it isn't cheap!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Augustus Hotel is a first class holiday experience. We are a couple attending a wedding there and spent a hugely enjoyable long weekend in a delightful complex. The gardens are lovely and the beach facilities are sumptious. Service is charming and the staff are delightful . Breakfast is a feast in delightful suroundings .
Our very large superior room in the "modern" section had two bathrooms of excellent quality as well as a balcony overlooking the pines and catching the late afternoon/ evening sun.

I found no fault and very unusually for me I said to my wife on the last evening-" I could happilly stay on here !"

Room Tip: The superior rooms overlooking the pines get afternoon sun on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Augustus Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustus Hotel & Resort

Address: Viale Morin 169, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Augustus Hotel & Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Augustus Hotel & Resort is located in its own extensive parc in the most elegant part of Forte dei Marmi. The resort is home to the main hotel, seven villas with hotel services, and the Augustus Lido (ex villa Agnelli) connecting to private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Augustus Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Augustus And Lido
Hotel Augustus Lido
Augustus Lido Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Augustus Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.