We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Augustus Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Augustus Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Augustus Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Morin 169, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is really a 3 star hotel at 5 star prices.
The rooms are outdated and old. The Internet is extremely slow if it even works.
The walls are too thin and you can hear children cry in the rooms next door.
The beach is very expensive at 250 euros per day.
My stay at the Augustus was very disappointing and I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    16
    7
    11
    7
See reviews for
21
29
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights in Augustus Hotel and truly had a great time. The hotel was beautiful. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. Especially the Brazilian bar man (sorry can't remember his name), he made great cocktails, was very friendly and went out of his way to check we were happy with them and we even requested a few cocktails which weren't on the menu and he found the recipes and made them for us! The beach was beautiful and the sun loungers extremely comfy. The restaurant by the beach had delicious food but I have to say I did find the restaurant expensive, in fact the hotel was expensive. However, all the restaurants in Forte Dei Marmi seemed to be on par. There is a courtesy shuttle bus to take you into town which I thought was a nice touch. I would definitely recommend this hotel as we felt truly pampered but I would stress it isn't cheap!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Augustus Hotel is a first class holiday experience. We are a couple attending a wedding there and spent a hugely enjoyable long weekend in a delightful complex. The gardens are lovely and the beach facilities are sumptious. Service is charming and the staff are delightful . Breakfast is a feast in delightful suroundings .
Our very large superior room in the "modern" section had two bathrooms of excellent quality as well as a balcony overlooking the pines and catching the late afternoon/ evening sun.

I found no fault and very unusually for me I said to my wife on the last evening-" I could happilly stay on here !"

Room Tip: The superior rooms overlooking the pines get afternoon sun on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollerau, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We spent one week in this hotel with a child of 5 years and we must say, that we have nothing missed. We enjoyed this location every day from new. The hotel is situated in a wonderful park in a quite aera. The beach is super and the beach restaurant very good. The staff does everything to make you feel in holidays. The Restaurant at the hotel is very good as well but has its price. Of course, one can say, that the service in May is better than in July and August, the high season. However, we are certain, that this experienced staff will leave none of your whishes open. We will come back soon again - we love the place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Together with my parents and my two kids I spent the last week of August at Hotel Augustus.
At Augustus we experienced Italy/ Tuscany from it`s best side.
Service and stuff were excellent. The Dinner in the Restaurant belonged certainly to the best we ever had in Italy.The food, the service and the friendliness of the stuff were truely top of the tops. Even the two little girls (four and ten years old) were treated like little princesses.
The beach was excellent as well.
Thanks for the great stay at Augustus. We will certainly come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I booked this hotel because unfortunately the 5 star de luxe in the town were already booked,however at 880 euros per night i presumed the 5 stars was enough and the de luxe signified by a 'L' after the 5 stars was not necessary!...BIG MISTAKE!..The rooms are outdated and the beds and pillows really were like one would assume a prison would be like lol!
The sheets certainly aren't egyptian cotton and the bed was so hard it was like sleeping on the floor.the shower was at best adequate and certainly was not a power shower!.At best the hotel is very average,and i suppose at 1,800 euros per night no breakfast one would have hoped for better!
Seriously look at the travellers fotos if you want to see a true likeness of the rooms, rather than the brochure.The beach owned by the hotel ,was very nice,(but then twiga and some others were even better!), and the attention was good, however at euros 250 per day for a front row tent/4 beds it should be!
VERY DISSAPOINTING!...GO TO THE PRINCIPE OR GRAND HOTEL IMPERIALE IF YOU WANT REAL 5 STAR AS THIS REALLY REALLY IS 3/4 STAR BY ENGLISH STANDARDS!
Internet is a real pain as its old style password and username sent up by reception and cuts out if u don't use it for a short while!in todays world this is totally unacceptable!.
Breakfast and the food generally is very nice although isn't cheap ,so therefore it should be of the standard.
Also very liftle atmosphere although i was wityh my 4 kids so we based ourselves around the very buzzy town centre,which is reason enough to come to Forte.
C'est La Vie!!! made a mistake but please listen to me and book another of the 5/5 star L s in the area!!!!Hopefully the management may read this and do a major refurb that is desperately needed as it is a shame for people that save up sooo much money for a special vacation and end up in a room of a 3 star!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa V, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Augustus Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Traveler,
as you suggested, our Management has promptly read your feed-back, which is very important for us. With the same speed, we are reviewing your suggestions in order to improve our service and your stay at our Resort.
Augustus Hotel & Resort is the only hotel located in the most prestigious part of Forte dei Marmi. Our private beach is certainly the largest, most desirable and fully equipped in the area, and is particularly favoured by families with children. The town centre is 5 minutes distance, and can be reached by our free shuttle service or with bicycles freely available to our guests.
We are used to receiving excellent reviews from our guests, both for the quality of service and for the unique and charming style of the entire Resort, which is quite different from the contemporary style and design of other luxury city hotels. You mentioned the quality of the bed linen, for example. Our sheets and pillows are made with the finest quality cotton and are the product of Frette, one the most well-known “Made in Italy” brands for bed linen in the world.
Lastly, we would like to clarify that the hotel rates you mentioned refer to 2 superior rooms, each with two bathrooms and wide mountain-view terrace. We would like to clarify that our breakfast buffet is always included in the hotel rate, which we believe is quite acceptable for a 5 star hotel with outstanding facilities in this very exclusive part of the Italian coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Me, my wife and my baby (4 years) usually stay almost once every year in this astonishing hotel. We spent some weeks both in the lido, (villa. Agnelli , a place of incredible charme ) and in the traditional structure, and always we enjoyed the professionality of all the staff , the food and the beauty of the rooms and their view. Special mention to the manager of Bambaissa (the Beach club), always very kind and helpful to solve every little problem you can face with a child.
You feel you re treated like one of the family
No doubt We will be' there again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Augustus Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustus Hotel & Resort

Address: Viale Morin 169, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Augustus Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Augustus Hotel & Resort is located in its own extensive parc in the most elegant part of Forte dei Marmi. The resort is home to the main hotel, seven villas with hotel services, and the Augustus Lido (ex villa Agnelli) connecting to private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Augustus Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Augustus And Lido
Hotel Augustus Lido
Augustus Lido Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Augustus Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.