We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-style hotel across the road from beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Negresco

Save Saved
You added Hotel Il Negresco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Il Negresco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare Italico 82, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Paradise Point, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Old-style hotel across the road from beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Nice old-fashioned hotel, large rooms, across the road from the beach (you need to pay to access the beach). Free parking in front of the hotel or paid parking 15 Euro/day on hotel grounds. Good breakfast, not a big variety but good quality. Rooms are clean, plenty of storage space, very comfortable. Close to the center of the town with restaurants and shops. We had a room with a view to the sea, which was nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    61
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
41
83
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great location with fine attention to detail.
Staff good and rooms beautifully furnished.
Seaside rooms more expensive and to some extent not worth the extra cost.
Pool area limited for sunbathing.
Beach area across from hotel well organised

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta P, Direttore at Hotel Il Negresco, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for having chosen our hotel for your last holiday in Forte dei Marmi.
The attention to details is a precise choice of our company, together with the choice of the staff.
We really hope to have further opportunity of welcoming you as our dear guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

"+" Good location, helpful staff, comfortable rooms, great breakfast.
"-" Bicycle 13eur/day. Lunch / dinner do not match the level of the hotel. Room 103 is a shame of the hotel (next to the reception desk on the first floor).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A nice hotel. Small but comfortable rooms. All rooms have a balcony. It is better to take a room with a sea view. The grounds are small. Has a swimming pool, bike rental. The beach across the road, paid. All the beaches in Forte dei Marmi paid, from 60 to 100 euros per day. The rooms are cleaned well, the food is good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ermelo
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed for a week in Negresco beginning of July with a family of 4. we have a 6 and 4 year old and it was great. They have a kids pool and an big pool and we stayed in the beach by villa grey and with the kids it was just super convenient! beach pool beach lunch siesta beach and pool etc etc etc. and Forte dei Marmi is a very nice place great warm atmosphere. we ate in the top class restaurants like Lorenzo and Bistrot but came to the conclusion that I ate as good in other restaurants and for half the price. there are many many good restaurants. lunch we had in Villa grey on the beach and was great and cheap in a way. the beach chairs cost more than lunch
highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have stayed at Il Negresco four times in past 7 years & we now look at it as being, home from home. The hotel is in a great location, a 10 minute walk from town centre, with access across the road to any beach " bagno" you wish to choose . The food is very good & you will not meet any better staff in Italy, extremely helpful & always take the time to talk with you. Thank you to Laura, Roberto, Fillipo on the front desk for dealing with every daily "challenge" we threw at them. Our 4th Floor room & balcony offers superb ocean views, the rooms are spacious & have all amenities required, although a few extra plug points would be of benefit. The swimming pool is a good size, along with separate jacuzzi & a good sun trap but shade is also available for non-sun worshippers. Parking is available inside & outside the hotel if you have a car & you will always find a space. We liked the breakfast & really appreciated the early evening "treats & nibbles", which went down very well with a glass of rosado before dinner, a nice "touch" !! We have to say the hotel is just the start of a wonderful Forte dei Marmi experience, the area is beautiful with easy access to many other main cities & towns, with a wonderful mountain back-drop, good beaches & bagno's, wonderful food & restaurants & best of all, very polite & friendly Italian people. WE WILL DEFINITELY BE GOING BACK, HOPEFULLY FOR MANY YEARS !!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have been staying at Il Negreso now for the past 5 or 6 years, so needless to say we love it there. It's very clean, bright and the Staff are all so friendly. It's also in a great position, just across from the beach and a lovely walk into the town centre. We would recommend anyone to stay there, it's home from home!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have wonderful views of the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Il Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Negresco

Address: Lungomare Italico 82, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Il Negresco 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Il Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Negresco Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Il Negresco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.