We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel with big hotel service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Negresco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Il Negresco to your Saves list
Hotel Il Negresco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare Italico 82, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great little hotel with big hotel service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just spent 5 nights here and staff and service was excellent as well as pool and breakfast.

Sure it's a very expensive stay at over £600 per night for 2 rooms but have to say the whole thing was brilliant.

Dont expect big rooms or fantastic bathrooms but location and the whole feel of the resort being chic Italian makes up for any short comings.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    64
    13
    6
    7
See reviews for
42
90
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

In addition to the previously mentioned positives such as location, view, breakfast, and staff, I would add:

*beautiful marble bathroom with strong water pressure and plentiful towels.
*good lighting for reading in bed.
*ample storage for clothing and suitcases.
*reasonably priced soft drinks and water in mini-bar.
*good air-conditioning and ceiling fan for comfortable sleeping.
*generous drinks (with snacks) at the bar.

All in all, Forte is delightful and the Negresco a solid choice for a happy, comfortable vacation.

Room Tip: definitely worth it to get a room with a full sea view and a big balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

In a perfect location across from the ocean, easy ten minute walk to town center and ideal for long walks along the promenade. Our room was typically European small but with a balcony large enough for table chairs and two chaise. The hotel has a certain elegance, pleasant staff, excellent breakfast, good pool area. Weak wi-fi of course but thats the norm just about everywhere we stay. We would stay here again which says it all.

Room Tip: Try to get one a room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

We visited as a family of five. The interconnecting rooms worked really well for our family. As some of the reviews said the rooms are small, but this is not unusual for hotels in this area. The size was more than made up for by the location and personable service. The hotel and rooms were very clean as was the pool area and the location to the sea was fantastic. The hotel has links with some of the beach clubs which were just a walk across the road. The beach clubs did cost extra but well worth it. It is located about 1k from the centre of Forte but this was a short bike ride, which is the easiest way to get round the area. The staff at the hotel could not of been more helpful, they arranged bike hire, recommended and booked restaurants and gave really good advice about tourist areas nd places to go. We had oblique sea views, which are what they say, but think it would be worth spending the extra to get the sunsets. We would love to visit again next year. Thanks James & Amanda

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We did quite allot of research into hotels in Forte Dei Marmi before booking the Il Negresco and we couldn’t find another with a sea view as most of the properties along the sea front are private homes. It's a 15 minute walk into town and there are few nearby bars and restaurants. Our room was on the top (fourth) floor and also had a balcony where we enjoyed our breakfast on a couple of mornings and for watching the sunset. The hotel has a nice pool with an excellent large Jacuzzi and plenty of sun beds with umbrellas. Staff on Reception were particularly helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. Breakfast was fine without being exceptional apart from the fresh fruit which was especially good. We will happily recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Sea facing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011 via mobile

Beautiful Hotel! I spent 4 unforgettable days there .. Nice staff nice director close to the sea and to the center of the city
The pool is very convenient and clean
They do their best to please their guest
Thank you for this dream ! I ll be back

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoPell, Direttore at Hotel Il Negresco, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your positive review and your fantastic comments about our staff.

The quality of service and the efforts to anticipate our Guest's need is really our first objective and your experience is our best success.

Thank you again and hope to see you soon at the Negresco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We have spent many family vacations in Il Negresco and are pleased to see it improve consistently over time.
The service is peronalised and friendly making us feel welcome.
The restaurant offers excellent meals served in a traditional style dining room .
The proximty to the beach just across the street and the view of the sea make this stay even more enjoyable , convenient and relaxing.
A real treat and Italian art of living .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoPell, Direttore at Hotel Il Negresco, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear David,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your appreciation and your positive review.

To make our guests feel truly at home and experience real hospitality is our greatest possible success.

Thank you for your kind words and we sincerely hope to have you back here next year, along with your fantastic family.

Our best wishes from all the staff and me personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Il Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Negresco

Address: Lungomare Italico 82, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Il Negresco 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Il Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Negresco Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Il Negresco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.