We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely comfortable, excellent price/value relationship” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Negresco

Save Saved
You added Hotel Il Negresco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Il Negresco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare Italico 82, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Completely comfortable, excellent price/value relationship”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

In addition to the previously mentioned positives such as location, view, breakfast, and staff, I would add:

*beautiful marble bathroom with strong water pressure and plentiful towels.
*good lighting for reading in bed.
*ample storage for clothing and suitcases.
*reasonably priced soft drinks and water in mini-bar.
*good air-conditioning and ceiling fan for comfortable sleeping.
*generous drinks (with snacks) at the bar.

All in all, Forte is delightful and the Negresco a solid choice for a happy, comfortable vacation.

Room Tip: definitely worth it to get a room with a full sea view and a big balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    53
    13
    5
    8
See reviews for
39
78
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

In a perfect location across from the ocean, easy ten minute walk to town center and ideal for long walks along the promenade. Our room was typically European small but with a balcony large enough for table chairs and two chaise. The hotel has a certain elegance, pleasant staff, excellent breakfast, good pool area. Weak wi-fi of course but thats the norm just about everywhere we stay. We would stay here again which says it all.

Room Tip: Try to get one a room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

We visited as a family of five. The interconnecting rooms worked really well for our family. As some of the reviews said the rooms are small, but this is not unusual for hotels in this area. The size was more than made up for by the location and personable service. The hotel and rooms were very clean as was the pool area and the location to the sea was fantastic. The hotel has links with some of the beach clubs which were just a walk across the road. The beach clubs did cost extra but well worth it. It is located about 1k from the centre of Forte but this was a short bike ride, which is the easiest way to get round the area. The staff at the hotel could not of been more helpful, they arranged bike hire, recommended and booked restaurants and gave really good advice about tourist areas nd places to go. We had oblique sea views, which are what they say, but think it would be worth spending the extra to get the sunsets. We would love to visit again next year. Thanks James & Amanda

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We did quite allot of research into hotels in Forte Dei Marmi before booking the Il Negresco and we couldn’t find another with a sea view as most of the properties along the sea front are private homes. It's a 15 minute walk into town and there are few nearby bars and restaurants. Our room was on the top (fourth) floor and also had a balcony where we enjoyed our breakfast on a couple of mornings and for watching the sunset. The hotel has a nice pool with an excellent large Jacuzzi and plenty of sun beds with umbrellas. Staff on Reception were particularly helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. Breakfast was fine without being exceptional apart from the fresh fruit which was especially good. We will happily recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Sea facing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011 via mobile

Beautiful Hotel! I spent 4 unforgettable days there .. Nice staff nice director close to the sea and to the center of the city
The pool is very convenient and clean
They do their best to please their guest
Thank you for this dream ! I ll be back

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoPell, Direttore at Hotel Il Negresco, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your positive review and your fantastic comments about our staff.

The quality of service and the efforts to anticipate our Guest's need is really our first objective and your experience is our best success.

Thank you again and hope to see you soon at the Negresco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We have spent many family vacations in Il Negresco and are pleased to see it improve consistently over time.
The service is peronalised and friendly making us feel welcome.
The restaurant offers excellent meals served in a traditional style dining room .
The proximty to the beach just across the street and the view of the sea make this stay even more enjoyable , convenient and relaxing.
A real treat and Italian art of living .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoPell, Direttore at Hotel Il Negresco, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear David,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your appreciation and your positive review.

To make our guests feel truly at home and experience real hospitality is our greatest possible success.

Thank you for your kind words and we sincerely hope to have you back here next year, along with your fantastic family.

Our best wishes from all the staff and me personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011 via mobile

We were expecting beautiful views of sea, but our room overlooked a carpark and construction site instead. The room was also smaller than we expected but was spotlessly clean.

The hotel was about a kilometre away from the centre of town. Be warned - taxis are few and far between in Forte dei Marmi and very expensive. It cost 20 euro for trip from station to the hotel. I would advise pre-booking before your arrival. Bikes can be hired for 7 euro a day from the hotel. We weren't warned that access to the beach was not included and that all the beaches in area are private costing between 60-150 euro a day to access.

If you are happy to pay extortionate prices to lie on beach or want to shop in designer stores then this hotel is perfect. Unfortunately we were bored after a couple of days. We ended up paying a fortune in taxi fares to the station to day trip elsewhere.

Breakfast was excellent and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoPell, Direttore at Hotel Il Negresco, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Dear Client,

after carefully reading your comments in regards to Forte dei Marmi and our Hotel, I am sorry to learn that your stay was not up to your expectations. Having said this I feel it is necessary to clarify some of the negative aspects that you found, which are regretfully about the destination and not the quality of our structure.
Our hotel offers different room categories: Classic mountain view, Classic and Superior sea view, understandably with different rates. The room you was allocated was a Mountain View room at the back of the hotel, exactly the type of room you choose and booked, which makes me slightly disappointed to read that you expected a sea view room despite booking a different category.

However, it was a pleasure to offer you a complementary bottle of Prosecco and flowers as a small gift from us seeing as your were on your honeymoon.
The hotel is located about 1 kilometre from the centre of town, roughly a 10 minute walk, a distance which fortunately allows us to escape the inevitable noise which every evening in a busy seaside town is created.

Generally speaking it is obviously necessary to know that Forte dei Marmi is an exclusive destination, and consequently with higher than average prices, be it in a designer clothes store or high quality hand made goods store. It is true that to access the beaches you must pay, but it must be taken into consideration that it is related to a ‘daily rental’ of the parasols and sun loungers or family tents, and that the beaches are also kept up to a very high standard. However prices do vary depending on the category of beach establishment chosen, and a public beach is available within Forte dei Marmi.

Finally I would like to thank you on behalf of the staff for your appreciation of the quality of the breakfast and the availability of the staff, which in fact we put a lot energy and attention into providing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Il Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Negresco

Also Known As:
Il Negresco Hotel
Address: Lungomare Italico 82, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#7 Family Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Il Negresco 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Il Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Il Negresco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.