We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exclusive and intimate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Principe Forte dei Marmi

Save Saved
You added Principe Forte dei Marmi to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Principe Forte dei Marmi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Amm E Morin 67, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Gstaad, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Exclusive and intimate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is it's small size. It is the intimate scale that helps make the overall high level of luxury at this property not seem overbearing.

The highlights: Friendly staff who are quick to remember your name à la Four Seasons, exquisite and well-sized rooms, a very pragmatic breakfast concept that allows you adapt according to mood without the wastefulness of most buffet setups, unparalleled people-watching at the phenomenal sky bar, loads of little decks and corners with sofas to hide yourself away with a book or do a little internet surfing on the very good free wifi, and perfectly located to explore the resort on foot or on the supplied bicycles (didn't touch the car all weekend!).

Also, don't miss the nearby Marechario beach club, which has the same high standards of guest services as the hotel and you can charge everything to the room. While away the afternoon in one of their cabanas, and do try their salt crusted sea bass washed down by a refreshing yet still engaging Livio Felluga Sauvignon from Friuli.

Back in the hotel, just a few small gripes: the unnecessarily-complicated mood lighting settings, an in-room climate control with a mind of its own, trendy but impractical bathroom layout (too much glass not enough privacy), and inattentive spa service (towels left lying around after guests had left, empty drinks service, forgot to turn on the steam room, and the like).

Overall a top recommendation, indeed after this my second stay, I would have to declare it my current favorite hotel on the whole French/ Italian riviera.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    13
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
31
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Amazing place with great service and facilities not cheap but well worth it. Some three years old, it has all the modern technology required, indoor spa, outdoor pool and bar, full free wifi
Would highly recommend and come

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

“A beautiful classic style resort right on the Tuscan coast. Not only did we absolutely love staying here (so close to the beach, we really took advantage of that) but its location is wonderful for day trips. We spent one day in Pisa and another in Florence, both close enough to spend a couple hours or even the entire day. Coming back to this hotel after a long day is just perfect- we would enjoy some wine and local Italian inspired dishes (paired deliciously by the sommelier) and sit out and enjoy the warm evenings. The kids loved it and met other kids their ages with whom they are keeping in touch. ”

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel is very attractive, and the view of the water & mountains is amazing. The wide sandy beach seems incredible, but every inch is covered with "clubs," and the water is not the crisp turquoise Mediterranean water that I remember. The pool on the roof of the hotel has a spectacular view, and it is nice to spend time up there, but it is a small area & hard to find a free chair. Great people watching, mostly Russian and almost no Americans. Very nice shops across the street, and Forte dei Marmi is more upscale, about 6 miles away. Easy to bike there or drive. There are many other places to visit nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view! Better yet a balcony. It's worth paying more for rooms on the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

In a country where there is only a very limited tradition of outstanding hotels, the Prinicipe turns up as a surprising benchmark. Sure, there is the notorious Pelicano further down the coast. There you will find more class, a more upscale clientèle, and a real tradition of luxury. Here however, despite the eclectic mix of Forte dei Marmi clientèle, the Principe serves up a pleasing mix of very modern decor, truly excellent service, and real comfort. The hotel only opened a couple of years ago. Whilst not exactly "design" in the highest sense of the term, it is slick, clean and pleasing, if not always functional. The bar on the roof is a stunner, overlooking the whole coast. Complimenti to the management, who are running a tight ship - something which is hard to do here. Be careful of prices in the summer - they are too high.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I was a bit skeptical when I saw the pictures from the website, they looked too showy. I had no idea where Forte dei Marmi was, never heard of it until I had to follow my husband there for work. We only stayed one night, just enough to finish up with work and then head back to Milan.
We arrived by train from Milan after a grueling train ride and we were pleasantly surprised when we saw the hotel. The rooms are nicely appointed with good sized bathrooms. The view from the roof terrace is breathtaking! We took the hotel bicycles and explored the area and we couldn't believe how picturesque it is! The wide beach seemed to stretch on for miles, with the marble mountains in the backdrop - what could be a more perfect picture?
Quaint looking shops selling Prada, Gucci, Tods, etc. In a small town? Little did we know that this is actually the playground of rich Russians who descend in droves during summer.
I would have given an excellent rating if not for the lunch we had at the hotel. It was terrible and way overpriced. Oh and the massage at the spa was also no big deal.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We had a an upgraded room and it was still on the small side. Very modern and clean with a hip vibe. Hotel could not have been located better.

The staff was very nice but could have been a little more helpful when asked for recommendations.

Pool was beautiful and the beach was just as nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Principe Forte dei Marmi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Principe Forte dei Marmi

Address: Viale Amm E Morin 67, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Principe Forte dei Marmi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The serenity and elegance of the building continues on the floors above where 28 individually designed bedrooms with glass fronted bathrooms can be found. Each one gives a sense of freedom and sophistication. The materials used in the common areas and bedrooms are limited to wood, natural stone, neutral textiles, leather and a great deal of glass to create transparency, elegant simplicity and ease. Bedroom facilities: complimentary Wi-Fi and mini-bar. A wine cellar / fridge has also been placed in each room for guests who wish to enjoy champagne or pre-dinner drinks in the comfort of their own room. The hotel is set in the ideal location for exploring the Tuscan Riveria and is also a stone’s throw away from the major landmarks of the region. Just 45 minutes away guests can visit the stunning coastline at Cinque Terre and Portofino which are ideal for day trips and for guests who wish to experience these other popular beachside spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Principe Forte dei Marmi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Forte Dei Marmi Hotel Forte Dei Marmi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Principe Forte dei Marmi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;