We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive hotel in a touristy seaside resort.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Principe Forte dei Marmi

Save Saved
You added Principe Forte dei Marmi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Principe Forte dei Marmi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Amm E Morin 67, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Darien
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Attractive hotel in a touristy seaside resort.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel is very attractive, and the view of the water & mountains is amazing. The wide sandy beach seems incredible, but every inch is covered with "clubs," and the water is not the crisp turquoise Mediterranean water that I remember. The pool on the roof of the hotel has a spectacular view, and it is nice to spend time up there, but it is a small area & hard to find a free chair. Great people watching, mostly Russian and almost no Americans. Very nice shops across the street, and Forte dei Marmi is more upscale, about 6 miles away. Easy to bike there or drive. There are many other places to visit nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view! Better yet a balcony. It's worth paying more for rooms on the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    13
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
31
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

In a country where there is only a very limited tradition of outstanding hotels, the Prinicipe turns up as a surprising benchmark. Sure, there is the notorious Pelicano further down the coast. There you will find more class, a more upscale clientèle, and a real tradition of luxury. Here however, despite the eclectic mix of Forte dei Marmi clientèle, the Principe serves up a pleasing mix of very modern decor, truly excellent service, and real comfort. The hotel only opened a couple of years ago. Whilst not exactly "design" in the highest sense of the term, it is slick, clean and pleasing, if not always functional. The bar on the roof is a stunner, overlooking the whole coast. Complimenti to the management, who are running a tight ship - something which is hard to do here. Be careful of prices in the summer - they are too high.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I was a bit skeptical when I saw the pictures from the website, they looked too showy. I had no idea where Forte dei Marmi was, never heard of it until I had to follow my husband there for work. We only stayed one night, just enough to finish up with work and then head back to Milan.
We arrived by train from Milan after a grueling train ride and we were pleasantly surprised when we saw the hotel. The rooms are nicely appointed with good sized bathrooms. The view from the roof terrace is breathtaking! We took the hotel bicycles and explored the area and we couldn't believe how picturesque it is! The wide beach seemed to stretch on for miles, with the marble mountains in the backdrop - what could be a more perfect picture?
Quaint looking shops selling Prada, Gucci, Tods, etc. In a small town? Little did we know that this is actually the playground of rich Russians who descend in droves during summer.
I would have given an excellent rating if not for the lunch we had at the hotel. It was terrible and way overpriced. Oh and the massage at the spa was also no big deal.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We had a an upgraded room and it was still on the small side. Very modern and clean with a hip vibe. Hotel could not have been located better.

The staff was very nice but could have been a little more helpful when asked for recommendations.

Pool was beautiful and the beach was just as nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011 via mobile

This hotel has it all! It is cool, modern, clean and the people are so accommodating. The entire staff is friendly and warm! The rooms are nice, not huge, but totally adequate. This hotel is exactly what forte del marmi needed. All the other hotels are charming and older..this is where to be!! The bicycles are free the staff will drive you at night..if you don't feel like walking..Totally ignore the previous post from the disgruntled travel agent..I almost changed my reservation after reading that..and i would have missed one of the greatest stays in my life! ..the rooftop bar is so much fun..is any place perfect ? This is not cheap, but it is great value ..IF this is your price point..if you are not spending these prices..I would stay at the Ritz forte del Marmi.. A four star clean hotel, with a great location..I looked at all the competing hotels in this price range while i was in forte...this was by far the BEST! And the beach was included in my stay. This is huge in FDM as it's 150 euros per day. If you like cool, clean, modern and a real 5star hotel..you will not be disappointed...and it's so much prettier than the web page

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I came to this hotel for 3 nights in August 2011, the hotel is in a prime location of Forte Dei Marmi, close to the centre but far enough away to give a feeling of privacy. The rooms are well appointed and come with your own wine frindge, but what makes this hotel unique is the amazing rooftop bar/restaurant and the pool. There are no other hotel or bars in the area that offer the same level of service and view within the surroundings of a modern design oriented hotel.
The accomodation is not cheap but you do pay for the exclusive location and unique style of the hotel, something that is not available anywhere else in the area, I come to Versilia every year and this is the 1st truly design hotel in this region, if classic italian hospitality is what you are looking for this is not the place for you, but if you want sleek furnishing and a Miami style pool experience the Principe is your place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

As the owner of a travel agency I am fortunate to have have stayed at most of the top hotels in the world and was looking forward to this relatively new arrival in a favourite resort. Mind you, the price for their cheapest room even after my travel agent discount was an eye watering Euro 940 (£827, $1,344) per night EXCLUDING breakfast. On arrival we were informed that unless we wished to pay for hotel valet parking we would have to park in the street, BUT due to some nonsense about "legal responsibility" they would not do this for us.
The room turned out to be small, not a single work of art on the walls and absolutely no shelves or drawers to put any clothes in. The architect thought it more suitable to use the space for a "private wine fridge". The view was that of an ugly building next door. We complained but the hotel staff, very ungraciously, said there were no other rooms available. The bathroom was designed for disabled people and much as I applaud the provision of such facilities they do make the space available considerably less than otherwise and I was not warned that the room would thus have much different bathroom facilities than those advertised. We spent one night during which the water stopped working and the shower we had in the morning was more like a light drizzle. We complained again but this time they did not even bother to get back to us. We decided we had had enough and spoke to front office manager who simply repeated that they had no other rooms available. We responded that we would then have to check out and she said nothing. Upon packing up all our bags I came to settle for the one nights stay and was presented with a bill for the four nights booked. No amount of arguing with her or indeed the hotel manager swayed them. In the end all they were prepared to do was provide a "voucher" for three free nights at some time in the future "subject to availability".
So, if you are looking for a grossly over-priced, uncomfortable and rudely staffed hotel be sure to pay this place a visit. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Principe Forte dei Marmi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Principe Forte dei Marmi

Address: Viale Amm E Morin 67, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Principe Forte dei Marmi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The serenity and elegance of the building continues on the floors above where 28 individually designed bedrooms with glass fronted bathrooms can be found. Each one gives a sense of freedom and sophistication. The materials used in the common areas and bedrooms are limited to wood, natural stone, neutral textiles, leather and a great deal of glass to create transparency, elegant simplicity and ease. Bedroom facilities: complimentary Wi-Fi and mini-bar. A wine cellar / fridge has also been placed in each room for guests who wish to enjoy champagne or pre-dinner drinks in the comfort of their own room. The hotel is set in the ideal location for exploring the Tuscan Riveria and is also a stone’s throw away from the major landmarks of the region. Just 45 minutes away guests can visit the stunning coastline at Cinque Terre and Portofino which are ideal for day trips and for guests who wish to experience these other popular beachside spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Principe Forte dei Marmi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Forte Dei Marmi Hotel Forte Dei Marmi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Principe Forte dei Marmi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.