We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leger holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fiuggi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Hotel
Save
You added Holiday Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via S Emiliano 44, 03015 Fiuggi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Fiuggi
Gilwern, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Leger holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed here as part of the Rome/Capri/Pompeii tour with Leger. Was a little apprehensive but there was no need to be. The family who run the hotel were so friendly and charming and nothing was too much trouble. We had a lovely room on the top floor with a glorious view of the countryside. The only down side was that there was no air conditioning and with temperatures over 40 degrees, it did get hot in the room at night. A fan was provided which was a great help and we found that we could raise the shutters and open the windows wide and so the room was very airy. There is a small lift if you need it but after sitting in the coach all day, running up and down the stairs was good exercise! The food in the restaurant and the service were excellent. We never had the same thing offered twice in the week we were there and there was plenty of choice and if you did not want what was on offer, they would always cook an omelette or something else. The hotel was spotlessly clean and I can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the carpark are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    10
    9
    5
See reviews for
20
21
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I may be a liitle 'mean' in rating this hotel as average, but in a region that temperatures reach the mid 40's and even at night are in the mid twenties, not to have air-conditioning, is criminal!!
The lack of air-con or a fridge to keep drinks cool, can make sleeping difficult.
The hotel itself is very clean throughout and has comfortable relaxation area's.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
We had booked a twin room, but found the room we were given had three single beds in it. This resulted in there not being a lot of space. ( This was not too important and did not detract from the comfort. The tour only left us with enough time to eat and sleep there )
The bed was very firm, great for me as I hate soft mattresses.
The 'en suite' was adequate and clean. The toilet was a bit cramped due to there being a bidet crammed in next to it. Water pressure in the shower was lower than we are used to, but adequate.
Breakfast was the usual 'continental' type; Fruit juice, a selection of bread and croisants, a selection of processed meats and two or three different cheeses. Yoghurt, Boiled eggs, honey and fruit juice. Tea and Coffee and fresh fruit. Would have preferred a bacon butty, but you can't have everything.
Evening meals consisted of starter, main course and sweet course. Ice cream was served as the sweet on a couple of nights, but the other dishes were not repeated during the 6 nights. The food was fairly simple but well cooked and very tasty. The courses where served very quickly, virtualy no waiting in between.
Both of us, me and Av, enjoyed our stay in this hotel, if we where to visit again via a tour, with a coach to take us places we would definately stay there again.
If we where return on a self drive holiday, I think we would stay nearer to Rome.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balcony's. So if you want a room with a balcony, request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I arrived at this hotel after a very long coach journey with Leger and was pleasantly and genuinely surprised at the cleanliness of the hotel land the welcome that we had. The hotel is a family run business and by Italia and her family. The lounge and bar area were very clean and spotlessly clean. The are was spacious and airy with coloured mirrors on one wall. The bedrooms were spotlessly clean and the views from the window were wonderful. Breakfast was ham, cheese with bread rolls of varius kinds, coffee and orange juice and of a continental style. The hotel was a short walk from the town and in the twon centre are lots of good resturants and ice cream parlours. The Italians know how to make good ice cream. Italia at the hotel offered evening meal if you wanted it and it was choice of soup or pasta for first course, This could be spagetti or pasta tubes with cheese and bacon, the second course meat with vegatables and desert ice cream or some other pudding. Italia and her family served drinks on request and you could sit in the lounge or outside in the covered area. I even remember saying that I was going to go to the sports centre in the town of Fiuggi and there was information about getting there - I would recommend a stay there and I would certainly go again and stay there

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Myself and my husband stayed in this hotel last year, We thought the postion of the hotel was fantastic and quiet at the end of a small road. The view from our bedroom was beautiful. After busy days in Rome etc ,it was a lovely quiet hotel to return to. The small town of Fiuggi was a five minute walk away. Nice small shops and many places to eat with friendly staff. Most menus had a translation to english so no problem. We ate out ever night as we wanted to mix with locals, but there was a nice place to sit and mix with our coach group on our return. The rooms are basic but adequate. Bed linen perfectly clean. Again breakfast adequate, you are in Italy so don't expect a cooked breakfast! Plenty of cheese, cooked meats,boiled eggs,cereals, fruit etc.We loved this holiday, our two leger drivers were great. All our trips were well worth it. Yes its a long way but surely you know that when you book!! We hope to do the same trip again one day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Despite initial worries about the hotel set up (ie 2 single beds, bathroom door problem), we had a lovely stay here and the staff were both friendly and accommodating. We too travelled with Leger. The hotel itself is simple, but each day we awoke to the most amazing view... a wonderful hillside, clad in bright green trees and bushes. It must have on of the best views in Fiuggi, a sweet and quaint town.
The breakfast was simple but fine, and we ate out nearly every evening, so I am unable to comment on the other food; certainly the bar gave generous slugs of spirits at a reasonable price.
Our room was spic and span when we returned each day, and our mock-up double bed kept as true as we made it, with clean linen. Overall it was a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: If you have the choice, ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Just got back from a Leger Holiday. First thing to remember is that this coach holiday covers over 3,000 miles. We were unable to fly for health reasons so this holiday seemed like the best way to see Italy. This was our first leger holiday. Our two drivers were excellent and so was the Silver Service on the coach - you are never short of drinks, snacks and entertainment. However we were disappointed with the leg room, on the coach and as this holiday consists of 4 days travelling (overnight through Europe) anyone over 6' tall will find the long hours of driving uncomfortable. having read reports of Hotel Holiday we werent expecting too much and it certainly lived up to previous reports. It is up in the hills about 2 hours from Rome - there was very little to do in the evening and we struggled to find any decent restaurants in the town. The evening meal in the restaurant is 18 euros each with very little if any choice - the portions are poor and dessert was ALWAYS a bowl of ice cream. There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room (common in Italy) Breakfast was self-service and the dining room would not open until an hour before the daily coach departure. We had a large leger group and as the group would crowd around the one toaster for 40 people the queues were as long as the Vatican. Group members took to taking away a selection of croissants and cakes to eat on the coach. The hotel said this had to stop or we would all be charged 20 euros each. The cakes and croissants didnt appear again that week!!!
Leger organises excellent excursions but we discovered that many were "optional" that is a hefty euro charge to pay on the journey down to Italy. To be fair Leger send out an excursion form a week before you depart so we knew we had to find an extra 284 euros. You do not have to do the "optional guide tours" but unless you have a magic wand the queues into the Colesseum and Vatican are extremely long. with the guide you are fast-tracked into these areas. The Colesseum and walking tour of Rome was cut short because it took 3 hours to get into Rome (traffic) but you do get another day later in the week. The Vatican was an absolute circus. Here we were in one of the holiest places on the planet and we shared our Sistene Chapel experience with over 500 people sandwiched in like sardines. St Peter's Basilica was more spacious but still very very busy.
The Pompeii tour again was rushed but the excellent guide certainly made up for it. Leger have a habit of "organising" a lunch costing 12-14 euros which is difficult to back out of. These lunches take up about 90 mins.
We also had a lot of early starts. The Sorrento day we had to be up for 5.30 breakfast leaving at 6.15 you could either stay in Sorrento all day or take ferry to Capri. most did this and although it was the most expensive optional tour - the Capri experience was not one to be missed. The most disappointing excursion is Frascati and Pope's Palace on the last day. Nothing to do in Frascati - no wine tasting as we expected. One to stay behind in Fiuggi and rest up before the mammoth drive home.
To sum up Leger offer excellent value for money , very structured but an ideal way to see Europe if you are not a confident traveller. Overnight travel is not for the faint-hearted - our large group did fantastically well but there can be problems - ladies always queueing at the toilets!!!!
On to the last point........Toilets...... very few public toilets in Cities. Many not improved since Roman Times - the ones at Sorrento ferry were the worst any of us had seen in our lifetime.
We would do it again but differently.

Room Tip: The rooms are not too bad - clean and spacious. The problems are with the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

With Leger, as other reviewers. They covered all the points pretty accurately. Owner works very hard and tries to give good service, but without much other help, it would seem. Breakfast was rather dismal but there is a toaster now! And fresh fruit appeared after our first day. My room not too clean and not too sure about the bedlinen, but too tired to complain that first night. Nice place but pretty far from Rome, Pompei and coast. Trips proved pretty gruelling with long journeys and early starts but good opportunity to see lots of places in a short time at low cost.
Not sure I'd bother to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Hotel

Address: Via S Emiliano 44, 03015 Fiuggi, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Frosinone > Fiuggi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Fiuggi
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.