We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Giorgio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Giorgio to your Saves list
Hotel San Giorgio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Prenestina, 31, 03014 Fiuggi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Fiuggi
Irby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Excellent hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here on a Classic Cities tour. It was an excellent two nights. Room was large and comfortable and seemed to have recently been modernised with new furniture and soft furnishings.Beautifully done. We had to leave early one morning and asked for breakfast at 6:30. Certainly they said but it will only be a simple meal. It was more than a simple meal! The choice was a huge selection of bread, cakes, meat, cheese, fruit, cereal, drinks, bacon and eggs; a feast rather than a simple meal and all served before the sun rose by willing staff. There were plenty of comfortable settees and chairs to relax in with a pre-dinner drink. The menu was traditional Italian dishes: all delicious with generous helpings. The staff were helpful and attentive; smartly dressed; polite, with everyone, including the maids, wishing us " Bon journo". The chianti recommended by the waiter was reasonably priced and excellent flavour. A perfect end to our tour.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    187
    70
    30
    9
See reviews for
27
245
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here as part of a Saga trip. Stayed 4 nights and cant say how impressed we were with the hotel, the surroundings and the staff.

It is a great hotel, nothing was too much for the staff. Clean, well ordered and everything to hand.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a nice stay. Situated at the end of the main street in its own gardens, Plenty of bars and restaurants to walk to. Balconies could do

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed 3 nights as part of Travelsphere Top to Toe Tour of Italy. Although clean, it is incredibly dated. The corridors are dark and dingy and totally uninspiring. The spa is 15 euros a day to use (apparently this was a special deal) but as there were 3 of us this would have been 45 euros a day. The Manager of the hotel who seemed to appear everywhere was unhelpful and even quite rude to our Tour Manager. There is absolutely nothing to do in Fiuggi and we ended up having a free day in the town which was a waste of time. It also rained all day on our free day. Couldn't wait to leave and move on and would never return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights here as part of a Travelsphere Group touring Italy. The hotel was comfortable, but incredibly dated. The room we had was of a good size, but the parkay flooring was coming up in places. They had provided a rug on each side of the bed, but this was more of a hazard than a help. Although it was the end of May, 2013 there were issues getting the air conditioning working, as we found in a lot of the hotels on our travels. Apparently air conditioning isn't usually put on until June! Like another reviewer, it was vey difficult to get a wi-fi connection, so if this is important beware.

The hotel is an excellent place to stay from where you can get a bus into Rome. The views are spectacular and friends who used the spa were very impressed by it. The food was fantastic and of an excellent quality, and aprt from the first course, was waiter served. Just be careful - each night there were 5 courses - so watch your waistline!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Thanks to all the staff of the Hotel San Giorgio in Fiuggi who made my husband and I feel so comfortable and welcome. All staff maintained a perfect balance between professional and friendly. A special thanks to the Hotel Manager (sorry forgotten his name) who made a reservation for us and even dropped us to the restaurant when he had finished his shift. He also gave us details for a taxi and who to contact if we had any problems. We are very grateful to him as we had a wonderful meal and holiday experience at La Taverna del Castello.

Yes the Hotel is somewhat dated but for us this added to the charm of our Italian holiday and we were more than comfortable. The spa is very modern and fab.
Thanks again to all the staff for your professional and friendly attention.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Prior to making my reservation I called them to make sure that they have a working wi-fi. I travel for work 80% of the time and unfortunately in Italy my experience is that Hotels claim that there is wi-fi only to lie to you. Well... it happened again! I arrive at 18:00 ready to catch up on work and ZERO wi-fi in the room... in the lobby... anywhere!

But this would not be enough to give a bad rating. The terrible rating is simple for me. I am one of those old fashion travelers who goes to a hotel to catch a good night sleep. To me the bed is everything! and well... the mattresses at the Hotel San Giorgio are straight out of the 60's... soft as a hammock.. I desperately tried to change room but ALL the rooms were the same (tried 3 other rooms).

So... no wi-fi... hammock bed... well.. at least the TV right? sure... the Hotel San Giorgio's idea of a TV is a 14" computer monitor nestled atop a sky box. My laptop screen is bigger!

The only saving grace is the Spa!.. but that is not enough to fix your back after a night on the San Giorgio's beds!

The decor of the room was pre-1965 and the room and bathroom was dusty with that sort of old smell you would expect at your grandmother's house.

Lastly... the toilet did not work! ... the water would not fill the top... so the flushing had to be done by filling the waste basket.

If I could give a zero rating I would.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Lovely hotel with helpful staff. Allowed free use of a primter for tickets I purchased on-line for the Vatican. A 5 course meal was served every night with a great choice
Comfortable clean rooms. A great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Giorgio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giorgio

Address: Via Prenestina, 31, 03014 Fiuggi, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Frosinone > Fiuggi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Fiuggi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Giorgio 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Giorgio is located in a central position of Fiuggi, near the two health Spas, set back from the main street with its pretty garden terrace. A four star hotel equipped with every comfort to offer a pleasant and personalized holiday for all its guests; comfortable rooms, excellent cuisine, meeting and congress halls, meticulous service to satisfy the needs of every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel San Giorgio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Giorgio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.