We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little local restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Pomella

Ristorante Pomella
Via Ulivi, 3, Finale Ligure, Italy
+39 0196898549
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 133 restaurants in Finale Ligure
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A great little local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Pomella is located off the main promenade, a few streets back in Finale Ligure. It is a cozy and nicely decorated family run restaurant. We ordered a foccacia (pizza) with tomatoes, proscuitto and mozzarella which was delicious. For our main, we shared the galetta (Whole Flat grilled chicken) with homemade fries and a side salad. The chicken is succulent and tasty and for 11 euros is awesome value. We had a half caraffe of chianti and tiramisu for dessert. Our total bill was 43 euros. The food is fresh, and simple. They dont over complicate the dishes and just serve tasty, Italian food. You will need to book, we turned up without a reservation the first night and couldn't get a table. A booking at 7.30 the following evening ensured we would get a first seating.
This place is a pleasant and refreshing change from the cafes on the beach that all serve the same dishes of the same average quality.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    127
    99
    29
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful restaurant in Finale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great food and great atmosphere in the artistic looking place. Amazing focacce especially the gorgonzola and pear and the girdled octopus was simply beautiful!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Order the focaccia, it is divine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

When it says focaccia, think Pizza. The food was yummy but by far the best thing was the focaccia/pizza which we had for starters. Skip the mains, just order loads of these round baked delicious circles of goodness. So tasty. The service was very very friendly and the place was packed with a great vibe and atmosphere. I would recommend booking just to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Focaccia Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have been there in August 2012. Thanks to Tripadvisor we found this lovely place. Without a reservation its really difficult to get a table. Please order the focaccia with rucola and tomatoes, just wonderful to eat. They have daily fresh dishes. Especially the seafood is very good.The staff is very friendly!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best Chicken Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

This is one of the loveliest places I have been. A very welcoming restaurant, nice environment and very friendly staff. I ordered the grilled chicken and I got a whole chicken grilled in the best way accompanied with tons of french fries. The prices are amazingly low. I had the full chicken for only 11 Euros.
This is definitely my suggestion for anyone visiting not only the city, also the area.
Make sure to reserve a table before going there. It is very crowded.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Pomella also viewed

Finale Ligure, Italian Riviera
Finale Ligure, Italian Riviera
 
Finale Ligure, Italian Riviera
Finale Ligure, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Ristorante Pomella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Pomella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.