We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City centre gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Annunziata

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Annunziata to your Saves list
Hotel Annunziata
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Repubblica 5, 44100 Ferrara, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Ferrara
BATH UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“City centre gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We chose this hotel based on other Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. The location is ideal for those wanting a city centre location but with access to bus, rail and bicycle use. You can chose private parking at 20 Euros per day or public parking at 3 Euros per day. You can load and unload luggage outside the hotel, you have a generous 15 minutes to do this, as it is a permit area for vehicles wishing to use the square outside the hotel. The hotel is immedietly adjacent to the castle with a large cobbled area outside. The hotel will also provide bicycles to tour around this bicycle friendly city.
The hotel staff are extremely helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about their city. It was my wife's '0th birthday on the day we arrived and the hotel kindly gave her a birthday cake in celebration. The room we had was of very generous proportions (102) and was decorated in a very modern way. There was plenty of storage space (important to us as we were travelling in Italy for 3 weeks).
Breakfast was one of the best we encountered in Italy this time around.
The bus to Ferrara Station was a short walk away (all of one minute!) and convenient for trains to Bologna and Pesaro.
Driving tip - coming to the hotel from the direction of the station look for the service road on your right, running parallel to the main road. When you see the castle, coming up on your right hand side, move into the service road and just before you get to the castle turn right onto the cobbled area, the hotel will then be directly ahead of you.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZenoGovoni, Responsabile reception at Hotel Annunziata, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Mr Graham, it is great that you compared our Hotel to a Gem: it means that your experience with us was really pleased and we thank you so much for your opinion. See in next time in Ferrara Massimiliano Borghi (front office manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    212
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
160
619
31
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We loved Hotel Annunziata. We had landed in Italy from the ferry port at Ancona and headed towards Venice without any accommodation booked. We took a chance after visiting San Marino and phoned Hotel Annunziata on the off-chance that they would have accommodation. We were so fortunate that we not only were able to get a room but also it was the final night of the World Buskers Festival in Ferrara.
Apart from a small inconvenience with parking as the streets were blocked off, we were delighted to arrive and have accommodation right in the hub of things, with a great room on the first floor (and very little noise from the outside performances - mind you I did open the window so I could hear them).
My husband who had an injured leg was able to use the freely provided bicycle to tour around the streets with me until we could tour no more. The bed was very comfortable, the amenities great and then we were treated to a beautiful breakfast the next morning.
The delight of varying cheeses, meats, fruits, juices was just beautiful. (There was even a book to look at explaining about the varying cheeses). The breakfast was far more appetizing than the usual bacon, eggs, and fried tomatoes. The lady from the kitchen area was very helpful as well, making sure we had sufficient coffee and conversing with us.
Although it was only a brief stopover, we were very impressed with this first class accommodation for a great price and I made my husband promise that we will return one day (hopefully not too far away).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZenoGovoni, Responsabile reception at Hotel Annunziata, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Wow Mrs Jenny, you review seems more like a tales where you reported you experience at Annunziata hotel and we thank you so much . Your feelings can be appreciated reading all nice words you deserved to the hotel. Hope to see you again. Massimiliano Borghi (Front Office Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

An excellent choice in an ideal location. Friendly, helpful, first rate but not grand. We stayed on the top floor with a few beams in the rooms which added to the charm. The scaffolding from the building next door slightly obstructs the views of the plaza so hopefully that work will be completed soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Annunziata is an amazing place. It combines the style of a Design Hotel + hospitality of a family run business.

I am traveling regularly on business to Ferrara and most of the time I stay there. It is modern and stylish. What I like, is the attitude of the staff. They are always there to give a hand but are never persistent. E.g. After some while Federica, who is responsible for the breakfast, recognizes me and brings my favorite coffee. This and others makes you feel welcome

This time I was lucky and got the room with the little terrace facing the square. The room can be however a bit noisy as it is located behind the stairs. But I enjoyed sitting in the evening of the terrace.

Price: it is above the Ferrara average of Hotels but it is worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

In a nutshell: Great location, you can go anywhere on foot from the hotel. From the outside, the building looks rather ugly, from the inside we liked it a lot. We had a nice de luxe room towards the river, beautiful view. The breakfast room is beautiful, too, views towards the river there as well, nice furniture, dark wood, somehow it gives you the feeling of being somewhere else.
The downsides: breakfast is rather poor, very limited choice, especially for a Hilton. Staff in general is friendly and tries to help, but not very efficient. I suspect they rely too much on trainees. Somehow, everything seems to be rather disorganised, no real communication between staff members. On two days, out of three nights, we had to call reception late afternoon to have our room made - and got excuses why it hadn't been done earlier - like we had had the 'Don't disturb' sign on the door, which was definitely not true.
The gym looked quite complete, but I did not have time to try it out. Wifi is only free of charge in the lobby area - if you are not a Golden or Diamond member - so everybody is hanging around there to check things on the internet.
Inspite of all of that, we liked the hotel and would probably go back if we return to Bath - and if it were a less expensive hotel, I would definitely give it a higher mark - but given the rates this hotel charges I think they could and should do better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

located in the main square of the city, centre
very quiet corner
modern, well kept
large bed
the room is large enough
it has a quite small small bathroom, but sufficient (shower)
it is clean
it has very interesting breakfast, varied and tasty
I would certainly come back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We recently spent one night in Ferrara and were happy with our choice of hotel. We felt very welcome and our room, although small, was modern and clean. The only negative comment for me was I would have liked a softer pillow, but only a small thing really. My husband enjoyed an early bicycle ride around Ferrara on a bike offered by the hotel. The breakfast was great. I would definitely recommend Hotel Annunziata and would stay again if we ever return to Ferrara.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZenoGovoni, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Annunziata, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We thank you very much for your positive and genuine comments, sorry for the pillow that does not meet you expectations, but this is point on which we’ll try do improve for the next time you come to us.
Giovanni Zucchi, receptionist & writer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Annunziata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Annunziata

Address: Piazza Repubblica 5, 44100 Ferrara, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ferrara > Ferrara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ferrara
#1 Family Hotel in Ferrara
#1 Business Hotel in Ferrara
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ferrara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Annunziata 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On March 25th 1990 the hotel Annunziata in Ferrara opened its doors to offer a fresh and up-to-date form of hospitality.For our 21st birthday, we decided to give ourselves a little gift: the totally renovated and refurbished hotel with 21 newst first, superior and suite rooms. In this unique and exclusive place, smack bang in the centre of Ferrara amidst dancing fountains, you will find the Annunziata Hotel. Since 1990 we have been pampering our guests in all sorts of little ways to make every moment they spend with us an experience to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Annunziata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annunziata Hotel Ferrara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Annunziata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.