We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aquila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aquila to your Saves list
Hotel Aquila
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Pittori fratelli Ghedina, 1, 63670251 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel as a base for exploring the region. It is centrally located, very clean, comfortable and not too expensive. The highlight was the amazingly friendly staff, they could not do enough for us. A big thanks to Massimo and Francesco you made our stay......
We will be back next summer :-)

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LakeDistrictHotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have just returned from a stay at the Hotel Aquila. The hotel is in a great location just a few minutes walk away from the towns main bars and restaurants. The ski buses to the main slopes leave from just outside the hotel. There is a ski hire shop directly next to the hotel and if you tell them you are staying at Aquila you get a 10% discount. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. They were warm and there was always plenty of hot water. The maids did a wonderful job of cleaning the rooms every day. My main complaint with the hotel is that there is no sauna/ jacuzzi/ steam room - there is a pool but it is full of children so it is not the "relaxing spa" you read about on the website, The breakfasts were ok - nothing special but quite good for Italy. The hotel bar is lovely and a really nice place to have a drink and some snacks after a day on the slopes. The main thing that I liked about this hotel is that the staff are very friendly and helpful - nothing is ever too much effort for them and they even recommended a lovely local restaurant for us to visit! Would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 201 which had a big balcony with good views to the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdvisorJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We've spent a week in Aquila Hotel in Cortina at the beginning of February 2014. First of all we were very impressed by the kindeness of the staff: we had some special requirements related to our car and support for travel arrangements and they were really supportive!

On the other hand, the hotel is very centrally located, on the main street of Cortina d'Ampezzo (pedestrian) but accesible by car and having a big parking. Distances from the hotel to restaurants and the shopping area are very short.

Rooms are big (we had a junior suite), suitable furnished, clean and warm. Bathrooms are very nice. Breakfast buffet - diversified and good quality. The pool is big enough and properly heated. Free wi-fi for all our devices.

It was a very good choice for a skiing holiday!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in agood position. It si central But it is well accessible also by car. We took advantage of a convenient group rate for a summer week so we apreciated the very good quality of facilities (food, spacious room etc) for the price. The old fashioned style might not fit the taste of most international visitors but it is coherent the history of Cortina.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank oikos68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I had the immense pleasure of spending the New Year's Eve at Aquilla hotel. Everything was fabulous,the organisation, the Michelin star standard food,the wines recommended, the choice of music,the extremely reasonable price, but most of all, the amazing attention to detail and friendliness of our hosts, Sandro and Benadetta who went out of their way to make sure that everybody has the time of their life.
We unfortunatelly stayed in a substandard 4 star hotel called Hotel Park Faloria and I found Cortina D'Ampezzo, an overrated resort so spending the passing of years at Aquilla was the highlight of our trip. Thanx again Sandro and Benadetta for a wonderful time, and we wish you all the best.

Regards,

Dr. John Golumbeanu and family

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

This is the second time I stayed at this centrally-located hotel. There is a good choice at the breakfast buffet, including, ham, cheese, yourt, cereal, croissants and cake. (Alas, no fruit). The three-course dinners (plus salad bar) are of a high standard. The menu changes daily and there are three different first and main courses and a dessert of the day as well as fruit or ice cream. Our five year often did not want anything on the menu, preferring instead a plate of plain pasta or rice. Our waiter or waitress happily accommodated his whims. The rooms are tastefully furmished and have nice bathrooms. There is a small pool in the hotel in which my child enjoyed playing.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CopenhagenFussylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
145 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

Every year me, my wife and some friends we go to Cortina in Italy to open the ski season during the vacation of 8th of December. This year some friends suggested us to pick the Hotel Aquila. This hotel is very
conveniently located since is at the beginning of the main road (only for pedestrians) of this lovely town on the Dolomites.

The main advantage of the Hotel is the convenient location along with the possibility to use their private parking, in fact when you arrive you drop them your car keys and they park the car for you.

As said in the title the hotel has old rooms (which are not too nice) and excellent new rooms.

The hotel is very clean and the hotel staff very friendly and helpful.
We have not had the choice to use their restaurant since we went out for dinner every night. BTW if you go to Cortina during xstmas or holiday periods always book your restaurant in advance otherwise it is
impossible to find place.

Breakfast was more than excellent with all the stuff of a continental breakfast requires

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank dottorsocrates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.7 mi away
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
#1 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#2 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Savoia Palace
Savoia Palace
#3 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
#8 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mirage Hotel Cortina
Mirage Hotel Cortina
#9 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#12 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aquila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aquila

Address: Piazza Pittori fratelli Ghedina, 1, 63670251 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#11 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aquila 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Aquila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aquila Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing