We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in Cortina !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pontechiesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pontechiesa to your Saves list
Hotel Pontechiesa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marangoni, 3, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel in Cortina !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We love skiing and we managed this year to come all the way to Cortina to enjoy a week of skiing vacation. The first impression is that this is a very cozy hotel and the people working were very polite. Our room had a great view of the mountain and our room had all the amenities we needed for a comfortable stay. The restaurant had great food and the service was excellent. Look forward to visiting this place again !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    32
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
33
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Pontechiesa for a week over New Years to ski. Our Italian wasn't great but we tried as best we could. When we arrived (late due to travel problems) we were not given a warm welcome. No introduction about the hotel, meal times, ski and boot locker facilities or even a map of the town, which we had come to expect from previous places we had stayed in Italy despite a language barrier.

Throughout the rest of the week, we found most of the hotel/restaurant staff to be helpful and friendly and our room was very well serviced/ The behavior of the manager continued to be rude to the very end despite our many efforts to be friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We are a family of four who spent three nights here in July 2012 with mezza-pensione, and liked it very much. Great location in Cortina--only a 5 minute walk to the centro, but far enough out that there are beautiful unobstructed views of the mountains from every balcony (by far my favorite thing about this hotel! I loved my balcony!) Lovely little outdoor garden with some playthings for children, and some space for them to run around.
Our room was very comfortable and spacious enough for us all and a nice big bathroom. Very clean and pleasantly decorated with the light wood that seems to be typical of this area. Lots of common areas in the hotel including a bar and game room. Nothing luxurious, but very comfortable.
Meals here were very good. The breakfast spread was ample and very good. We enjoyed our dinners as well. Always a good menu selection (4 options each night for primo and secondo in addition to all the buffet items--antipasto, insalata, cheeses, desserts). This was not haute cuisine, but the food was definitely very good, and we looked forward to our meals. It was really nice not to have to worry about where we were going to have dinner every night. The service at meals was also always very good and very professional.
It seems to be an older clientele who frequents this hotel. At times, I felt a bit uncomfortable with the two little kids--they are generally quite well-behaved, but for some reason, I can't quite put my finger on it...I didn't always feel 100% welcomed. Nothing that would lead me to discourage a family from staying here--it met our needs perfectly, and they even had a bed rail for my 3 yr old daughter's bed. I guess it was just a much more reserved politeness that we encountered from the staff rather than a free and easy friendliness. Perhaps this is just the American in me speaking!
In the end, I can positively recommend this hotel as a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

My wife and I from the USA and another couple from Canada spent two enjoyable weeks skiing in the Dolomites while we stayed at the Pontechiesa. We had breakfast and dinner included. The meals were wonderful and served by an attentive staff. The hotel is family owned, small, and weep appointed. Emanuela and her staff Mirco and Carlo were most helpful. The hotel is quiet on the edge of town ..a 5 minute walk to the center and a 2 minute walk to the ski bus.
Great value ... We would stay there again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Pontechiesa last September for five days while we hiked in the area. The staff at the hotel were always quite friendly and helpful. Even the few on the staff who did not speak English were patient with us and helped get answers to our questions.

The breakfast buffet was extensive with fantastic croissants and often with some of the cakes left over from the night before to satisfy my sweet tooth. The coffee was delicious.
The dinner was very good and the portions were generous. Dessert was a buffet that I could not believe. My only regret is that I wasn't able to try everything available over the five dinners.

There is a pretty garden next to a stream with swings and chairs to lounge on after a day of hiking. It is very peaceful there - a short walk to the center of town but without all the noise.

The rooms and bathrooms are comfortable and our top floor room had a roomy balcony.

When we come back to Cortina we will be sure to stay at the Pontechiesa again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Three of us shared a room at the Pontechiesa on a ski break last February. The room was not huge, but was perfectly comfortable. The furniture is simple, alpine design. I found the place quite charming and cozy. It's close to, but not right in the center, of town. Convenient to the restaurants and shops, as well as two of the lifts. Service was good, if not overly friendly. The breakfast spread is impressive. And they also serve lunch and dinner (though admittedly, our dinner was mediocre).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pontechiesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pontechiesa

Address: Via Marangoni, 3, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pontechiesa 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pontechiesa Hotel is situated in a quiet and sunny place, near the Olympic Ice Stadium, the tennis courts, the skiing facilities and the skibus stop. The centre is nearby with its fashionable shops and resorts.This Hotel, personally run by its owners, is warm and elegant, the service is accurate and efficient and the style is typical of a mountain area.A lift takes you to comfortable rooms featuring bathroom, satellite TV, telephone and room service. You can relax in cozy small rooms or in the bar hall, sitting around the classical "stube".The Hotel also features a parking lot. In winter, its ski depot is heated, while in summer the guests can relax in a beautiful garden.Pontechiesa Hotel boasts excellent cooking and serves both local specialties and typical Italian dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pontechiesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pontechiesa Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pontechiesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.