We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pontechiesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pontechiesa to your Saves list
Hotel Pontechiesa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marangoni, 3, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chapin, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

My wife and I from the USA and another couple from Canada spent two enjoyable weeks skiing in the Dolomites while we stayed at the Pontechiesa. We had breakfast and dinner included. The meals were wonderful and served by an attentive staff. The hotel is family owned, small, and weep appointed. Emanuela and her staff Mirco and Carlo were most helpful. The hotel is quiet on the edge of town ..a 5 minute walk to the center and a 2 minute walk to the ski bus.
Great value ... We would stay there again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    35
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Pontechiesa last September for five days while we hiked in the area. The staff at the hotel were always quite friendly and helpful. Even the few on the staff who did not speak English were patient with us and helped get answers to our questions.

The breakfast buffet was extensive with fantastic croissants and often with some of the cakes left over from the night before to satisfy my sweet tooth. The coffee was delicious.
The dinner was very good and the portions were generous. Dessert was a buffet that I could not believe. My only regret is that I wasn't able to try everything available over the five dinners.

There is a pretty garden next to a stream with swings and chairs to lounge on after a day of hiking. It is very peaceful there - a short walk to the center of town but without all the noise.

The rooms and bathrooms are comfortable and our top floor room had a roomy balcony.

When we come back to Cortina we will be sure to stay at the Pontechiesa again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Three of us shared a room at the Pontechiesa on a ski break last February. The room was not huge, but was perfectly comfortable. The furniture is simple, alpine design. I found the place quite charming and cozy. It's close to, but not right in the center, of town. Convenient to the restaurants and shops, as well as two of the lifts. Service was good, if not overly friendly. The breakfast spread is impressive. And they also serve lunch and dinner (though admittedly, our dinner was mediocre).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2007

We spent ten days in January for a ski vacation at the Pontechiesa. I cannot say enough good things about it. Relatively reasonable price for Cortina. The entire staff was charming and delightful and went out of their way to accomodate our every wish. If you want a true Italian experience I highly recommend this place.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pontechiesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pontechiesa

Address: Via Marangoni, 3, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pontechiesa 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pontechiesa Hotel is situated in a quiet and sunny place, near the Olympic Ice Stadium, the tennis courts, the skiing facilities and the skibus stop. The centre is nearby with its fashionable shops and resorts.This Hotel, personally run by its owners, is warm and elegant, the service is accurate and efficient and the style is typical of a mountain area.A lift takes you to comfortable rooms featuring bathroom, satellite TV, telephone and room service. You can relax in cozy small rooms or in the bar hall, sitting around the classical "stube".The Hotel also features a parking lot. In winter, its ski depot is heated, while in summer the guests can relax in a beautiful garden.Pontechiesa Hotel boasts excellent cooking and serves both local specialties and typical Italian dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Pontechiesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pontechiesa Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pontechiesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.