We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pontechiesa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pontechiesa to your Saves list
Hotel Pontechiesa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marangoni, 3, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Chapin, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

My wife and I from the USA and another couple from Canada spent two enjoyable weeks skiing in the Dolomites while we stayed at the Pontechiesa. We had breakfast and dinner included. The meals were wonderful and served by an attentive staff. The hotel is family owned, small, and weep appointed. Emanuela and her staff Mirco and Carlo were most helpful. The hotel is quiet on the edge of town ..a 5 minute walk to the center and a 2 minute walk to the ski bus.
Great value ... We would stay there again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 696John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Pontechiesa last September for five days while we hiked in the area. The staff at the hotel were always quite friendly and helpful. Even the few on the staff who did not speak English were patient with us and helped get answers to our questions.

The breakfast buffet was extensive with fantastic croissants and often with some of the cakes left over from the night before to satisfy my sweet tooth. The coffee was delicious.
The dinner was very good and the portions were generous. Dessert was a buffet that I could not believe. My only regret is that I wasn't able to try everything available over the five dinners.

There is a pretty garden next to a stream with swings and chairs to lounge on after a day of hiking. It is very peaceful there - a short walk to the center of town but without all the noise.

The rooms and bathrooms are comfortable and our top floor room had a roomy balcony.

When we come back to Cortina we will be sure to stay at the Pontechiesa again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Three of us shared a room at the Pontechiesa on a ski break last February. The room was not huge, but was perfectly comfortable. The furniture is simple, alpine design. I found the place quite charming and cozy. It's close to, but not right in the center, of town. Convenient to the restaurants and shops, as well as two of the lifts. Service was good, if not overly friendly. The breakfast spread is impressive. And they also serve lunch and dinner (though admittedly, our dinner was mediocre).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

We spent ten days in January for a ski vacation at the Pontechiesa. I cannot say enough good things about it. Relatively reasonable price for Cortina. The entire staff was charming and delightful and went out of their way to accomodate our every wish. If you want a true Italian experience I highly recommend this place.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lpg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.9 mi away
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
#1 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#2 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Savoia Palace
Savoia Palace
#3 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
#8 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lajadira Hotel
Lajadira Hotel
#23 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mirage Hotel Cortina
Mirage Hotel Cortina
#10 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pontechiesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pontechiesa

Address: Via Marangoni, 3, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pontechiesa 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pontechiesa Hotel is situated in a quiet and sunny place, near the Olympic Ice Stadium, the tennis courts, the skiing facilities and the skibus stop. The centre is nearby with its fashionable shops and resorts.This Hotel, personally run by its owners, is warm and elegant, the service is accurate and efficient and the style is typical of a mountain area.A lift takes you to comfortable rooms featuring bathroom, satellite TV, telephone and room service. You can relax in cozy small rooms or in the bar hall, sitting around the classical "stube".The Hotel also features a parking lot. In winter, its ski depot is heated, while in summer the guests can relax in a beautiful garden.Pontechiesa Hotel boasts excellent cooking and serves both local specialties and typical Italian dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pontechiesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pontechiesa Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing