We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best balcony view ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meuble Piccolo Pocol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Meuble Piccolo Pocol to your Saves list
Meuble Piccolo Pocol
Loc. Pocol 48, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Redding, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best balcony view ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel was a bit out of the way, but totally worth it. The view was stunning, and the room was cozy and comfortable. It was a delight to meet Ingrid, and she recommended great places to have dinner. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Piccolo Pocol is just a slice of heaven! I stayed here with my family for a week and just loved it. This little family run hotel is exactly what I look for when booking accommodation overseas, but rarely do the internet photos and the blurb match the reality. This one does.

Our double room was beautiful and immaculately cleaned and I have not seen a more stunning view than the one from our bedroom balcony. The snow covered mountains were just spectacular.

The owner of PP, Ingrid, is just amazing. She speaks a bunch of languages (English, Italian and German at least) and with the help of her lovely daughter, just couldn't do enough for us. She made tea whenever I wanted it, did 2 big bags of laundry for us(seriously, who does that?), even cooked for us! Our daughters have special dietary needs so Ingrid very kindly prepared their food for them when we were there in the evenings. Even when I interrupted her having her own dinner, she would insist on getting up and cooking for us. Ingrid may not laugh much but she's one impressive hostess. And she knows everything!

The breakfast room at PP doesn't do dinner but there is a bus that takes you into the city centre (about 10-15 minutes) just down the road. By taxi it's about $20 Australian. There is a sports bar literally right next door to PP with a restaurant but it's not that special. Good for a drink in the evening but if you want a bottle, ask Ingrid at PP instead of buying it from the sports bar. Hers is better and cheaper. If you do eat in town, try Il Ponte for great pizza (they even do gluten free if you need it) or Pontegel if you want something truly faaabulous but more pricey. The ski schools are close by too.


Bottom line - If only all accommodation was like this.. Thanks Ingrid!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I’ll start concluding, that we were very happy with our choice of Meublé Piccolo Pocol for our recent overnight stop in the Dolomites. All of our needs and expectations were fully met and fulfilled. A perfect location in a breathtaking mountain setting yet a few minutes’ drive from the city center of Cortina d’Amepezzo only; tranquility; a genuine alpine ambiance; beautiful views - and not the least a warm, homely and welcoming atmosphere. Hence, we are only happy to give this establishment our best recommendations.

We are very fond of alpine landscapes with rolling green meadows, towering snow-clad peaks and picturesque chalets and hence a photo of Meublé Piccolo Pocol caught our attention when searching for suitable accommodation for an overnight in the mountains before heading to Venice and further down in Italy. Arriving a late afternoon, warmly greeted by the owner and shown to our room, we were truly delighted to find ourselves in the middle of this postcard idyll as we entered our very own flower-clad balcony and encountered the breathtaking scenery right before our eyes We couldn’t have been happier!

Meublé Piccolo Pocol is a smaller family-run country Bed & Breakfast/Hotel situated on a green meadow in the middle of the lovely landscape surrounding the famous ski-resort Cortina d’Ampezzo, which is easily reached by car in a few minutes or during day time on an easy 1 hr. hike (6 km). The three-story building is fairly new but kept in the traditional chalet-architecture hence nicely fitting into the landscape. It offers some 15 rustic rooms, all well-appointed with typical wooden furniture, nice bathrooms and all modern amenities. Most rooms do likewise have a balcony – or you can enjoy the magnificent view from the garden. Our room was clean with fresh linen and featured further to the bed a tiny table with two chairs, a closet and a small desk. The bathroom was large and had a nice shower cabin. The ambiance is homely and personal as it seems like the owner lives on the ground floor and is available for assistance and good pieces of advice most of the day/evening. On the ground floor you do likewise find the breakfast room, where a nice European style breakfast buffet is served offering assorted cerials, juices, fruit, cold cuts, cheeses, jams, boiled eggs, various breads and for the sweet tooth freshly baked croissants. Finally, it should be noted, that the hotel offers ample free parking right outside the door.

Meublé Piccolo Pocol has no restaurant, but there are a few hotel restaurants within walking distance and countless eateries in nearby Cortina d’Ampezzo. You will need a car for the drive into the town in the evenings though. We had looked forward to enjoying a nice evening out in fashionable Cortina d’Ampezzo, but much to our surprise, we found the town more or less “dead” coming dinner time and with more restaurants/hotels closed for the summer (primo September). Only a few places offered alfresco dining, and the hotel restaurants were either occupied by large tourist groups taking in their demi-pension dinner or more or less empty and therefore not particularly inviting. Hence, we decided to drive back to Pocol and to feast on the remainders of our own lunch-box on the balcony.

Situated in the outskirts of Cortina d’Ampezzo Meublé Piccolo Pocol makes a fine base for exploring the beautiful area. We toured the entire old route “Grand Road of the Dolomites” from Bozen to Cortina d’Ampezzo in just one day having ample time to climb the numerous mountain passes and stop to take in the many vista points. It’s a mere distance of approx. 125 km only – but you will need the full day for the drive and more days it you would likewise like to enjoy a couple of hikes or make use of the many gondolas taking you further up. The downhill run to Venice will take you less than 3 hrs. and hence very easy accessible too.

OBS: Next to Meublé Piccolo Pocol, you find the old Sporthotel Pocol. Although it may appear as being the same establishment, this is NOT the case. Sporthotel Pocol was once under the same management – but no longer – so make sure you don’t get them mixed up. The Sporthotel Pocol looks somewhat “tired” and hence the comments you may find for same on TripAdvisor does not refer to Meublé Piccolo Pocol.

We found the comfort, location and service of Meublé Piccolo Pocol matching the price and hence a very fine bargain and good value for money compared to the extreme overpriced accommodation to be found in down town Cortina d’Ampezzo. We shall be looking forward to a returned visit to Meublé Piccolo in a hopefully not too distant future.

Room Tip: Rooms towards South on upper floors have a fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stop at Piccolo Pocol. Ingrid, the owner, is very welcoming and knowledgeable about the local area. She brought us a bottle of wine to enjoy on the terrace and even arranged for some our laundry to be done for us. She has all of the maps and information on the Via Ferrata (do Ivano Dibonna) and hikes in the area. We stayed in the "family room on the top floor and enjoyed a view, 2 very clean and comfortable bedrooms and a shared bath. Pillows were a bit hard and flat, but we encountered this at other places in Italy. Breakfast was very good with delicious croissants, breads, cereal, meats, cheeses, yogurt and fruit. Cortina is just a 5 minute drive away. Be sure to go to Rifugio Lagazuoi and hike back down through the one km. WWI Italian tunnel and also hike around the WWI Open Air Museum at 5 Torri just below Rifugio Scoiattoli across the valley. This entire area is absolutely beautiful. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights while skiing. A lovely small remote hotel about 6km from Cortina up the mountain road. We had a perfect double room on the 2nd floor with balcony overlooking the mountains. The room was clean, quiet, modern, newly refurbished, warm and comfortable. The hotel only serves breakfast and this was plentiful, typical cold buffet Italian style. The staff were very helpful, polite and attentive. Ingrid the owner is a delightful lady who appeared to be always available to help. Her English is good. Our car diesel 'froze' necessitating a garage visit and Ingrid kindly drove us to the garage to collect the car. Nothing seemed too much for her.

I would not recommend eating in the hotel immediately adjacent to Piccolo. Our evening meal there was poor but on Ingrid's advice we ate in the Hotel Villa Argentina about 200m down the road. Excellent 3 course dinner for 20 euros. From the Argentina you can ski (in and out), hire equipment and buy lift passes from the nearest lift. No need for car or bus to transport to ski slope.

Would definitely return to Piccolo Pocol.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Piccolo Pocol was recommended by colleague or otherwise I'm not sure we would have noticed it in searching for hotels in Cortina. The staff was friendly, helpful and spoke english. The room had an amazing view and we enjoyed it along with the local beer. There were many choices for breakfast and the food was delicious. For dinner, we walked to the Pocol Hotel down the road about 1/3 mile.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Piccolo Pocol once was extension of Pocol Sport Hotel, is now a separate accomodation, with (very good buffet) breakfast but without restaurant. The restaurant of the Pocol Hotel is very recommendable and only 20 steps away. The beds in Piccolo Pocol were too hard for us, but for the rest everything was OK. Cleanliness impeccable. Host very helpful when we asked him to store some things during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meuble Piccolo Pocol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meuble Piccolo Pocol

Address: Loc. Pocol 48, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#10 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with WINTRADE S.R.L., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Meuble Piccolo Pocol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meuble Piccolo Pocol Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meuble Piccolo Pocol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.