We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baita Fraina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Baita Fraina to your Saves list
Baita Fraina
Via Fraina 1, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The restaurant has a warm and rustic atmosphere. It is located 5 min by taxi from downtown Cortina. The pumpkin soup was lovely, and the deer roast was a perfect match with their organic Chianti. The chocolate mousse for dessert made ​​the meal really memorable.

A bit expencive though, but it is worth it. Outstanding service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Baita Fraina was the first stop of our travels across the Dolomites and Switzerland. This bed and breakfast/small hotel was wonderful. We were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived, and everyone there was most gracious and helpful, not only in the functioning of the lodging, but in meal service, and in recommending hikes for us to take. The hikes in Cortina were the best hikes of our two week vacation, and the food at Baita Fraina was wonderful. It was great regional food, lovingly prepared and served. They also have an awesome wine cellar, and great wines by the glass, to enjoy on the patio viewing the mountains. Clean and comfortable. Only drawback is that Garmin Nuvi (gps) could not find it. That is also a plus, as there was no traffic nearby. Once we found the hotel, it was easy as pie to find it again.

Room Tip: we got the suite, which gave us a ton of room to unpack and repack after hiking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was our first trip to Cortina. The B&B is located just outside of Cortina. The rooms are very nice and we had plenty of space in our room. We ate at the restaurant one night and the food was very good. We also enjoyed the great food at breakfast and the wonderful service The Family who owns and runs the B&B and restaurant are very helpful. The area is vey quiet with great views of the Dolomites.. We would return here again and look forward to future visits..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have been staying at Baita Fraina two times now and we want to return. Baita Fraina is beautifully located above central Cortina. The owners who run this charming little hotel are very friendly. The rooms are very nice and clean and the breakfast consist of the very best that the region has to offer. The hotel also has a restaurant offering excellent food.

Room Tip: Room no 6 was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

For a real quiet and superb accomodation in Cortina, that's the place to go. You'll need a car but it's near downtown, up in the outskirts of the city, with a really nice view of the valley and the Cinque Torri. One of the best restaurant in town and the breakfast was just what we needed before going hiking. Thanks to all the family for a very pleasant time in your paradisiac countryside!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Our stay at Baita Fraina was very enjoyable. The B+B is located 
about 2km outside Cortina but it wouldnt be a long walk into town. The location is ideal for hikers because two of the well marked hiking trails that are all over the local area start/terminate right beside the building. This permits a nice walk in the morning of after dinner. Reservations for dinner are a must even if you are a hotel guest due to the popularity of the restaurant with the locals. If you find yourself without a reservation there is also another bed and breakfast that is located approximately 200 meters up the road that also has good local food. The family who owns Baita Fraina
is extremely nice and the breakfast 
is very good. Each morning we had an egg cooked to order. The rooms 
are very spacious, comfortable and clean. The maid cleaned our room every day and even folded our clothes. The English of the family is limited 
but if you speak slowly they are extremely accommodating and do their best to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Baita Fraina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baita Fraina

Address: Via Fraina 1, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, WINTRADE S.R.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Baita Fraina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baita Fraina Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baita Fraina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;