We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Royal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Stazione 2, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #52 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I was satisfied with my stay here. I would highly recommend if you are looking for an affordable hotel with a great, central location. It was just quick walk to catch the buses to the slopes. One bus actually dropped you off just in front of the hotel. There is nothing overly special with the hotel. The staff were nice enough. The breakfast was good, I highly recommend the croissant with warm apple filling. You can smell them baking in the morning and they taste even better than they smell. The rooms were very clean. They were small and the beds were ok, but I kept having to remind myself it was only a 3 star.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    25
    9
    7
    7
See reviews for
17
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights July 2013. This is a good hotel, reasonably priced, in an excellent location within the town of Cortina, with easy walking distance to everything including the bus station. The staff is friendly and speaks English. Breakfast is the expected spread for Italy, and the “dial your own” coffee machine made better than expected coffee. The free parking was really appreciated and worked out well since we made a few day trips by car. There are good restaurants and shops in several walking directions. Room and bathroom were small and a bit dated, but clean and adequate, although the bed was only tolerable for comfort. Two drawbacks: 1) Since the hotel in centrally located and sits over a pedestrian piazza, there was some evening traffic and noise – however, this is true for all centrally located hotels in town. 2) The hotel does not have air conditioning – this is normally not a problem, however, we had very warm July weather so evening sleeping was just tolerable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel has charm. Even in the summer where we stayed for three night it felt cozy. It is located right in the center of town where many other hotels are located on the outskirts of Cortina. On the downside the rooms are quite simple and the beds are not best. Breakfast is adequate by Italian standard, but be sure to ask for a real coffee from the staff and not settle for the machine in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a great central hotel, within a stones throw of 2 great pubs and a couple of restaurants, with friendly waitresses and bar staff. The manager helped us plan our via feratta routes and gave advice on which were safe due to late snow and ice on the mountains. The rooms were comfortable with pleasant bath rooms and decent beds. Continental breakfast was a little limited but was still plenty to set us up for a good days walking and climbing, We will certainly return even though it took me ages to work out the layout of the stairs, I kept thinking I was on the ground floor forgetting there was another set of stairs round the corner. PS This is not a complaint just a constant cause of amusement with my colleagues.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Perfectly located, beautiful hotel, very friendly welcome,
we have enjoyed many beautifu holiday stays over 15 years,
and look forward to continuing!

rooms are small, but the lounge areas are very spacious and comfortable, and the centro città location, close also to the ski bus, is unbeatable for a real Cortina feeling.

eva peter & her family

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Describing myself as a ski addicted, I am sure that this hotel meets my expectations for my ski holidays:
1. Good value for money
2. Rich breakfast
3. Peaceful place to calm down after an exhausted ski day.
4. Free WiFi
5. Great location
6. Friendly staff

I would definitely come back...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pozzuoli, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

There are no really "cheap" hotels in Cortina. Having said that this turned out to be a good value. Located in the heart of Cortina on the pedestrian mall it was perfect as a jumping off point for shopping, dining at any number of very good ristorantes and just being a part of the vibrant city life. The ski shuttle is within easy walking distance. We parked our car here without charge and drove to the lifts each day. The room was well maintained typical no frills ski-decor, the morning breakfast more than enough to keep one going through lunch on the slopes and the (multi-lingual) staff very helpful. I would have liked the availability of a hot tub, but that was not a deal breaker. Certainly I would stay here again given the opportunity. Doctor Z 2013

Room Tip: Either one chooses a hotel downtown with access to all that is CORTINA or one closer to the slopes w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Via Stazione 2, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy 3 stars hotel with B&B treatment, situated right in the center of Cortina on the pedestrian area 100meters from the bell tower, in an historical building that dates back to 1700, ideal starting point to spend unforgettable holidays in the Dolomites, just a short stroll away from the nearest ski lifts (300 m.) and more important sporting facilities. It is also conveniently served by public transport and adjacent to the hotel there is a private extra charged parking with limited lots that can not be reserved. An antique Venetian style building dating back to 1700, owned by the Menardi Demai family, was transformed into a modern family run hotel in the forties. The hotel's proprietor Marcello Menardi, ski instructor and expert alpinist from the alpinist group "Gruppo Scoiattoli" is happy to recommend both winter and summer sporting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.