We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Olimpia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Olimpia to your Saves list
Hotel Olimpia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Poste 37 | Blluno, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Right in the center of Cortina, this is an excellent choice for a short or long stay. Only 5 minutes walk from the bus station and in the middle of the pedestrian downtown area. Three star rated, as good as most four star hotels but more reasonably priced. Rooms are quiet, clean, and comfortable. Staff is helpful. Very good breakfast, though nothing unusual for the region.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    42
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
19
48
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We travelled to Cortina the last part of January for a ski trip and a few days in Venice. The location of the hotel was perfect for getting to the ski slopes. There is a rear door that brings you close to the bus station which takes you to the other slopes or you can walk to the Faloria tram, a little bit further. There is no need for a car at this hotel in fact given that some streets are one way and that does not affect pedestrian traffic I think a bus from Venice airport is perfect. It is about 2 hours, the first hour is on an autostrasse but the last is in the mountains with some narrow passages through towns. Beautiful to see and admire without having to drive it. The hotel itself is not luxury in its appointments but grand lobbies are not needed to impress. The room was spacious by european standards and the bathroom was modern . Everything was very clean and maintained every day. The staff were extremely helpful particularly Roberta in recommending restaurants, the vagaries of how things work in Cortina and optional experiences if skiing was not your prime objective. I have read that if you are an extreme skiier this would not be your destination and I would agree but if you want to have fun with it, enjoy the food, walk the town, take in the Friday market for shopping, then I don't think you can go wrong. All the house wines in the restaurants are better than they serve here.English is spoken everywhere but if you have a few words in Italian I think they appreciate the effort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel for over 5 years running for a ski holiday with a friend and I have never stayed anywhere where the people are genuinely more helpful and caring. They are fantastic and go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. It's in a great central location, it's reasonably priced in a relatively expensive area and is always spotlessly clean. I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Cortina is where rich Italians (and others) go to be seen during the ski season and as a result hotels are pricey. Hotel Olimpia is therefore relatively cheap, especially given its central location. I've been visiting Cortina for many years (summer and winter) but I had not stayed here before.

We found the staff very helpful (all spoke excellent English) and they allowed us to get our room earlier than the stated booking in time. We found our room a little cramped, run down and a little dirty. The bed was so close to the walls that there were loads of scuffs and missing wall paper where people had been edging along to get in and out of bed. The en suite was slightly worse, with dirty cracked tiles and an all-pervasive musty smell of stale urine. Sky TV is in all rooms (although why you'd want to watch TV when in Cortina is beyond me).

The hotel does have some of its own parking but this must be booked in advance. There is a car park outside the hotel but this costs E1 per hour, from 0900-2000); park at the bus station or even better, the Faloria cable car station at the top of town, a 2 minute walk away and 'only' E1 an hour. The buffet breakfast has a wide variation of foods on offer and hot food can be ordered at additional cost.

Great staff and a central location but given the state of our room we would try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Typical for us we arrived without a reservation after a day of riding our motorcycle and we were happy to find Hotel Olimpia in Cortina d'Ampezzo. We stopped in several other hotels to ask about price and availability and the Olimpia was a much better value and they welcomed us. The Olimpia is in a great location, is super-clean, very cute and the staff was nice and accommodating even though we did not have a reservation. Breakfast was a nice offering to get us going for the day. Didn't use the TV and can't say anything about the Internet but for a short, or even long stay, the Hotel Olimpia is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Booked this hotel last minute, chosen on price and rating from tripadvisor, we were surprised how good this hotel was considering what we paid, our room was large and had a great balcony, bathroom was spotless and well presented. Hotel staff were very friendly gave us great advise on where to go for best day out, only had one full day in Cortina d Amprezzo. breakfast was very good. enjoyed our stay, will return for sure

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem District, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location, very nice rooms, not expensive and great breakfast. The rooms weren't big, but great balcony to see the city. Stayed therw for one night and had to move on though we would have liked to stay longer and explore the area.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Olimpia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olimpia

Address: Largo Poste 37 | Blluno, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olimpia 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the hearth of town the HOTEL OLIMPIA is very convenient to all ski facilities and it is within walking distance to a wide variety of shops and restaurants. The Lorenzi family will be happy to have you in this traditional and comfortable milieu and proposes with discretion to all those who appreciate the value of good taste and hospitality.L´Olimpia rappresenta un punto di riferimento per chi cerca la qualità e il servizio ad un prezzo competitivo.Cortina e un classico albergo di montagna, è gestito dalla Famiglia Lorenzi dal 1996. In continuo rinnovamento, situato in pieno centro nel comune di Cortina in zona a traffico limitato, vicino agli impianti di risalita del Faloria e comodamente servito dai mezzi pubblici, ha come obiettivi primari l’accoglienza e la cortesia intrecciate con grande simpatia e calore.Effettuiamo spesso offerte speciali come settimane bianche e verdi e cerchiamo di organizzare al meglio le vostre vacanze a Cortina nelle nostre accoglienti camere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Olimpia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olimpia Hotel Cortina d Ampezzo
Hotel Olimpia Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Olimpia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.