We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as expected...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lajadira Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lajadira Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lajadira Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Riva 43, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 51 hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not as expected...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Last February we booked the "Lajadira Hotel" for our skiing trip to Cortina d'Ampezzo.

In general they have a very friendly reception and personnel.

Rooms:
We had a Classic room as we had 2+1 kids with us and these rooms have two separate bedrooms. A convenient set-up. The room was very classic, wooden interiors, typical of that area but too old and not so well maintained for the price we paid. The hotel has a new section with modern rooms, these seems to be very nice but you can have only one child with you (average for hotels in Italy).

Transportation:
The free shuttle bus service to the centre (not so far from the hotel) and to the slopes was not working well due to too many people thus the drive had to do several trips and the waiting time became too long. We decided to use our own car, much better solution.

Food:
We booked a breakfast and dinner package. The breakfast was ok but they were lacking of lactose and gluten free products which we had to buy by ourselves from a local store. We also mentioned our allergies when booking and they said it was not a problem but it turned out they were not prepared at all for such instances. This was not good. The personnel in the restaurant was also disturbed by our allergy problem disturbing their routine as they had to ask the cook to pay special attention to our food. It also seemed that the cook did not really know how to handle gluten free food. The dinner food was very minimal with a poor choice of food (not from that region) and not that good as one expect in those areas.

Other:
The SPA area and pool was very nice. We never tried the SPA treatments but they seemed to be good. It is missing a gym or training room that would have been appreciated when not able to ski with rainy days (during that period) .

Conclusions:
Cortina d'Ampezzo is not any longer what it used to be, I have been there several time in the past, it looked like a decaying town with high prices but low service. The only food/grocery store in the centre "La Cooperativa di Cortina" it is very old with a poor choice of food and services. They should really renew it.
What is good over there are the beautiful slopes and mountains as well as the skiing schools, the instructors are very good especially with kids. For a pure skiing trip it is better to find a bed and breakfast place, just a bed to sleep and just ski.
If we will go back to Cortina with kids (I doubt it) we will try to find a hotel in the city centre.

Room Tip: Book the modern rooms in the new section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    18
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

It was our first alpine skiing trip and we really enjoyed it. I've booked Hotel Lajadira mainly because I was expecting to get a renovated room for somewhat average 120 EUR prpn price. Well we did not get a renovated room as the minimum rate for it at the moment was 200 EUR prpn, but the old room was not that bad after all. It was very warm (24-25 °C) so we had to keep balcony slightly open all the time.

In general hotel facilities vary from good to very good.

We've enjoyed decent breakfast and decent in Italy means good for some less food-picky foreign guests. I think it would be easier for both - client and waiter - if ketchup and mayo would be available straight on the table given that boiled and scrambled eggs are available. For us that would have been 1 unnecessary question less every day. Real juice instead of some sugary substitude wouldn't hurt anyone either. Coffee and pastries on the other hand were quite good.

We had dinner in the hotel once and although quite good, it did not meet our expectations. There are a few nice family run restaurants in Cortina where you could get a remarkable dinner for a comparable (38 EUR per person without drinks) price.

Now the fun part - SPA area is wonderful and we really enjoyed it every day to relax after skiing. It came free of charge for our reservation. They have spacious nice sauna (though I would go for 80°C and 50-60% humidity for best common experience) and nice swimming pool with some water massage possibilities. Then a relax room to chill out with some tea. Haven't tried any of the massages, although they have quite some to offer and the prices look reasonable.

The driver Sergei was also very nice, polite and helpful. The hotel is located a few km away from the city center, but you can have a shuttle bus going every 15-20 minutes downtown and to 2 closest skiing areas (Faloria and Socrepes). Anyway if you want the best skiing experience, you must have your own car and go to 5 Torri. Free parking included.

And my final thanks go to reception staff - they really went out of their way to help us with all the questions we had and we had quite a few. They were super friendly and I could not imagine better experience.

To conclude, I believe I've seen some old boring hotel turning into something new and much better. If they keep moving to the right direction, I'm sure they are going to be one of the best price-concious hotels in Cortina.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The best about this hotel is the spa. Three different saunas and a nice pool. The location is along the rather busy main road and some 20 minutes walking distance from Cortina city center. This means some noise and quite a lot of walking. In general the staff does not speak English very well but it works.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We have stayed in lajadira for 5 days for our ski trip. The hotel is great by all standards. From the moment we arrived until our departure, the front desk receptionist Paula and Alessandro were extremely friendly and helpful.
We have stayed in the modern rooms and they were large, neat and clean. Breakfast was very good and provided a very large variety of food choices. The hotel provides a shuttle throughout the day to all different ski lifts in cortina which was extremely helpful and really makes a difference as you don't have to worry about carrying your skis or walking distances with ski boots. Would definitely come back and would very strongly recommend this place!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My family just spent four nights at the hotel in one of the comfortable new rooms which was very stylish with minimalist design using only one kind of local wood and with lots of daylight thanks to the large windows down to the floor. The spa is all new and we enjoyed the steam room and two types of sauna after skiing. The friendly receptionists went out of their way to accommodate special requests. Breakfast was generous and the free shuttle to the ski-lift saved us a lot of time looking for parking space. All in all a very enjoyable stay and we would love to come again with the children.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I booked this trip before I found out I was pregnant so we needed somewhere that was quite close to the centre and that had facilities I could use whilst he was on the slopes!
I was very happy with this hotel. The local italian guy on reception (I can't remember his name) was lovely and so helpful - despite his little English. There is a free shuttle bus to and from the hotel to anywhere in the town centre - you can call anytime and they will pick you up!
We had a hire car, but probably didnt need it as the hotel is only 5 minutes from the town centre.
We had only of the newer rooms and it was nice, comfortable and clean. We only stayed 2 nights but as we were the only guests it felt like we had the hotel to ourselves. The pool is lovely and relaxing but massages are only provided on weekends.
I would recommend some of the near by restaurants - plenty to chose from.
Overall good value for money and friendly service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This was our second time in Cortina. We found this hotel in a last minute and did not expect much but result exceed our expectation. Hotel is conveniently located in a 5 min driving to the center of Cortina, free parking. Staff service is outstanding. They did everything possible to accommodate our every request and make our vacation remarkable. We had a large room, very comfortable with a big bathroom and gorgeous view from the balcony. Shuttle service was provided every morning to the ski lift and back afternoon. A lot of renovations are done recently; ventilated ski room is a very nicely done in a wood with shelves and warming holders for the boots. We used sauna every afternoon, also looks like professionally done recently, with a nice resting area. Breakfast was very good with a perfect coffee, cold cuts, yogurt hot croissants and fruits. We like this place very much.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lajadira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lajadira Hotel

Address: Via Riva 43, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#17 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lajadira Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Lajadira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lajadira Hotel Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lajadira Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.