We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ski Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lajadira Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lajadira Hotel to your Saves list
Lajadira Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Riva 43, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Ski Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

It was our first alpine skiing trip and we really enjoyed it. I've booked Hotel Lajadira mainly because I was expecting to get a renovated room for somewhat average 120 EUR prpn price. Well we did not get a renovated room as the minimum rate for it at the moment was 200 EUR prpn, but the old room was not that bad after all. It was very warm (24-25 °C) so we had to keep balcony slightly open all the time.

In general hotel facilities vary from good to very good.

We've enjoyed decent breakfast and decent in Italy means good for some less food-picky foreign guests. I think it would be easier for both - client and waiter - if ketchup and mayo would be available straight on the table given that boiled and scrambled eggs are available. For us that would have been 1 unnecessary question less every day. Real juice instead of some sugary substitude wouldn't hurt anyone either. Coffee and pastries on the other hand were quite good.

We had dinner in the hotel once and although quite good, it did not meet our expectations. There are a few nice family run restaurants in Cortina where you could get a remarkable dinner for a comparable (38 EUR per person without drinks) price.

Now the fun part - SPA area is wonderful and we really enjoyed it every day to relax after skiing. It came free of charge for our reservation. They have spacious nice sauna (though I would go for 80°C and 50-60% humidity for best common experience) and nice swimming pool with some water massage possibilities. Then a relax room to chill out with some tea. Haven't tried any of the massages, although they have quite some to offer and the prices look reasonable.

The driver Sergei was also very nice, polite and helpful. The hotel is located a few km away from the city center, but you can have a shuttle bus going every 15-20 minutes downtown and to 2 closest skiing areas (Faloria and Socrepes). Anyway if you want the best skiing experience, you must have your own car and go to 5 Torri. Free parking included.

And my final thanks go to reception staff - they really went out of their way to help us with all the questions we had and we had quite a few. They were super friendly and I could not imagine better experience.

To conclude, I believe I've seen some old boring hotel turning into something new and much better. If they keep moving to the right direction, I'm sure they are going to be one of the best price-concious hotels in Cortina.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    28
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
32
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The best about this hotel is the spa. Three different saunas and a nice pool. The location is along the rather busy main road and some 20 minutes walking distance from Cortina city center. This means some noise and quite a lot of walking. In general the staff does not speak English very well but it works.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We have stayed in lajadira for 5 days for our ski trip. The hotel is great by all standards. From the moment we arrived until our departure, the front desk receptionist Paula and Alessandro were extremely friendly and helpful.
We have stayed in the modern rooms and they were large, neat and clean. Breakfast was very good and provided a very large variety of food choices. The hotel provides a shuttle throughout the day to all different ski lifts in cortina which was extremely helpful and really makes a difference as you don't have to worry about carrying your skis or walking distances with ski boots. Would definitely come back and would very strongly recommend this place!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My family just spent four nights at the hotel in one of the comfortable new rooms which was very stylish with minimalist design using only one kind of local wood and with lots of daylight thanks to the large windows down to the floor. The spa is all new and we enjoyed the steam room and two types of sauna after skiing. The friendly receptionists went out of their way to accommodate special requests. Breakfast was generous and the free shuttle to the ski-lift saved us a lot of time looking for parking space. All in all a very enjoyable stay and we would love to come again with the children.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I booked this trip before I found out I was pregnant so we needed somewhere that was quite close to the centre and that had facilities I could use whilst he was on the slopes!
I was very happy with this hotel. The local italian guy on reception (I can't remember his name) was lovely and so helpful - despite his little English. There is a free shuttle bus to and from the hotel to anywhere in the town centre - you can call anytime and they will pick you up!
We had a hire car, but probably didnt need it as the hotel is only 5 minutes from the town centre.
We had only of the newer rooms and it was nice, comfortable and clean. We only stayed 2 nights but as we were the only guests it felt like we had the hotel to ourselves. The pool is lovely and relaxing but massages are only provided on weekends.
I would recommend some of the near by restaurants - plenty to chose from.
Overall good value for money and friendly service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This was our second time in Cortina. We found this hotel in a last minute and did not expect much but result exceed our expectation. Hotel is conveniently located in a 5 min driving to the center of Cortina, free parking. Staff service is outstanding. They did everything possible to accommodate our every request and make our vacation remarkable. We had a large room, very comfortable with a big bathroom and gorgeous view from the balcony. Shuttle service was provided every morning to the ski lift and back afternoon. A lot of renovations are done recently; ventilated ski room is a very nicely done in a wood with shelves and warming holders for the boots. We used sauna every afternoon, also looks like professionally done recently, with a nice resting area. Breakfast was very good with a perfect coffee, cold cuts, yogurt hot croissants and fruits. We like this place very much.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

I'm surprised with the negative reviews because I found the staff at Lajadira Hotel to be outstanding. The concierge staff catered to all our needs and were truly outstanding. Sergei drove us from the hotel to the center of town, the ski resort, and back. Him and the other people who work at this hotel are truly fantastic! Granted the hotel isn't a 5 star hotel - it's not very fancy. We had to hold up the toilet seat when we had to urinate, but the service and the food more than makes up for that slight inconvenience. The home made pasta for dinner was out of this world. The breakfast spread was just as superb. And when we wanted coffee of any kind and a croissant during the day, the front desk would leave the desk and make it for us! A truly nice find and I'm glad I stayed here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel Faloria
Park Hotel Faloria
#30 of 52 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
0.8 mi away
Savoia Palace
Savoia Palace
#3 of 52 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#2 of 52 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Franceschi Park Hotel
Franceschi Park Hotel
#4 of 52 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mirage Hotel Cortina
Mirage Hotel Cortina
#16 of 52 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
#1 of 52 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lajadira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lajadira Hotel

Address: Via Riva 43, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lajadira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lajadira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lajadira Hotel Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lajadira Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.