We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De la Poste

Save Saved
You added De la Poste to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
De la Poste
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Roma 14, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 51 hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Mooloolaba, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We recently stayed here on a family Ski Holiday. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Service and rooms were gorgeous. I did find the getting to the slopes on the bus a bit difficult but fortunately the ski bus stops at door of hotel. Rooms very clean and quaint. Linens a bit tired. I loved the bath products !!! fluffy white robes were nice too. Only complaint was wifi in room a little slow. In lobby area it was fine though. Staff very helpful. Breakfast lovely but do note that they will prepare eggs for you if you request it. only realised this on the 2nd day. I would go back and definitely recommend it to friends. Food very well priced and delicious in hotel but do take time to explore the surrounding places to eat too, found some real gems.

Room Tip: we had a room with view of the mountain, on 4th floor, very quiet up there which I like
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
20
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Risskov
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We - my wife and I - spent four wonderful mid-week days at the end of season in this very classic hotel catching the last of the snow on the slopes and a lot of sunshine. Hotel de la Poste is an “old school“ hotel in the very best sense of the word. Our standard room was large, quiet and tastefully furnished with original, carefully renovated furniture, private terrace and a breathtaking view of the sunset over the mountains. Everywhere, from arrival to departure, we were met by staff with sincere interest in our well-being and obvious pride in their métier. The half board took us generously and skillfully through many of the classics of the regional and national kitchen. The waiting in the restaurant was superb. Housekeeping twice a day and the meticulous, monogrammed damask linens everywhere contributed to the “old world atmosphere” of the place. We can only give our best recommendations and hope to be back…

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

We just returned from our stay at the Hotel de la Poste. The hotel was clean and very comfortable. The rooms were well appointed in a European way. There was an Old World Charm there that can't be duplicated in a newer hotel. The service was excellent and the staff was delightful. Lorenzo, the conceirage, was fantastic and the bartender, Giovanni, made great drinks and answered lots of questions. We loved the location and the easy access to great restaurants and shopping. The ski room was small but since we were there fairly late in the season, we had no problems finding room for our boots and skis. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012 via mobile

The hotel de la poste is a great place. We feel there like at home. Lorenzo, the concierge, is great! Valerio at the dining room knows want I would like for dinner just reading in my mind. The rooms are clean even if some of them need to be updated. Overall a great spot, our second home. Ps don't miss the aperitivo at the grill, Antonio's Bellini is amazing!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I think this old, ornate hotel near the center of Cortina is somewhat overated. I stayed here several days while day hiking in the Dolomites. The hotel is in a central location, but the parking area is an uphill distance away in a separate lot. My room was somewhat elaborate, with double doors, but my bath lacked a curtain. Also, the hair dryer was cracked. I can't get worked up over the fact that they provided a TV, a safe, or turn down service. That was expected for the price. Downstairs the restaurant is more impressive than the bar. The lobby is comfortable if you're with a large party that needs space to get together. Otherwise, you probably won't use it much. The historic center of town location may be a plus, but some of the village requires an uphill walk. So if you are visiting when rates are low, maybe take a chance. But I suggest shopping around if the price is high.

Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

This is a very good hotel in the heart of Cortina. Fabulous old fashioned service and good restaurant. Good sized rooms are well furnished with plenty of storage.
You can get modern anywhere and not know what country you are in let alone what city. De la Poste has plenty of character. It was frustrating we had no wifi reception in our room. Treacherous trek to the ski room. And the bed was pretty lumpy. Otherwise we thoroughly enjoyed the warm and caring staff in this very clean family-run hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view to the Socrepes ski area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

Having stayed in a few of the "Grand Dame" hotels of Europe over the years I was a little leery of the De la Poste. Sometimes they are threadbare relics of another age getting by on location and discounting to groups.

De la Poste was a delight. I loved my large airy room with balcony providing great views of town and the mountains -- and a huge well equipped bath. Everything in the room was in excellent shape and immaculately clean.

The staff was friendly and very helpful. Many excellent restaurants and bars nearby. Don't know how it is in winter ski season but it was a perfect place to spend a few nights in Cortina.

Yes, it's not a modern boutique hotel with the latest gadgets, that's the point: it's a Grand Dame - a great lady that is still in her prime.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to De la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De la Poste

Address: Piazza Roma 14, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — De la Poste 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your De la Poste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Poste Hotel Cortina d`Ampezzo
De La Poste Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De la Poste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.