We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent time had by all!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sport Hotel Cortina - Famiglia Barisetti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sport Hotel Cortina - Famiglia Barisetti to your Saves list
Sport Hotel Cortina - Famiglia Barisetti
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dello Stadio, 28, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An excellent time had by all!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

A group of 12 friends stayed here and all were extremely happy with the hotel, its owner Mr Barisetti, the staff and the location. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. The food in the restaurant was very good - we were on half-board.

Room Tip: Four of us had an annex apartment which we couldn't fault.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    38
    11
    10
    9
See reviews for
37
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you stay in Cortina, Hotel Barisetti is the place to stay. A charming hotel that is close to everything. Great food and excellent service provided by the owners Maximus and Elise. Breath taking views of the Dolomites from your room balconies and the sound of a mountain stream that is so beautiful right next to the hotel .

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed for two nights en-route from Italy to Austria, the staff were friendly and helpful with advice as to places to visit. Food at the hotel was good and fresh. The hotel is situated a 10 minute walk from the centre of town and there are plenty of places to visit in the area. The rooms are not large but there was plenty of room with a small balcony, the only noise was from the river just below the hotel and birds singing. We visited in June and can't comment on the winter facilities but it makes an ideal base for summer walking holidays. There is no lift and we were on the first foor but the gentleman who booked us in carried the cases up.

Room Tip: First floor rooms, give good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

The staff was incredibly helpful with establishing a WiFi connection, recommending places to eat, and with directions to discover the city. The rooms were simple but very clean and well kept. We only ate breakfast there and it was fresh with plenty of choices.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are larger but may have slanted ceilings which make it difficult for a taller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

My two nights in the Barisetti were enjoyable and I'd recommend it to all my friends.
The hotel is very conveniently located about 200 meters from the Tofana cable car.
The room was good, hot water was plentiful and the staff very friendly.
Breakfast was excellent, with fresh croissants, fresh bread, good ham, cheese and salami + fresh fruit and the usual cereal/yogurt assortment.
Dinner was also good - nothing spectacular, but good solid Italian cooking.
WiFi was free when I was there, altho they seemed to be gearing up toward charging money for it.

Altogether, I'm glad that I chose the Barisetti. I didn't know about it before hitting Cortina and my instinct proved accurate in this case.

Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

I was just looking to book a hotel in Cortina and I remembered this dump. Unless it's under new management dont even think of staying here. You have to walk across a large carpark to get to the lifts so why not stay 5 mins away at a decent hotel and drive to the carpark (it nearly always has spaces anyway). I think this was possibly the worst ski hotel I have stayed at in 20yrs sking. The Italian tourist board should deport Mr Barisetti to Kazakhstan where he can deploy his dodgey attutude to guests with impunity. Actually,I bet I could find better hotels in Kazakhstan to be fair.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

This hotel is a total disgrace! To begin with they were incomprehensible about the price when we booked and we checked out with a massive argument about how much we owed. In the end Mr Barisetti agreed to accept what we thought we were supposed to pay but told us never to come to his hotel again! How's that for customer care! That is not to mention that whether you stayed in a room, a chalet (part of the hotel), twin room, double room, single room, whether you had a bath or just a shower - the price per person was the same! Furthermore, everything was extra: sauna, turkish bath, any variation to the menu in the restaurant. Boots warming rack did not work, heating in some rooms was over the top and in other didn't exist. One room had mould on the ceiling. Room cleaning was cursory to say the least: same wet towels on the hangers, despite being left on the floor to replace (as they ask), soap and shampoo not replaced, rubbish not taken out. To top it all Mr Barisetti and his hotel manager treat the place like their main residence where you are privileged to stay. This manifested in their "rounds" of the various parts of the hotel checking "what is going on". It included popping into the sauna when someone's using it, peeking into the chalet windows if there's light. There are quite cosy common areas at the hotel, but using them seems to cause the management a great annoyance, as they regularly remind about themeselves by appearing there and literally staring at you shaking their heads if you seem to spend too long sitting in the chair or using the cards table. Bar closing with the last customer? Forget it! I felt like I was a teenager again, with my mum watching my every step!

I was told Mr Barisetti is a keen Formula 1 fan, supports the Ferrari team and himself owns at least three of these magnificent machines. Well, judging by the way he runs his establishment, I can certainly see how he can afford them: it is a total and utter rip-off!

Coming to Cortina - yes, absolutely! Hotel Barisetti - stay well away!!

  • Liked — proximity to great skiing slopes
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sport Hotel Cortina - Famiglia Barisetti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport Hotel Cortina - Famiglia Barisetti

Address: Via Dello Stadio, 28, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sport Hotel Cortina - Famiglia Barisetti 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with WINTRADE S.R.L., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sport Hotel Cortina - Famiglia Barisetti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Hotel Cortina - Famiglia Barisetti Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sport Hotel Cortina - Famiglia Barisetti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.