We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Argentina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Argentina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Argentina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Pocol, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 51 hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Splendid vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This was our first visit to this hotel but it wont be the last for sure. We had apartment with basically 2 room connected with inner door (one with 2 single beds for children and other room wit big bed for us) and with balcony . The rooms where very spacious and clean. The beds are really comfortable. Since we are family of ski fanatics the location of the hotel was perfect for us, just at the slopes :).

The hotel have ski storage room with blower air for ski shoes, place for skis with locker for every room. Also there is ski rental and maintenance shop.

We had half-board during our stay. For breakfast it was classic buffet breakfast, and my recommendation is that u go among the first since it can happened that later something ran out. For dinner u could chose among 6 or 7 different meals (starter, main course and dessert) and the food was very delicious.

The hotel stuff is very helpful and polite, best regards for all of them. The hotel have huge terrace where u can sit down, enjoy your tee and catch a sun wit the view of the mountains. The Wi Fi is good. My only remark is that the hotel lift is too small.

In the evening u can sit down at the hotel bar and play some cards and the kids can use the game room. There is no disco or similar. If u are looking four peaceful vacation and u are in love with skiing this is the right hotel for you.

We had excellent vacation here and for sure we will comeback.

Room Tip: we had room 99 and 100 looking in front of the hotel and over the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanni m, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Argentina, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank's very much for your kind review,we are very happy that you and your family had a great vocation at Hotel Villa Argentina.We start from the end " If you are looking for peaceful vacation and you are in love with skiing this is the right hotel for you" This is what we are working for,a place for sport lovers in winter time and summer time
Looking forward to meet you again in Pocol-Dolomites we wish you all the best .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    76
    15
    10
    8
See reviews for
58
39
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We´ve stayed here once before for a skiing holiday, and it was nice to see familiar faces after three years. The hotel is in a perfect spot as a ski-in, ski-out resort.
The hotel is a bit worn down, but it is clean and cosy in its way. The dinner at 20 EUR for a three-course meal, is fair, but not excellent.
The Wifi has got a lot better since last we visited.
The ski-rental in the basement of the hotel is really convinient, and good skis for beginner and intermediate level.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanni m, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Argentina, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear guest,
thanks very much for your kind review,we are happy that you visist our house for the second time,we are doing a lot of rennovation during this years and we hope to finish everithing as soon as we can.
We are happy that you appreciate the new wifi system,we are working a lot on it the house is very big with big walls,we are improving the dinner service too we hope that in your next visit it will be better.
Thank's for spending some words for our ski rental it's an important thing and we are one othe only Hotels in town to have it.
Kind regrads Giovanni Menardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at Villa Argentina for a much anticipated family ski trip (our first to the Alps). The location and hotel didn't disappoint and even our room overlooking the parking lot had beautiful views! It has the feeling of an old world pension, with friendly staff and great food. You can rent your equipment on site, and ski down the small hill from the hotel to buy your lift ticket, truly ski in and out. We were very grateful to be out of the hustle and bustle of Cortina and really felt a special atmosphere on Christmas eve, surrounded by families who had been coming to the hotel for generations. One more word about the staff, they were incredible. During our stay there was a 30 hour power outage in the whole valley. Amidst all the chaos, the waiters and staff stayed cool and it was very special to see that they took care, even then, to present a beautiful (if cold) buffet dinner in candle light to their very hungry guests! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanni m, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Argentina, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear guest,it takes a little longer to answer at this review but it is so nice that we need to find the right words.
It is a plasure for us that we help your first trip in the Alps been unforgetable.
We are happy that you appreciate the atmposhere of our House,we are the 4th generation and we do this since 100 years.We love that you appreciate the location of the Hotel away,specially in Chirstmas time from the caothic Cortina town.We will remember for a long time the night of the power outage,we and in particular our staff gave 110% to make your,and other guests confortable in such a difficult situation.
Thank's again and we hope to see you in the future in Pocol-Dolomites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had an excellent stay at Villa Argentina this September. We enjoyed 5 nights in our recently renovated room with amazing views of the Dolomiti. The location of Pocol is awesome as it is out of the traffic of Cortina and just a short drive to town if you need to go.

The staff was excellent and were very accommodating, many of the staff spoke English. Mariano at the front desk was AWESOME! He took special care to pack us lunches for our days out in the mountains. We left at 5:30am one morning and he make espresso for us early before the breakfast hours.

Breakfast was included and quite good, we had dinner at the hotel two of the nights. Food was good and affordable.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Dolomites. It is clean, friendly and affordable.

Brian Robinette- Mammoth Lakes, CA. USA

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanni m, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Argentina, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest,
thank's very much for your kind review,it was a plasure to help you during your stay at Hotel Villa Argentina,we are very happy that you enjoyed our new rooms,and the great view of the Dolomites,the position of the hotel is our strengt just in the middle of the nature,away from the traffic of the town.We will extend your words to our great staff and in particular to Mariano.
We hope to see you again in the Dolomites and we wish you all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tachov, Plzensky Kraj, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Third time in this hotel this year and again a great experience! The scenery around the hotel is great. The staff was very helpful at all times and to my surprise at this time of the year the heating was on so we weren´t cold at chilly nights!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanni m, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Argentina, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Petr,it was a plasure to have you for the 3rd time at Hotel Villa Argentina and i hope that this tradition will last every year.We will extend your words to our great staff.
We wish you all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

5 km fro Cortina, more a tour group hotel with bus loads of people, food (dinner) was so bad that half of our group left most of it untouched - my feeling was that they focus on bus groups, and individual travelers simply get the same food!

Worst of all: no water (sink, shower, toilet) for 16h in the rooms! Receptionist said it was the city's fault - but did not care at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanni m, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear mr Christian,thank's very much for your severe but important review,during your stay we had in the hotel a large group staying in the Hotel for one week,a group of the Italian Mountain Club (CAI)We are an Hotel for everybody,infact we are the biggest Hotel in Cortina run from the same family for more than 100 years and in all this years we always had private clientes and groups as you can read here in tripadvisor or in many other sites,you was in a group too,we suppose reading your review,so the problem is that maybe we made a mistake with the food that night and for this we apologizes,but we do not accept what you said about doing preferences from a type of clients to others,we do our job trying to give everybody our best service,unfortunatelly we made a mistake with you,it should not happen,but it happened but not for a reason of customer selection!About water problem,we had a terrible night with the public aqueduct that as clogged the water inlet filters in the structure,the public service needs up to 12h to solve the problem,we know that this was a big problem for all our guest but we was really anable to do anything,we gave bottles of water to everybody and apologizes all the night,we finished also all the water reserve in the big tanks,in any case we have all the documents proving that we reported promptly the problem at acqueduct administration,we can't publish it here because the policy of tripadvisor do not allow it.We hope that your vocation end up in a better way that your stay at Argentina,we will be happy to get a second chance in your next trip in the Dolomites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melboutne
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here 1 night with a tour group. The rest of the group were given there room keys which looked like dungeon keys. We were given a modern card, which was appropriate for the amazing big new king room we were given. The room was very large king bed another smaller bed as well. Fridge in room, bathroom was so spacious, bathtub with shower inside. Also a bidet in bathroom. Soaps & shampoo supplied. Wifi was very cheap for 1 euro for 24 hours. It didn't work very well in the room but downstairs in foyer it was pretty fast. What a beautiful hotel. Beautiful views of the alps. The hotel is 15 minute drive from cortina town centre.
Nothing around hotel, but it does have a fantastic restaurant on site, with a fantastic menu , and service. Staff were very attentive.
Loved our stay here. Thank you hotel Argentina

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanni m, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Argentina, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest,thank's very much for your kind review,it's important for us to have such a nice feed back from a guest that was here with a tour group.We are happy that you enjoyed one of our new rooms,in the next fall we will go on with restyling more rooms.We are sorry that the wifi was not working very well,we know we have this problem and we are going to fix it,at the same time we have a strong signal in the common areas so everibody can go easyli in the net.Thank's again for the nice words about our staff and for the food.
We hope to see you again in Pocol-Dolomites maybe for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Argentina

Address: Localita Pocol, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Argentina 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Argentina Hotel is a place of long-standing tradition thanks to its excellent service. Provided with all modern comforts, situated in the pleasant resort of Pocol, on the famous way to the Dolomites, surrounded with meadows and forests of conifers, it is the ideal place for a quiet and joyful stay, in summer as well as in winter. From the Hotel it is possible to reach directly the up-hill facilities and all the ski-slopes of the Tofana, the World Cup slopes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Argentina Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Argentina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.