We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dolomite heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Argentina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Argentina to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Argentina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Pocol, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Dolomite heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in September 2012 and our room had a balcony with a view towards the mountains. The hotel is in a great position and the room itself was quite nice with a large bathroom with a bonus of a spa bath. The bed (double) was comfortable and we both had a great night sleep. The breakfast was tasty with all the usual suspects at the buffet. The service from the staff was courteous and we didn't have any problems at all.

Overall the hotel was great, food good, service good and I would stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the front of the hotel have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanni m, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Argentina, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear guests,thank's very much for your attention to our Hotel.
It was a plasure for us to up grade you to a room with Jacuzzi,we are glad that you like the view of our incomparable mountains,reading this we unterstand one more time how lucky we are to live here.
Looking forward to welcome you again
Best regards from pocol Dolomiti
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    87
    20
    11
    10
See reviews for
66
51
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harringworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Situated in Pocol, up the hill from Cortina, the hotel is ideal for ski in - ski out, being just off a blue piste. It is, however, a bus / taxi / car ride into central Cortina. The hotel is fairly self-contained with its own ski hire business in the basement. Day skipasses can be bought at the local chair lift, but dolomiti skipasses require a trip into cortina, although the hotel will do it for you in advance!
Reasonable connections outside hotel into Cortina and good bus service up to the Lagazuoi / Cinque Torre area allowing access into the Sella Ronda.
Food is fine - breakfast nothing special, but good fresh Croissants. Dinner had some good pasta dishes. Very friendly bar and restaurant staff. I would go back again.

Room Tip: The hotel is currently modernising its rooms. The older ones are perfectly good, and the new ones ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanni m, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Argentina, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest,thank's very much for your kind review,we are very sorry for this late answer.
We are glad that you have enjoyed our location,for us this is a real strenght,to be just 20 meters from the first slopes and 4,5 km from the town of Cortina that sometimes is really chaotic.Its important for us that you like our ski hire,we will improve for sure the options for the breakfast,thank's very much also for the nice words for our staff,they are the hearth of our Hotel.
Best regards from Pocol Dolomiti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is our third family skiing holiday staying at Hotel Villa Argentina in the beautiful Dolomites. The hotel has improved dramatically over the years with a vast improvement at the front desk and unless I'm mistaken the quality of food has also improved.

This year we were issued one of the refurbished rooms (number 105) and it certainly is a step up from rooms we have had in previous visits - much more spacious with a very nice bathroom (with combined shower/bath) and a couch and desk.

For skiing it is ski in/ski out with a rental shop situated downstairs. The food on the slopes in Cortina is superb with virtually ever rifugio serving fantastic Italian meals. Our favourite is Rifugio Averue at Cinque Torri - can't resist the Pheasant Lasagne!

will be more than happy to return to Villa Argentina - especially a refurbished room.

Room Tip: Request a refurbished room such as 105
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanni m, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Argentina, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear guest,it was a plasure to have you in our Hotel for the 3rd time,we are really happy that you like our renovations and it's nice that you wrote a review about it.We made same change in the kitchen staff and we are happy again that you noticed it.
5 Torri is our ski Area and we cooperate a lot with all the refuges and it's very important for us that your feed back is very good also for this thing and we will tell this to Mr Sandrone the owner of Averau.we are looking forward to have you again in our Hotel or in the room 105 or in one of the new ones that we are going to restructure in the next fall.
Best regards and we wish you a nice summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

After driving over the Passo de Falzarego in lashing rain and thunderstorms the sight of this hotel was extremely welcome . It is well out of Cortina but for us that was a boon . The hotel was closing the following day for its pre skiing season break but they welcomed us and we got a lovely large warm room . Dinner in the hotel restaurant had a very limited menu but more than adequate . . staff were friendly and helpful .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanni m, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Argentina, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest,thank's very much for your kind review,we are very sorry to reply to you so late,we remeber very whel the night of your stay,it was the very last night of a long summer season and for us it was a plasure to help you in that raining night,we hope to welcome you again in the future in a sunny day with all the conforts of our Hotel available.
Best regards from Pocol-Dolomiti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Nice hotel close to Cortina D'Ampezzo in the Dolomites mountains. Friendly staff . Good breakfast.
Great to wake up in the morning and watch the spectacular view from the balcony. I recommend this place and wish we had the time to stay longer. But we could stay for one night only.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnsello, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Argentina, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Sir,
tahnk's very much for your review,we are very happy that everithing was good for you,we hope that in the future you can come for more days.Looking forward to welcome you again in Pocol we wish you all our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel was a poor choice for us. No heat in our room on a very cold damp night despite repeated assurances from the front desk that it just took time to heat up. Poor bathing facilities in addition to cold room. Staff made us feel as if we were an imposition on them. Would not recommend this hotel as a comfortable or friendly stay.

Room Tip: DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 84. Restroom/bathing facilities subpar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanni m, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam we are very sorry about what happened during your stay at Hotel Villa Argentina, we hope that you accept our apologies, there was something wrong the day of your stay because usually we do not have any problems like tho ones that happened to you
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The staff was very friendly. I had a parking lot for free. The best was the spectacular view from the balcony to the mountains...

I was a bit disappointed with the breakfast. But I would come back. I am planning to be there in wintertime next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnsello, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Argentina, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear sir,thank's very much for your kind review,we are happy tha almost everithing was good in our Hotel and for sure we will be better at breakfast time,looking forward to welcome you in Pocol-Dolomites we wish you all our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Argentina

Address: Localita Pocol, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Argentina 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Argentina Hotel is a place of long-standing tradition thanks to its excellent service. Provided with all modern comforts, situated in the pleasant resort of Pocol, on the famous way to the Dolomites, surrounded with meadows and forests of conifers, it is the ideal place for a quiet and joyful stay, in summer as well as in winter. From the Hotel it is possible to reach directly the up-hill facilities and all the ski-slopes of the Tofana, the World Cup slopes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Argentina Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Argentina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.