We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, cosy,and perfect setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montana to your Saves list
Hotel Montana
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 94, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, cosy,and perfect setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed at Hotel Montana for 4 nights in April 2014 for a ski break. The hotel is perfect for any type of trip to the area, ski walk or business.

WiFi is available at a cost of Euro 3 per week.....so almost free!!!!

The owners are very helpful and friendly and go out of their way to assist you.

Also offers one of the better breakfasts.

located in the center of town and close to shops, restaurants and one of the ski lifts.

Free parking is available just behind the Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    75
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
70
90
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

After spending time in the sweltering heat of Venice, Rome and Florence, Cortina was a slice of heaven! The temperature was cool and the scenery was incredibly beautiful. I was blown away! The tourist center recommended The Hotel Montana and booked us a room. It was like a little apartment with two separate rooms and a bathroom and a deck all along the front with an amazing view of the Dolomites. It was an incredibly good value and the best location in town. The hotel manager was so welcoming that he felt like a life long friend immediately. He offered to loan us the hotel bikes and we cruised around town. We were so relaxed and happy with Cortina, that we decided to stay an extra couple of days. We just loved it there. Their breakfast in the mooring was the best we'd had anywhere in Europe. Lots of great food in the local restaurants as well, and the bike trails around are amazing. It was a wonderfully relaxing end to our trip to Italy and by far the best part. I much prefer being in that beautiful environment than sweating and fighting the hoards of tourist in the other tourist spots in Italy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

There are so many things I could say about this hotel...neat, amazingly located, well decorated, a bargain ( for Cortina) super close to a ski bus right on the main commercial street! Wonderful experience!

Room Tip: we were 4 people and booked the apartment which was basically two double rooms with a connecting doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The Hotel Monatana is RIGHT in the middle of Cortina's main pedestrian only main street/mall. It is close ( about 100 metres ) to the Ski Hire and about another 150 mettres to the Sipass office and the Falorio Gondola station.

Adriano Lorenzi and his wonderfully warm staff offer a relaxed hotel atmosphere that is not fancy but very comfortable and serviceable.

The 4 Star Cortina Hotel right next door is part of the same property and has an excellent bar and restaurant so al around a greta environment for your ski holiday stay.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a bath which is a godsend after a days skiing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We spent 4 nights in January. Well, what can I say... great location, super clean rooms with balcony, very friendly personnel. Rich self-service breakfast (form 7 to 10 am) with home made blubbery pies. Mmm... Ski bus stop is just around the corner. Parking space next to the hotel. Oh, I almost forget, we had a room with massage shower, which is the best thing to recover your body after skiing. Every thing you need for perfect holidays!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed a week in the hotel in January 2014. The hotel has an excellent location right in the middle of Cortina, just around the corner from the Ski bus stops at Piazza Roma and also on a walking distance from the Faloria ski lift. The shops and restaurants are just out from the door.

The rooms were not fancy, but what you would expect for the price. The single room was not very big, but really clean and everything was working as it should. The sound proofing could have been better, as the noises from other rooms could be disturbing if people are being loud, or yelling in the hallways. In general that was not really an issue.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Brakfast room is quite small and can be crowded at times, however the staff always found me a place to sit even on the busier moments.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We spent one night here in January. The whole hotel had an odd smell--my husband said it smelled of petroleum but I just know it was not good. The walls were very thin, so we heard our neighbors comings and goings and conversations all night long (well past 3 am). Parking was a bit odd--we were blocked in overnight by another car but by the time we wanted to leave we could get out again. It is a good central location for walking to shopping and eating. The staff didn't seem nearly as friendly or helpful as other reviewers found--when we asked for an extra blanket it was as if we had two heads! The room itself was clean but a bit run down. Breakfast was ok.
Overall it wasn't bad, and it was a good deal for Cortina. I just think that our experience was not nearly as good as expected based on the other reviews on this page.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana

Address: Corso Italia 94, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#2 Business Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Montana 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Montana is located in the pedestrian area, a stone's throw from the ski-lift facilities(250mt from Faloria Cable car and 50mt from buses for all the main slopes) and the larger sport amenities and installation, with private car parking. You can relax in our rooms that have bathroom, TV, radio, safe, phone and with a special buffet breakfast served in the breakfast room or on Your own room. You can find also a ski room, with special table for wax the ski, and a new heating for ski boots. Internet point and wireless system in the hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meuble Montana Cortina d Ampezzo
Meuble Montana Hotel
Hotel Montana Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.