We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montana to your Saves list
Hotel Montana
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 94, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jaraguá do Sul, Santa Catarina, Brazil
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Small and cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A small Meublè in Cortina, excellent location and very warm staff. We stood there for one night only and the rooms are clean and silent (except for the church bells, the hotel is in front of a church)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    76
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
71
95
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Montana for one night and had an enjoyable stay. The hotel is well located in the middle of town. You step out the front door and there are the shops and restaurants. Cortina is a stunning town to visit. Unfortunately we had bad weather so could not go up in the cable car, but we looked around town and played chess in the hotel lounge.The hotel rooms are simple but spotlessly clean and the hotel has a homely feel. The staff are friendly and the included breakfast was delicious, served in a cosy breakfast room. Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel. It was great value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent two nights here and found Hotel Montana offered great value and comfort in a perfect setting. I agree with others - park and walk the town. We went out to 5 Torri and took the cable car up over the pass. Amazing views. Our host was most helpful.

Room Tip: We had a room with balcony overlooking the pedestrian path and church tower - except for the shock o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

You can't get more central in Cortina than the Montana. It's located facing the pedestrian area, right across from the church and bell tower that mark the center of Cortina. Our hosts were as accomodating and helpful as they possibly could have been. Breakfast was very good, though the breakfast room was too small for the number of hotel guests. Our room was comfortable with pillows that were actually nice to sleep on, rather than the rock hard pillows we found on the rest of our trip through the Dolomites. We especially enjoyed sitting out on the balcony overlooking the pedestrian zone each evening with a glass of wine before heading out to dinner. Parking is very limited and we were quite fortunate to find a space next to the hotel. The hotel can be a little tricky to find even though it's well-marked, but once you do, park and head out on foot from there. While we weren't so impressed with Cortina itself (all very high-end expensive), we very much enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Montana and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

A lovely cosy family run hotel in the centre of Cortina. Couldn't believe that it was only a 2 star hotel. Our room was spacious with well equipped en suite. Very quaint with lots of pine and an extensive collection of art. No bar or restaurant but then it is in the absolute centre of Cortina so no need for one. Friendly staff and very clean. Good hearty breakfast. But watch out for the church bells; they start at 7am and continue on the quarter hour until 9pm. However, we were up early to go walking so it was a useful alarm clock!

Room Tip: Attic rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Montana isn't a 4 star hotel, but it's located centrally, and if you are skiing with your own gear, it's the rare 2-star hotel with a lift (elevator). I came to Cortina without any specific hotel recommendations, but I wanted to stay briefly in the Italian part of the Alto Adego (sp) and this happened to also be where the 1956 Olympic were held. The tourist office recommended the Montana, and it did not disappoint. Probably best for singles, couples, or small families.

I came high season, I think Jan of 2006, same year as the then Italian winter Olympics (one run was fenced off for time trials). You do need several days to adequately ski the surrounding slows, and the Montana is a good place to stay for this.

I make one specific recommendation, best for the church bell town, but for many of the buildings down town, examine the dolomite quarried from around town, the rock sometimes contains small fossils in the building's walls.

Room Tip: No specific room location recommendations. The main street does not have car traffic. It's a wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We came across this hotel shortly after arriving in Cortina. The staff were very helpful and friendly-even tumble drying our trousers after a particularly wet day walking! They also gave advice on where to eat. The hotel is right in the centre of town-you will hear the church bells!! It also had parking. The room was extremely clean and the shower was amazing. Breakfast was basic, but tasty. Our room had a balcony with great views of the town and the mountains. It was an ideal base for exploring the Dolomites.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana

Address: Corso Italia 94, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Montana 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Montana is located in the pedestrian area, a stone's throw from the ski-lift facilities(250mt from Faloria Cable car and 50mt from buses for all the main slopes) and the larger sport amenities and installation, with private car parking. You can relax in our rooms that have bathroom, TV, radio, safe, phone and with a special buffet breakfast served in the breakfast room or on Your own room. You can find also a ski room, with special table for wax the ski, and a new heating for ski boots. Internet point and wireless system in the hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meuble Montana Cortina d Ampezzo
Meuble Montana Hotel
Hotel Montana Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.