We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable expreience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montana to your Saves list
Hotel Montana
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 94, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unbelievable expreience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I stayed in Cortina last June 2011. I’m so sorry it has taken this long to write a review. However, people need to know about this hotel.
If you have the blessed opportunity to visit to Cortina, and Hotel Montana has availability, then you will not want to pass on this hotel. My standards are not very low. My husband tells me they are sometimes too high. (I disagree). Prior to booking the hotel I was somewhat skeptical of how the hotel actually was, due to the great price offered. I was in for a very big surprise.
The staff is incredibly nice. The owner and staff are so helpful in answering any questions regarding places to visits, shopping, etc. Including the staff at breakfast. Those ladies were wonderful. Every single staff at that hotel was very pleasant to deal with. The rooms are large and very clean. The bathroom was also very clean and a great size. In addition, there is such an amazing ambiance in that hotel that fits perfectly well with Cortina. They mastered it to perfection!
The breakfast provided is more than a standard breakfast. It has plenty of options and variety with many flavor juices, coffees, cereals, breads (everything ends in s because there is so many things to choose from in each item).
I read in some previous reviews that the rooms in front of the tower were not good because of the bells going off in the morning. Just so happened, we ended up getting the room right in front of the tower. So we were skeptical at first after reading some reviews about the bells. Turned out, I wouldn't have it any other way. It was beautiful! To be able to wake up to the beautiful sound of the bells. To have dinner on our balcony (after shopping for local fresh food, and bought wine) and enjoying our dinner on our balcony while watching pedestrians go for their nightly walks and being surrounded by the mountains.
When speaking about Cortina with my husband, Hotel Montana is a part of our memories.
My husband and I have a dream to return to Cortina one day. Returning to Hotel Montana is included in that dream. It was the perfect stay. Thank you so much to the owner and staff for giving us the pleasure to be guests at your hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    75
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
70
90
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Very, very good price, so we did not expect perfection. What an amasing surprise! Parking spot provided, hotel in the center of the center, ski bus can not be closer, the most kind manager and stuff, good quality breakfast, greatest view from the room terrace directly to slopes with night light, cosy, mountain ambient rooms. Even the morning church bell was convenient for ontime wake up to catch the best snow. If we ever visit Cortina D'Ampezzo again, this is where we'll be.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

In this hotel we were very good,any time of the year ! Rooms are cozy and clean,the staff is friendly and Adriano is an italian gentleman !We recommend this place to all our friends,and those who have already been were very pleased!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at the Montana for a single night (and glad that we didn't book more nights!).
The man at the reception was the typical Italian receptionist, which was fine with us- until we got to the room. The linens were dirty, the toilet and bathroom were not clean (hairs) and the ceiling and walls had mold stains. The heating was not working and the room was very cold (outside temperature was around 10 degrees).
When we asked the receptionist to move us to a different room we were told there was none available, and that the heating will only be turned on in the winter. When we forced him to come and take a look at the room he “suddenly” realized he did have a vacant room (which was smaller and even less clean).
This was a shame because other than being pretty old the hotel was bang in the center of Cortina, had free parking and a new bathtub (which is very rare for such old hotels).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavex12, Owner at Hotel Montana, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
I'm very sorry for what happend but is the first time in 21 years of work that someone said that the room was not clean . One can happen but 2...Probabily the guest need a service of 4 stars with the cost of 2 stars.
Nothing was to his liking. The room, the view, the bathroom, in short, classic client almost impossible to please. We did see 3 different rooms and, for one night, none had the right (?) Matching. Also ,out that day was sunny and the temperature was not the one called by the client. I do not usually respond ever, because we treasure the criticism and try to improve. Hope next time You are going to choice a 3 or 4 stars, because our level is not for Your taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lyme, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011 via mobile

We usually stay at higher end hotels simply becuase you are more likely to get a clean room, good service, and good food. This hotel made me realize that what you pay for a room does not equate to what you get. We rolled into town at about 6pm in the off season and used Tri Advisor to choose the hotel. We were not disappointed. Central location, very clean rooms..small but for us not a problem. The room appeared newly renovated with a very modern bathroom. The breakfast was nice. We didn't experience the stellar service that many reviews ad indicated but it was in no way subpar. Very pleased with the stay and a value at 90 Euro. Would recommend to anyone who wants a nice clean room and doesn't mind if there isnt a bellman to Cary your bags to it.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

After hiking in the Dolomites we had an unplanned night in Cortina. Because it was unplanned we were winging it and chose this hotel because it was close to the information office and two stars, so we figured not too expensive.

My first impression was very favorable - the hotel is nicely situated near the center of town on a pedestrian only (mostly) street close to shopping and restaurants, it looks nice from the outside, and the staff at the desk was very friendly and helpful. We got a double room for one night for 85 euro, breakfast included.

The room was clean, nicely decorated, and spacious and the bathroom was nice as well (full size tub and shower). It was a generous breakfast and the staff at breakfast was very friendly.

For taking our chances on a hotel, we felt lucky to have found Hotel Montana and I feel confident in recommending it to other travelers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We would like to thank Adriano and the entire staff of the Hotel Montana for an awesome vacation. This charming hotel is located right in the center of town on a pedestrian-only street. The hotel is immaculately clean and quiet, yet right in the middle of all the shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel obviously hosts guests from around the world, with alot of guests from the U.S. as all the staff speak some English and go out of their way to accommodate. The service at this hotel was the best and rivals the finest five-star hotels. The hotel is comfortable and charming, with a definite European character. The Hotel Montana is a great value, and we could not have asked for any more, at any price. It provided the perfect retreat for one of our best vacations, ever! Cortina is truly one of the most beautiful places in the world, and the Hotel Montana is an excellent choice that surely will satisfy even the most discriminating travelers. We thank the entire team for a very memorable vacation and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana

Address: Corso Italia 94, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#2 Business Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Montana 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Montana is located in the pedestrian area, a stone's throw from the ski-lift facilities(250mt from Faloria Cable car and 50mt from buses for all the main slopes) and the larger sport amenities and installation, with private car parking. You can relax in our rooms that have bathroom, TV, radio, safe, phone and with a special buffet breakfast served in the breakfast room or on Your own room. You can find also a ski room, with special table for wax the ski, and a new heating for ski boots. Internet point and wireless system in the hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meuble Montana Cortina d Ampezzo
Meuble Montana Hotel
Hotel Montana Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.