We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sergii Very good hotel for active leasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mirage Hotel Cortina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mirage Hotel Cortina to your Saves list
Mirage Hotel Cortina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pezie 118, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sergii Very good hotel for active leasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We have spent 5 days skiing in Hotel Mirage in Cortina skiing and have only positive feelings. Hotel itself is very nice and well designed, rooms are big, comfortable and have everything needed, with fantastic view. It's a little aside from crowded center in a quiet place, better to have a car or use hotel's shuttle, but even by feet is not long and nice walk. Stuff is very frendly and helpful. Spa complex is not very big but has enough to relax after skiing. Restaurant can surprise you with delicious dishes on the dinner that are changed every day, buffet breakfast is varied and tasty. Has big free garage that is important due to often snowfalls. We are often skiing and will allways stay in this nice hotel going to Cortina.

Room Tip: Juniot suite is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    32
    14
    13
    17
See reviews for
46
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

nice location looking over the Mountains with very good view , it is in a nice quite area and you have to drive or take a very long walk to Cortina center. Hotel and furniture is a little old and need to be changed and rooms amuinties are lees than average. Breakfast is nothing impressive also dinner is just normal.There is nothing for kids and when I was there swimming pool was out of order in the first day and it is less than normal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We chose this hotel from California just to "play it safe" on our visit to the Cadore area just south of Cortina, for family ancestry purposes. This hotel is certainly NOT in the city of Cortina, but it was closer to our points of interest. The location is very close to the original Olympic ski jump facility, if that meets your needs. It is older, which gives it a mix of both charm and obsolescence. The rooms were nicely paneled in old wood, instead of the typical plaster. There is no ventilation of any kind, and it can be hot there in summer. We opened our room windows, left our room door open, and opened the windows up and down the entrance hallway, for some cross ventilation. The pool is indoors for winter use after skiing, so it is less impressive in summer. There is a full time pool attendant at all times. There is a full time children's activity director at all times. The people at the desk were full of advice for event planning. They host free wine and munchies every afternoon on the outside terrace. Breakfast was very ample, but dinner seemed expensive for what they were serving, and we went out. Free parking and easy to find. Internet access was less than ideal. Consider the location and price to determine if this hotel meets your needs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

these people are rude dishonest and un-respectful, they did not disclose the cancellation policy properly
whoever I talked to also misrepresented himself saying he was the director and he was not, you never know who you are talking with

do not go there, a pool is not worth it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrabool
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It's true that it is a bit out of town, but as we had a car this was not a problem. Even if we didn't they have a shuttle bus. Also, it is only a 25 minute very pretty walk into the centre of town if you are so inclined.

We stayed at the very end of the ski season so the hotel wasn't very busy, I was greeted by name when I walked into the lobby. Because it was a quiet time, we were upgraded to a suite, which was very comfortable. Travelling with a lot of electrical equipment which needs charging (computer, camera batteries, phones, kindles etc) made the abundance of power points very useful. There were plenty of towels and pillows, and a lovely warm doona. The room was a excellent temperature, not stifling hot as many hotel rooms are. We could have had the temperature turned up if we wished.

You can purchase wifi for the room, but it is free in the lobby and this made a nice meeting point with other guests, and the very friendly proprietor. I would recommend this hotel,

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Hotel Mirage in Cortina d’Ampezzo has been quite a disappointment. We stayed there with a large group and had booked several rooms. The hotel needs to make many improvements to be considered even a 3star.

The hotel is 4,5 km away from the centre of Cortina. It is quite far from any shops/bars/skiing slopes. It is quite isolated and difficult to get to/from unless you drive your own car. The famous shuttle bus offered by the hotel stops running by 7.30 pm. It also does not run between 3 and 5 pm. Not even once were we able to use it. We had either to use the taxi or our own car to drive every day.

For people that ski, the ski room has no proper lockers. If it is slightly pulled, any locker can be opened without a key. Furthermore, there are no facilities to leave your ski boots and to dry them. We had to take them into our room and dry them in our bathroom!

The hotel claims that it offers internet connection at a rate of 3 eur per 30 minutes. Throughout our stay we had no internet connection and the hotel staff informed us that ‘sometimes’ it works. The trick is that the hotel does not have its own proper wireless connection or any other connection whatsoever. The connection, which it recommends for its guests to use, is a municipal hotspot, which covers the whole Cortina, and at the Hotel this hotspot has very poor reception, to the extent that it cannot be picked up by any device/computer. In my view, the hotel has to make a change and state that it offers no internet connection.

The breakfast was not even 3-star. Very limited and poor choice: there was only 1 sort of cheese/ham/salami available which tasted like they were indeed the cheapest they could find. Practically no fruit available. Very basic cereal, a few croissants and synthetic cheap juices. The dinner was also disappointing for a 45 eur pp excluding drinks.

The swimming pool and sauna area need a renovation. The swimming pool has no lights underwater. There is water dripping from the roof, the isolation of the swimming pool is so poor that its smell spreads to the bar and the reception area nearby with lots of humidity. The hotel charges you extra 5 eur for a bath robe (rent!) and 3 eur for a little cap that you (must) wear while swimming (because your hair would block the swimming pool pipes and for hygiene reasons!) this was quite an ironic moment for us but still an annoying and disappointing experience altogether. The pool and sauna are open only until 7 pm!

I would not recommend this hotel for reasons listed above, including its location, no transportation to/from centre/slopes, poor and limited cuisine, poor facilities, unprofessional staff with poor command of English in general. The hotel’s strategy is to rip the guests off using every opportunity and so displaying a clear lack of hospitality and quality. Not worth the money they ask or the 4stars they claim to have.

In general, the staff need to improve their manners, there is clearly a lack of hospitality and they are completely unaware of what 4 star service means.

To note, in general the staff of the hotel barely understand/speak any English. This includes the waiters in the restaurant who are clearly unable to understand you or follow any of your questions during breakfast/dinner. This is quite unusual and unpleasant, when instead of getting clear answers and being able to discuss the menu, we had to use gestures and repeat ourselves many times before we could get an answer that was often incomprehensible.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmirage, Direttore at Mirage Hotel Cortina, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
There are a few exagerated and untruthfull comments of the Guest.
The truth is that Hotel Mirage is only 1.5 km from the Town Center and not 4.5 km ( exagerated again) which our Shuttle Bus does every 30 minutes from 08.45 am to 7.30 pm ( excluding lunch Hours ), should there be an emercency we do not hesitate a Journey .The ski Room is heated , and it is not a safe , but every room has their own locker and key.
Concerning Internet the guest is right , we are awaiting the new Telecom system , but should a Guest be in need of internet in the Hall and Bar area Bluwireless connction always works.
Our head receptionist is Scottish , no problem for the english language and we always have the menu translated in English.
Could be that one of the waiters was not fluent in English , but one can make themselfs understood.
We are extremly sorry for this incident because we are always ready to help and give services to any of our Guests and this is one of our strong points which can be verified in all the other comments.........
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I like this hotel very much. Our room was quite big with enough space for our kids. You should not expect anything modern there as the rooms are in Tyrolean style but this is more less it in most of the skiing resorts in Italy/Austria, unless you are ready to pay EUR 500-EUR 1,000 per day.
Great value for the money.
I will have to say that restaurant and the dinner is maybe the best part of the offer as the food is really great and they also have very good selection of local wines.
At the reception they were very nice and I must say the best English I have ever experienced in Italy.
The most interesting part of the year to visit Mirage and Cortina is on-around 13 January during the World Cup as you will mingle with Italian Ski Team which stays in this hotel for years…they are great guys.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mirage Hotel Cortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirage Hotel Cortina

Address: Via Pezie 118, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mirage Hotel Cortina 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mirage Hotel Cortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirage Hotel Cortina d Ampezzo
Mirage Hotel Cortina Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirage Hotel Cortina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.