We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mirage Hotel Cortina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mirage Hotel Cortina to your Saves list
Mirage Hotel Cortina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pezie 118, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I like this hotel very much. Our room was quite big with enough space for our kids. You should not expect anything modern there as the rooms are in Tyrolean style but this is more less it in most of the skiing resorts in Italy/Austria, unless you are ready to pay EUR 500-EUR 1,000 per day.
Great value for the money.
I will have to say that restaurant and the dinner is maybe the best part of the offer as the food is really great and they also have very good selection of local wines.
At the reception they were very nice and I must say the best English I have ever experienced in Italy.
The most interesting part of the year to visit Mirage and Cortina is on-around 13 January during the World Cup as you will mingle with Italian Ski Team which stays in this hotel for years…they are great guys.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    30
    13
    13
    16
See reviews for
44
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We decided to ski for one week and found this hotel on booking.com. At first glance it was not so bad. But after our arrival we were disappointed if not to say more. The manager was not prepared for the constructive talk and started to argue - we jast wanted to update the booking (split rooms), so they said no, that was unexpected. Then they asked us to pay for the whole stay before we checked in. Can you imagine, hall - our suitcases, we - pretty tired from the hard day driving - and they ask us for money and passports! Ok, now to the rooms. The rooms are pretty big and quite well furnshed - but not brand new. The mountain view is marvellous! One thing, they put a special aroma candle in every room - which smells pretty intensive - we even asked to change the room as my wife is really sensible to such things. Breakfast - poor, is one word. No porrige, no cottage cheese, burnt croissants, eggs and bakon - that is it. If you go for more than three days you will be fed up with eggs and bakon. They tried to cooperate and on the third day we got a porrige. The sauna is poor, swimming pool too. By the way you have to pay almost for everything extra in the hotel. No interent - just one hot spot with really poor signal. Generally we did not enjoy our stay!

Room Tip: Try to figure out and discuss everything, before you pay and go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmirage, Direttore at Mirage Hotel Cortina, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Google Translation
I clienti sono arrivati con un Voucher Booking Com N° 619283612che prevedeva il pre-pagamento dell'intero importo al momento della prenotazione , avvisati tramite email ci hanno chiesto di mantenere le coordinate della carta di credito a garanzia e che avrebbero pagato all'arrivo, e così è stato , al loro arrivo al momento del check in è stato effettuato il saldo , come da regolamento Booking Com. Inoltre la loro richiesta portata avanti con eccessiva prepotenza era di cambiare una Suite Comfort ( da 4/6 posti) con due più piccole asserendo che in tutti gli alberghi è normale cambiare la prenotazione e richiedere due suite al posto di una ....A questo si è aggiunta in maniera non troppo velata la minaccia di danneggiarci con una cattiva recensione se non fossero stati accontentati , di questo il Custom Service di Booking Com era già stato avvertito da Noi al fine di prevenire questa ripicca. Questa è la verità e lo testimoniano gli innumerevoli apprezzamenti sulla gestione molto attenta all'ospite in grado di offrire particolare qualità nei servizi ed in particolare nella ristorazione .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

We choose not to rent a car for our recent ski trip to Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy. We were able to easily take the Cortina Express bus from the Venice airport and we were told by the hotel that there was a regular shuttle into town and ski buses to get to the ski areas. This was all true, but the hotel was a 30-40 minute walk out of town and the shuttle bus stopped running at 7:30 p.m., so we were forced to take a cab back from dinner every night. The one night that we couldn't find a cab, I called the hotel (as I had been instructed to do before we got there); I was initially told that there was nothing they could do because the shuttle had stopped running. I asked them to call a cab for us, which they did and we were able to get back without too much trouble. It would have been nice to be closer to the shops and restaurants instead of having to make every trip to town an expedition. The rooms were quite large and comfortable, with lots of storage space, although not elegant or upscale, as one would expect for the price we were paying. We only ate at the hotel restaurant one night and found it to be overpriced and not especially good. It is a fixed price menu, so if you're not really hungry, you still pay for a lot of food. One of the waiters put real pressure on us to order a particular wine and became very abrupt when we declined. The breakfasts were good. The hotel caters to families and there was a lot of hall noise and noise from the floor above, so even though it was out in the quiet country, it wasn't especially quiet. One reason we booked this hotel was because it had a hot tub, but we only used it once. It was a small portable, awkward to get into and crowded and we found the big bathtub in the room to be just fine. The staff was generally very nice and English was spoken.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Good service, nice hotel. If you rent a car from the airport you will really enjoy Cortina and your stay at Mirage. Is close enough to down town thus in touch with nature. I think is great in the summer :)
If you communicate with the receptionist and the manager, you will enjoy your staying.
Nice restaurant, good service.

I cannot get along with Italian program for anything (noon break and short evening). But I guess is ok for real sportsman (and women :).

Clean and cozy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

We were a group of 18 people from 11-82 years - staying at the Mirage. We had a varm welcome by the lovely couple running the hotel and the service was great througout the whole week. Nice, clean rooms (suites), excellent food - nice touch with champagne on the house before dinner. Nice location of the hotel - close to Cortina center, but still nice and quiet with lots of outdoor space. If we ever come back to Cortina, this is the place we will stay. Love the place and love the area - coming from Norway, we are used to nice nature and mountains, but this was spectacular. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2007

We booked a confort suite for 4. Accordingly to the hotel site we should get a 2 bedroom suite that could fit up to 6 people. It was perfect for me, travelling with two young girls.
The hotel sent a confirmation.
When we got to the hotel they didn't have the room and we had to stay in two separate small rooms, leaving two young children alone in a room in a different floor from ours.
We had a terrible experience in the hotel.
Don't recommed for anyone

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miragehotel, owner- manager at Mirage Hotel Cortina, responded to this review, April 17, 2008
This is to explain with more accuracy how we "honored" the reservation:
Hotel Mirage of Cortina doesn't any "small room": at Hotel Mirage we only have Junior and Comfort Suites, with a limted number of large double rooms.
The reservation was for 4 persons (two adults and two children) for a two- night stay (in Top Season) for one of our "Comfort Suite" (4 to 6 people occupancy). At time of check-in unexpectedly their suite was not available due to a request of longer stay from the guests occupying their suite: one of them was sick in bed and could not leave. So, at time of their arrival, since we could not give them the Comfort Suite, we gave them 2 Junior Suite (each with 2 to 4 pers. occupancy), so absolutely not a "small room". As per the client's registration, they stayed in Suite 204 and Suite 106 (each one of these Junior Suites are almost 40 sq.m).
We did apologize with them - and we still do, while at the same time we thought of giving them a better opportunity offering two suites instead of one, obviously at no extra cost. We understand we could not keep the family group all together and we are very sorry, but due to an unexpected 'emergency' case, we tried to do our best to solve the matter.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2006

The Dolomites are stunning, and Cortina seems as good a place as any to provide a base from which to do some serious summer walking. The Mirage is just outside the centre of Cortina, in a quiet location overlooking a beautiful valley. We enjoyed one evening just sitting on our balcony watching an incredible thunderstorm. The room was large and very nice. Dinner was pretty good too. However, despite these pluses, there were some question marks. The swimming pool was only open for about 3 or 4 hours a day (during the afternoon, when inevitably one would be out walking), and one was made to feel that even during these times it was a hassle for the hotel to "allow" you to use it. One manager was reasonably pleasant (if a bit patronising) but the other was obnoxiously and unnecessarily rude when asked whether it would be possible to check out the night before departure - not what you'd expect from a four star hotel. Indeed the four star rating overall is questionable and, although our knowledge of the area is not great, we felt we'd been ripped off a bit. Having said all this, the Mirage was overall a nice place to spend a few days.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mirage Hotel Cortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirage Hotel Cortina

Address: Via Pezie 118, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mirage Hotel Cortina 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mirage Hotel Cortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirage Hotel Cortina d Ampezzo
Mirage Hotel Cortina Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirage Hotel Cortina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.