We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite hotel in Italy - I would definitely recommend it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambra Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ambra Hotel to your Saves list
Ambra Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via XXIX Maggio 28, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Irvine, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Favorite hotel in Italy - I would definitely recommend it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This was a very quaint and clean hotel. We stayed here for two nights and loved it. The staff is very friendly (especially the breakfast staff) and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We stayed in room 16 and had a great balcony with a view of the mountains. We left yesterday and I already want to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    26
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Good location, a nice staff, I'd recommend everybody to stay there for skiing or for a short-medium period. The only shortage is a lack of a restaurant in the hotel; you have to book the seats beforehand in the restaurants nearby.
Ilya, Moscow.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

stayed for 3 nights whilst skiing in January and couldnt have been happier. I cant remember the name of the girl on the front desk but im sure she must have been the owner, she was so lovely and accommodating and gave us some great tips and info (being 2 simple aussies in our first italian ski resort/town it helped). We stayed in room 2 which was downstairs but it was so comfy and homely, was almost more like a B&B than a hotel and the breakfast was great too. Cortina isnt a cheap town skiing wise in Italy but it was the prettiest i saw and would have no issues reccomending Hotel Ambra to anyone! Thanks for an awesome stay (tip, the slices of takeaway pizza directly over the road are to die for after a hard day on the slopes, have a beer and a slice and the little table outside, YUM)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aylesbury, bucks
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in January. Firstly well done on keeping car park in use after a good dump of snow. Relatively easy to find. This was a big plus as we arrived in the dark with it snowing heavily. This is an old fashioned hotel where the rooms are full of charm. Plenty of storage. Excellent help from all reception staff. Good breakfast served in cosy breakfast room, shame extra charge for eggs cooked to order.
Very handy for an evening stroll in the town amongst the fur coats. Ski hire shop directly across road. Ski bus stop and Faloria lift very walkable. Recommend the Cinque Torre area with the 'hidden valley' run to Armentorola for some of the most stunning scenery I have seen anywhere in the world. The horse drawn tow for the final flat part rounds off a terrific run, take your time and enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

If you are looking for a hotel that combines alpine charm with Italian glamour, then this is the place for you. From our arrival to when we pulled out of the driveway, (thanks to the help of Barbara with our more than substansial luggage), we were made to feel like the only guests. A bottle of complementary champagne and fruit, in each of my families rooms was just the fresh jam on the "cornetto". The rooms are posh and unique, of course. As for the location, you are centrally located so you can stay up past midnight with plenty to do and still be in walking distance of the cable cars. Truly, the Dolce Vita.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The location of Ambra is perfect; 100 meters from the town centre and 150 meters from the cable car to Faloria and the bus stop to other ski lifts. Compared to other 4 star ski hotels the rooms are small but there are enough wardrobes and hooks. Some rooms are newly furnished, so ask the management to reserve one of these rooms for you. Don't expect much from this small hotel; you'll get a decent room, good breakfast and proper service; but not a luxurious atmosphere, no big common areas or a big lobby, not a spa etc… The front office staff is really helpful, always ready to reply questions, call a taxi or to reserve the best table in a restaurant. In brief Hotel Ambra might be the right place to stay in Cortina.

Room Tip: Ask for newly furnished rooms on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It was such a pleasure to stay here after 3 hard hiking days in the Dolomite AV 1. We were here 2 nights. The breakfast hostess and meal was wonderful. Not just a roll and coffee but a full buffet. The location was only a block away from the main train/bus station. Cortina is a fun town and we would like to go back to stay and do day hikes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambra Hotel

Address: Via XXIX Maggio 28, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, WINTRADE S.R.L., TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambra Hotel Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.